We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
32
26
7
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
26
7
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My friend and I got 'lost' on our way here coz we didn't thought that this hostel is actually behind that big old black gate! :) but we managed to find it anyway! lol
Great hospitality, awesome hosts, comfy bedrooms, clean bathroom and reasonable price. Location was within walking distance to all the tourists attractions and it's near to the metro station.
Will definitely be back and recommend this to our friends!

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank falisa_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I booked a room for 4 nights but unfortunately once my friend and I arrived they told us that we will be transfer to an other hostel to far for the 2 last nights.
If we forget about this detail, the hostel is great! Great location near the parliament and the river. We stayed in the 4 beds room and there was nothing to tell wrong about. The staff is very friendly and can help you with all your questions: what to do, where to go out, where to find a good Hungarian restaurant, etc ...
I will stay there an other time without Amy doubt!

Date of stay: September 2013
1  Thank Pioutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I travelled with my sister and stayed for two nights, we came with an abudance of questions and the staff couldn't have gone to any more effort to help us.
We managed to skip the queue for bath house thanks to the advise of the staff to buy a voucher instead of just turning up (it's the same price).
The room was clean, tidy, comfortable, and most importantly not boiling hot, an absolute haven in the 40 degrees heat.
The location is superb, 1 minute from the red metro line and the stunning parliament building.
I'd recommend Origo without hesitation.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helping staff, nice and quiet place, close to parliament building and market place, unique design on the walls(every room is different than others and I had the chance to see them all), free Wifi and hot water 24/7 everything is in walking distance and also close to public transportation too.. If I come to Budapest again I would definitely check Origo hostel first.. Ty =)

Date of stay: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Görkem Buğra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My brother and I stayed here in a private room for 2 nights in September 2012. The great thing about Origo Hostel is its central location very close to Parliament and the metro station. The hostel is situated in an old building and the forecourt does appear rather run down and uninviting at first, but once inside the hostel is generally very nice with a good kitchen if you want to make your own food.

Unfortunately, when we arrived we found that the hostel had recently been infested with insects and hence strongly smelt of insecticide that was applied just before we arrived. Although the owner apologised profusely for us being put into this situation, we found that our room hadn't been treated properly and that there were still dead/dying insects on the floor. This is clearly unacceptable and since the owner wasn't there all the time we had to sort out the mess ourselves. Also, there was a broken glass door in the hallway which was clearly a safety hazard.

Based on this experience, I struggle to justify giving this hostel more than 2 stars. My only hope is that this situation was a one off and we were just unlucky, as I have generally heard a lot of positive comments about this place before deciding to book a room here.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fedkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews