We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rixwell Hotel Konventa Seta(Riga)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$120
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$99
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Red Nose(Riga)(Great Value!)
US$46
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Rixwell Elefant Hotel(Riga)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
Annabella(Riga)(Great Value!)
US$39
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Amber Rooms(Riga)(Great Value!)
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Amalienhof Hostel Riga(Riga)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
3
7
7
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
7
7
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I was living almost 2 months in green aple and I must say that at the check-in the lady of reception sold to me a magnetic card that cost 5 Lats , she said" It was necessary to enter the hostel" , after some days I found that no one had that card , almost everone enter with a code , or by the front door hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuno Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Just got back from a few days trip at the green apple in riga. My main issue for the poor review was we had an hour and a half wait to simply check in. Lots of term students checking in was the reason for the delay but shouldnt have made us wait so long. The room was very basic, i dont ask for much but i think a little more could be done. Hard beds, little amenities. The halls are very very dark, think horror film and you have the right direction. Speaking of direction, its a little hard to find as number 18 is now a deserted building, the door is behind a market stall so is a little confusing and slightly worrying start to a vacation. Not the worst hostel but i wouldnt be recommending it any time soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Just got back from Riga, this hostel is in an excellent position for the Old Town and overlooking the Opera House and the Beautiful park and canal.The room was large and basic but clean except for the toilet pan which looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in ages, hardly saw any staff but the kitchen area was always clean and tidy. it is within very easy walking distance of all the attractions of the Old Town and the park is amazing, look out of the window at sunset to see the starlings flying in to roost, amazing sight.
Will definitely go back again later in the year!!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the front overlooking the park, not much to see out the back except the building opposite
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LADYMUKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

The hotel clearly ran out of money in retro-fitting the Riga hotel to a better standard, and attempted to make a youth hostel with the last floor. It's an interesting idea (regular hotel on first three floors filled with rich old people, hostel filled with poor young people, thus bring the average age down to 25). However, you do get a good feel of what Riga was like under Soviet times! They really should market it like that. Fun for the whole family.

Essentially, it's a relatively clean place to sleep. That's about it. I had the room cloest to the communal bathroom, TV and kitchen. It was noisy and annoying. The shower and drain was useless, and within seconds the tub was filled with water. There was also a fire alarm that needed a battery change, so every 10 seconds, a loud beep would emit from the central area.

Walking into the hotel, it feels slightly like god's waiting room, but hands down, the central location for the price can't be beat. I did have a view of the central square and the opera, and the free WI-FI is nice. The picture is slightly deceiving, as it is a room with a bed, desk and chair. That's it. Bring earplugs. You'll need them.

Room Tip: Stay away from the kitchen, bathroom and TV area
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquaskaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Very good hostel in nice central hotel. Lovated in the heart of Riga - Old town. Check-in only from 3 p.m., but it is not problem, as you can go arround the Old town if arrive before 3 p.m. We got triple room in 6 floor with nice view to the Old town. At night was little noisy, as at this time was Riga city celebration. But no problem for us about it. Very good value of price and quality.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Editam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews