We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,249)
Filter reviews
1,249 results
Traveller rating
323
586
259
59
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
586
259
59
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverpool viewroman bridgesister hotelbuffet breakfastbar priceslarge hotelbed and breakfast basisreception stafftown centrea bit tiredplenty of varietyroom safegolf tripthird floorthe hotel is cleangreat position
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 1,249 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a birthday bash. The hotel has over 200 rooms but does not feel overcrowded apart, perhaps for breakfast of which more anon. While we were staying the hotel was full.

The location is good being a 5 to 10 minute walk from the centre of town. It is a bit longer to the other side of the river via the Roman bridge. The ferry to the Ilha is very convenient.

There is a spa offering massages, facials etc. The standard of the therapists was very good. There is also an indoor pool, gymnasium , Turkish steam room and other facilities.

The rooms have balconies with around half facing a large outdoor pool. There are many loungers surrounding he pool but even on sunny days the area was not crowded.

Our suite comprised two rooms; bedroom and sitting area. WiFi was free and worked throughout the hotel. If requested full coffee and tea making equipment is available. Rooms are clean. There is a safe but one is charged for the key.

Breakfast was the only place where one really detected the crowds. The last morning a queue formed outside due to the pressure of numbers and the slow clearing/re-laying of tables due to low level of staff.

The breakfast buffet was adequate. The egg station was the best feature along with the selection of breads. The local oranges were the highlight of the fruit on offer. The bar was good and as the hotel has access to its own vineyards there was very good local wine. Indeed there is a wine tasting each week

It appears that families are welcome. There are many activities laid on for adults and children with young people eager to help.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank SueKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Guest
We would like to thank you your review, which deserved our best attention, and we are very glad that you enjoyed your accomodation and the hotel location and services.
Regarding the queue issue for breakfast, it usually does not happen, there was one day we had a staff issue, but it was settled the next day.
Hoping that we can welcome you again at Vila Galé Tavira.
Kind regards
Elia Figueiredo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

If you can get past the fact that you need to drive to the beach, this is an excellent place to stay.
Good as expected. Staff friendly and welcoming. Good sized adjoining room for the kids and a nice pool.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Pistix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Guest
It was with great satisfaction that we read your review , and find that you have enjoyed your holiday at the Vila Gale Tavira Hotel.
Thank you for your wonerdful comments and these will be passed on to our staff as it is very motivating for them.
Looking forward to welcome you soon
Kind regards
Elia Figueiredo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We recently visited the lovely town of Tavira and stayed in the Vila Gale. We had a lovely room overlooking the outdoor pool with a sunny position on our balcony. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff from the reception team, housekeeping and restaurant team were all most friendly and helpful. The breakfast had plenty of variety with delicious fresh fruit, especially the local oranges. We only ate on the hotel for one dinner, but that was an excellent buffet selection. Although the hotel was busy with coach parties it never felt overcrowded. The very attractive entrance foyer was an excellent place to sit and chat and the bar was also very comfortable. We had some very enjoyable live music in the evenings and one night a group doing traditional local dancing and music. The outdoor pool was rather chilly, but it was still early in the year, but we were able to use the heated indoor pool. The hotel was also very central to explore this very picturesque old town on foot. We hope to return one day.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank AA-PWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Guest
It was with great satisfaction that we read your review , and find that you have enjoyed your holiday at the Vila Gale Tavira.
Thank you for your wonerdful comments and these will be passed on to our staff as it is very motivating for them.
Looking forward to welcome you soon
Kind regards
Elia Figueiredo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

I don't fancy hotels that are made for mass tourism! It is the case. Anyway, one must say that everything was neat, clean and in order. The room was large, the bed was comfortable, the air conditionned was silent, the toilet was spacious. Breakfast had a large variety of choices and the quality was quite good. The garage had lots of space. But, everything was made for large groups! The hall, the bar, the dining room, were huge. Staff was correct.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mabedui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Guest
We appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome every opportunity to improve.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have found our service good, although you do not fancy of large hotels.
Hope to welcome you again in Vila Galé Tavira or on any other Vila Galé Hotel always close to you,
Kind reagards
Elia Figueiredo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Overall good rooms, nice size and view. Nicely cleaned.
Air conditioned - though it made a clicking sound after 15 minutes or so of being on.
Great location for walks into town and not far from the beach (or golfing opportunities).
Breakfast was good, though a little under-staffed.
Pools are a distance apart from changing rooms, and outdoor one is VERY cold unless in height of summer.
A few things in the rooms need 'tidying' - painting and worn wood boarding, furniture and doors.
Lacks small touches like slippers and dressing gown.

Room Tip: Rooms on inside have nice pool and palm view
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THE-MAN1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Guest,
We appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome every opportunity to improve.
Hoping that we can welcome you again at Vila Galé Tavira.
Kind regards
Elia Figueiredo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews