We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Origo Hostel & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Grand Budapest Hotel(The Republic of Zubrowka)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
32
26
7
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
26
7
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My brother and I stayed here in a private room for 2 nights in September 2012. The great thing about Origo Hostel is its central location very close to Parliament and the metro station. The hostel is situated in an old building and the forecourt does appear rather run down and uninviting at first, but once inside the hostel is generally very nice with a good kitchen if you want to make your own food.

Unfortunately, when we arrived we found that the hostel had recently been infested with insects and hence strongly smelt of insecticide that was applied just before we arrived. Although the owner apologised profusely for us being put into this situation, we found that our room hadn't been treated properly and that there were still dead/dying insects on the floor. This is clearly unacceptable and since the owner wasn't there all the time we had to sort out the mess ourselves. Also, there was a broken glass door in the hallway which was clearly a safety hazard.

Based on this experience, I struggle to justify giving this hostel more than 2 stars. My only hope is that this situation was a one off and we were just unlucky, as I have generally heard a lot of positive comments about this place before deciding to book a room here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fedir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My friends and I stayed here for 2 nights in July 2013. Their website was so helpful providing us with contact details for a taxi to get us to and from the hostel. We were met outside by one of the staff who was really helpful in telling us good places to go and arranging our taxi back to the airport. The hostel was very clean, bedrooms were a good size and handy that there were 2 bathrooms. The location is amazing about 5 minutes from the Parliament building and the Danube River. Really enjoyed our brief time in Budapest, would definitely come back especially given the price of the hostel

Room Tip: We had the yellow room which faced out to the courtyard could be a bit noisy but given it is a very quiet residential area we had no problems at all!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We were a bit dubious as to what the hostel would be like considering we got our price for 6euro per night but it was/is fantastic, the staff (especiallz annamaria) were so helpful and answered all questions and helped in anyway they could. The bathrooms were great, beds comfy and facililties good. Location was excellent as well. (best hostel so far)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

With my friends, we enjoyed our stay in the hostel. It had the important things we needed during our stay. Welcoming and helpful staff, clean enviroment, comfortable room, wifi, maps of the city, located next to the Parliament and the sightseeing buses went right from the corner. Everything else was up to us to enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: green room
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sagen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This was our second stop on our way to Istanbul. The hostel is in a great location near the Parliament building and St Stephens Cathedral. It is also just a block away from great views of the Danube and Buda.There are many restaurants and cafes close by.

The hostel was good value for money. The staff were welcoming and helpful, and the room was clean and comfortable We had the velvet room facing the street and had no problems sleeping.

Room Tip: This is a small hostel with five rooms. I had a look at two of the other rooms and they seemed fine. There are two rooms that face the street so if you are a very light sleeper, maybe avoid these.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystyna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews