We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Set(Bratislava)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Color(Bratislava)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Garni Hotel VIRGO(Bratislava)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
BNC Hotel(Bratislava)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$72/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Portus – Restaurant and Pension(Bratislava)(Great Value!)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
18
77
107
56
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
77
107
56
58
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Stay at this hostel if you want to feel a glimpse of the Soviet times - what a joy! I stayed at another, but asked for a guided tour because I loved so much the hotel... Staff was very friendly and the hotel is like in the old times! The views are amazing and it can be seen from anywhere in Bratislava!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I was sent to Hotel Kyjev by tourist information after arriving late into the city. The hotel is on the eastern edge of the city, walkable from the town centre but in a slightly run down area. There were a group of drunks in the square opposite. It was very cheap 1400 Slovak Koruna for a single room (US $60). The hotel is a dated soviet block, visible from all over town. The rooms themselves are large but very dark inside. I had no TV but there was a bath. The view across the city was impressive. Breakfast was the best part, sausages, eggs, a good hot selection of food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

stayed here on a stag weekend a few years back , the lobby and areas gave a big hint that this was once a grand place to stay with its impressive stone floors and walls and abundandance of hardwood panelling etc , beer was cheap at the bar and 3rd drink was free , the rooms left a lot to be desired and were just a step up from a cell , there was plenty of hot water in the showers great , the damages list was worth a laugh , penalties included £10 fine for hanging in the shower , the curtains looked like someone had had a shootout with the cops there was so many holes in them , one not to take the girlfriend too but if you can rough it , go for it , theres a brilliant cafe across the road pizzas were divine and service was brilliant , check it out !!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Limeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

After getting off the train, we made our way towards Hotel Kyjev, not really knowing what it looked like. It is a post communist hotel in the colours of communist grey, the largest hotel around. Once inside we were confronted with probably the largest foyer we have ever seen inside a hotel, complete with a yellow Trabant !! We later learnt that in its day ,this was the place for the communist party to hold its shindigs!
The room that we had was as basic as it comes, in need of a complete renovation, but the linen and towels were changed and clean every day, and I have to say so was the room. (although you could see daylight through the towels if held up to the light !!)
The breakfast was fantastic, and lots of it, although I did feel as if I was a guest in a youth hostel!!
When we were out and about in Bratislava,no matter where we were, we could always see the Hotel Kyjev, mainly because the curtains were blowing in the wind, and the hotel looked as if it was in a war zone with no windows in it!!
If you are looking for a basic, cheap hotel, with a good bar area, and a great breakfast,and can keep the notion that it is a relic from the communist era, then this is the hotel for you, because you will never forget it!!
If you need fluffy slippers and a bathrobe,forget it
This will be a hotel that you will always remember !!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ossie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Got the shabbiest room ever. The curtains were torn, bathroom was smelly. I don't think they ever have guests here. Probably that is why they let us check in early in the morning and 'upgraded' us from a single and a double room to 2 triple rooms! Lots of space and panoramic view (on the top floor probably) and sleep quality was good. just that we expected a lot and we were shocked at the shabbiness.
Bathrooms were big and clean (though with antique fittings).
The buffet breakfast was awesome though! I'll base my rating solely on that! An enormous spread.
Location was central, was easy to find.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RRay84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews