We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service left us very disappointed!!!”
Review of Pest-Buda Bistro

Pest-Buda Bistro
Ranked #313 of 3,556 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$22
Cuisines: Hungarian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: District I / Buda
Description: Pest-Buda doubles with Grandma’s homestyle Hungarian kitchen, using the best ingredients with love and care from our talented chef, Lajos Lutz . We only carry Hungarian wines rich with personality and like to highlight those special bottles that are the territory of true wine aficionados. Pest-Buda Bistro is on the ground floor of Pest-Buda Hotel, the oldest hotel in Hungary, originally opened in 1696. Pest-Buda is an important gastronomic institution honoring Grandma’s Hungarian kitchen for several decades. Together with Zsolt Litauszki we have worked for months to rediscover several Hungarian recipies and master the art of baking the perfect artisanal flamed pie. Chef Lajos Lutz is running a soulful kitchen devoted to Grandma’s Hungarian classics made with love and care. The combination of top-notch gastronomy and beautiful wines is both fresh and traditional without succumbing to typical Hungarian restaurant cliches. The whole experience is, of course, amplified by the Buda Castle’s stunning medieval setting. We only carry Hungarian wines and only those with a distinctive personality, reflective of a distinctive wine region. We feature several rare selections often not found anywhere else, and our extensive list is constantly changing. Pest-Buda is for You to enjoy 24 hours. Eat, drink, sleep… with love!
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

So we went for dinner the evening we arrived and both the food and service was good! However this evening after a theatre show we decided to have dinner as it’s 2 mins away from the Hilton, Buda where we are staying, and the service was appalling! All the other tables were asked how the food was except us...it almost felt like we didn’t exist! This was probably because we only ordered a starter and a main to share. To top it all we were charged for everything including butter and mayonnaise!!! Shocking!!!

Thank Amitresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zsidaigroup, Vezető at Pest-Buda Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Amitresh,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.
We are saddened to learn that our services did not meet your expectations. We wish we would have had the chance to make it up to you still on the spot. We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back and impress you with our super dishes.

Kind regards,

Zoltán Dobos,
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 1,578 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2018

We were stopping at the Hilton Hotel around the corner and eat in here twice because we enjoyed it so much the first time.We had an early evening meal both times. The service was excellent, friendly, and the ambiance was lovely. First night we had the goulash soup followed by a wild boar stew (which was very very nice) and a chicken paprikash (with a cucumber salad as a side) with a glass of white Tokaj and a local beer. That came to £55 with the service charge which was already added to the bill. Second time we had cream of pumpkin soup and a chicken soup, the breaded pork special and crispy braised pork stew (sauted vegetables as a side), a dessert to share all with a bottle of Hungarian white wine. The bill was c£60 so not exactly cheap or expensive but was worth it. Would recommend without hesitation.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pagey54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zsidaigroup, Vezető at Pest-Buda Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Pagey54,
Thank you so much for choosing Pest-Buda as well as taking your time to share your opinion with us. Hope your travel plans bring you back to Budapest soon, so we can welcome you again!
Kind regards,

Zoltán Dobos,
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Went to this restaurant as it was very close to our hotel and we had read good reviews about it. The food was lovely and the waiter was very friendly and helpful recommending beers, wine etc.

3  Thank HappyWanderers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zsidaigroup, Vezető at Pest-Buda Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear HappyWanderers56,
Thank you a lot for your 5-star comment.
I am so glad to see our restaurant was able to check off everything you were looking for. Guest feedbacks are very important for us to continuously improve our service and reviews like yours make us exceptionally happy when we can see the result of our efforts.
Hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Zoltán Dobos,
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

this is a nice restaurant serving traditional Hungarian Fayre, despite being very busy with two large groups we were found a table for 4 and well looked after . All the meals were very good with a good choice of hungarian wine. the decor is a bit like sitting in a living room, very cosy with a great atmostphere

Thank pauljudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zsidaigroup, Vezető at Pest-Buda Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear pauljudith,
Thank you so much for your kind review.
I am delighted to learn that you had a wonderful time with us. I am very happy to see you enjoyed our restaurant.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards,

Zoltán Dobos,
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

The food at Pest-Buda is very good. Located in the castle district, the restaurant is very convenient. Service was good, not great, but the food was delicious. Goulash and Paprikash were great!

Thank jfrieser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zsidaigroup, Vezető at Pest-Buda Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear jfrieser,
Thank you so much for your kind review.
I am delighted to learn that you had a wonderful time with us. I am very happy to see you enjoyed our restaurant.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards,

Zoltán Dobos,
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pest-Buda Bistro also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Pest-Buda Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing