We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Czech out the "Formanka", around to the side...”
Review of Hotel Karolina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Karolina
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Harrachov
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The "Formanka" of Hotel Karolina is a wild ride, replete with frothy pitchers of Gambrinus and VERY generous plates of Svitchkova and local game.

My old Ski School had meal tickets for the Formanka (It's still part of the Karolina), and we cold, hungry instructors were well-warmed and fed here.

This is NOT a tourist place; avoid at all costs if you refuse to try to speak Czech, or if you have an aversion to being stared at by muttering glass factory workers and ski resort employees.
If, however, you possess the chops to get past all that, you are in for a very unique, warm, drunk and filling experience.

The Hotel Karolina's "Formanka" has some of the best chow in Harrachov.

Tak, Cau!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2009

My husband and I just spent 3 nights at this hotel because it was 3 k from the start of a World Loppet race in Poland. The person at the desk spoke no English and seemed to be unaware of the big event, which had brought several international travelers to her hotel. We were told we would have free wireless internet, which was untrue for us because they put us in their apartments, (without our having requested them), adjacent to the hotel, Although the apartments were more spacious, we were depending on the internet to help us prepare for the race. Also, they had us sleep on two narrow mattresses, which had been placed next to each other, on a frame that was a foot too short on each side. I almost rolled out of bed several times! We did have a good place to park our car, however.
The food, especially dinners, wasquite good. If it weren't for a kind Dutch tourist, who translated the menu for us, we would not have known what to order. They only had one waitress, occassionally helped by the bartender, to serve the entire dining room, which had at least 30 tables. Of the entire staff in the hotel, there was one woman who spoke English, and she didn't work weekends, when we were there. Our Spanish and French were of no help to us, either.
In general, the hotel was quite run down, broken shower, broken bathroom fan, broken handle on closet door, lights out by entry, We needed to walk through a smoky bar or along a busy street, with no shoulder, to get to the restaurant. While there we could not charge anything to our room or use Visa to pay for our dinners...Czech cash, only!
I realize I probably sound like a whiney American. We travel extensively and use trip advisor a lot. It would improve Karolina a great deal if they would fix the few little incidendals, get an English translation for the menu, and get the staff to smile a little more and be a little more welcoming. After all, they all are in the tourist business.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

Ski holidays are always a bit risky... you may brake a leg on a slope while skiing :) However in Harrachov, slopes won't hurt you, as Hotel Karolina may... a property that I would qualify as a post soviet union hotel( I have my own sources for that...believe me!). Indeed during your stay in this hotel, while leaving it, you may be reversed by a car (as website photos don't show that the hotel is right at a main streets crossroads); you may also break your coxis on access stairs (both of us felt on the ice while leaving and nobody in the hotel noticed) or hurt your feet fingers on tricky doorways in your room... Satellite TV? Yes... in the pub...as in your room, just count on 2 blurry czech channels on a 36cms TV...room are spacious but... kind of failing post soviet union electricity, shower head and shower cabin were about to fall into pieces and the room had an undefined smell... An appeal for opening wide your window to remember how good is the fresh mountain air :) Swimming pool was out of order... and sauna schedule was full (meaning probably out of order too:) ...etc... Location is far from slopes (1.5 kms) but right next to bus station lines.
Evening staff was fun, friendly and nice (even though german skills needed)... Day staff was 'friendly' because 'had to' :)... 'helpful' because 'had to' :)
We have paid a high season discount rate (49€ per night) which is far away over evaluated for the quality of the stay (really nice hotels in Prague for this rate)... hopefully we were here for skiing and enjoying fresh mountain air :) Next time, if I go there, I'll choose a more humble pension...at least you know what you may have for a lower price...
Good points for being as much as possible objective: Nice and funny local antique design in the pub, enough to eat for breakfast (but no fruit juice except lemon sirop), wifi is all right, nice family atmosphere in the hotel
To end, this hotel is worthing MAXIMUM 2 stars according to western standards.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank papy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2008

Hi ,
I stayed in this hotel for two nights. I thought the hotel was ok but had a serious problem with the staff this morning while booking out. I was in the bar on Friday night and the chair I was sitting on was very old. It collapsed under my weight and all hell broke out. A local in the bar wanted to fight me and I had to leave the bar with my friend to avoid trouble. I thought that would be the end of the issue. I was very embarassed that the chair broke and I hurt my neck and back when the chair collapsed.
The staff told me this morning that I would have to pay 100 euro for the old chair. I FOUND THIS COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE. He claimed I was swinging on the chair which I think is complete lies. If I had broke the chair by standing on it or by throwing it I would have no problem but I was SITTING on the chair. By right they should have tried to compensate me and not the other way around. When we questioned this they told me that they would call the Police. I PAID 100 Euro for a chair that was old and decripid and well past it sell by date. I think they are ripping off the tourist and would be wary of other scams in this area. If I was Czech I know I wouldn't have paid 100 euro but because I was Irish they presumed I had loads of money. I FIND THIS TERRIBLE AND VERY POOR SERVICE.
IT LEAVES A VERY BAD TASTE IN MY MOUTH.

I would not stay in this hotel for that reason alone. It was also very noisy but I would get used to that.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank gomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prouzakadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrachov hotels
1.0 km away
Orea Resort Sklar
Orea Resort Sklar
#1 of 18 in Harrachov
330 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Harrachov Inn
Hotel Harrachov Inn
#2 of 18 in Harrachov
79 reviews
1.1 km away
David Wellness Hotel
David Wellness Hotel
#5 of 18 in Harrachov
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Pension Familia
Pension Familia
#7 of 18 in Harrachov
7 reviews
0.7 km away
U Supa Hotel
U Supa Hotel
#3 of 18 in Harrachov
21 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Skicentrum
Hotel Skicentrum
#6 of 18 in Harrachov
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karolina

Address: Novy Sv t 101, Harrachov, Krkonose National Park 512 46, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Krkonose National Park > Harrachov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Harrachov
Price Range: RM226 - RM280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Karolina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Karolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karolina Hotel Harrachov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing