We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,249)
Filter reviews
1,249 results
Traveller rating
323
586
259
59
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
586
259
59
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverpool viewroman bridgesister hotelbuffet breakfastbar priceslarge hotelbed and breakfast basisreception stafftown centrea bit tiredplenty of varietyroom safegolf tripthird floorthe hotel is cleangreat position
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,249 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018

We stayed one night on our way from Salema to Evora
The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was fine.
The hotel would be good for families as it had a great pool.
What dropped my rating? Open internet, a safe which did not work and the 25 minute line up to check out! You can't offer open internet in this day and age and front desk staffing should be better.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your classification about your stay at the Hotel Vila Gale Tavira.
We hope to welcome you again in a near future.
Kind regards
Elia Figueiredo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Spent a week in June in this hotel. I was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews, especially as I had my Mother with me and wanted her to have a great experience. Everything was perfect, the hotel, the location, the town itself and the magnificent beach. The hotel pool was great, plenty of room and mostly peaceful. A small group of kids amused us with their pure joy of a brilliant pool. The rooms are spacious, clean and overlook the pool area. Breakfast was buffet style and very busy on Sunday morning but much calmer the rest of the week. The coffee wasn't great but then I found that throughout Tavira. In fact that is all I could complain about.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank anneble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Dear Guest
It was with great satisfaction that we read your review , and find that you have enjoyed your holiday at the Vila Gale Tavira.
Thank you for your wonderful comments and these will be passed on to our staff as it is very motivating for them.
Looking forward to welcome you soon

Kind regards

Elia Figueiredo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

This is a lovely hotel, the rooms are lovely, it is very peaceful although right on the edge of the beautiful town of Tavira. We were only here for 1 night but we will definitely return. The breakfast was lovely and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. My only small fault with the place is we were given a room that was the furthest room in the hotel from the lift. The hotel was not full and I think that the staff member should have used her discretion and allocated us a better room. Tavira is a really lovely town. I don't know why anyone would head in the other direction to all of the mass tourism along the Algarve unless for golf or partying. There are fabulous restaurants and plenty going on. It is very flat and easy to walk around. We will definitely return. The hotel is not near the beach but within easy reach of the ferry that takes you to the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view or at least near the lift
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shooshoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Dear Guest,
The comments that you have left us are the result of a lot of commitment from our fabulous Team of work. We want to exceed customer expectations and we are very pleased that the service and product are to your liking.
Thank you for your wonderdful comments and these will be passed on to our staff as it is very motivating for them.
looking forward to welcome you again
kind regards
Elia Figueiredo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

We spent 6 nights at this hotel and we really enjoyed our stay.
The location is near the river, so at night it was close to all the restaurants.
We had to take a ferry to go to Tavira Island, where the beach is. I think the ferry was 2 € pp round trip. The staff was helpful. The food is very good.
Also it is close to the taxis and a ten minutes walk from the train station.
We used the train to travel along the Algarve, mainly to go to Faro.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Deganit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018


Dear Guest,
The comments that you have left us are the result of a lot of commitment from our fabulous Team of work. We want to exceed customer expectations and we are very pleased that the service and product are to your liking.
Thank you for your wonderdful comments and these will be passed on to our staff as it is very motivating for them.
looking forward to welcome you again
kind regards
Elia Figueiredo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

We are currently lying beside the pool at this beautiful hotel soaking up the Portuguese rays.
It is so quiet and peaceful - a real little gem!
From the moment we checked in we couldn’t have been made to feel anymore welcome. The staff are lovely and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is gorgeous and very well situated within easy reach of the restaurants. We are bed and breakfast only but the choice and quality is fabulous, never felt rushed or hurried once. We asked for coffee making facilities for our room and this was no problem. There is a fridge in the room and a safe, hairdryer too! The beds are comfy and two pillows are provided which is a bonus.
The pool area is quiet with plenty of sun loungers no matter what time of day. There is a Parasol to two sun loungers so you can always get some shade and a lovely breeze most of the time.
We will certainly return....perfect for a chilled out getaway
Thank you Vila Gale Tavira

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Statious69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Guest
It was with great satisfaction that we read your review , and find that you have enjoyed your holiday at the Vila Gale Tavira.
Thank you for your wonderful comments and these will be passed on to our staff as it is very motivating for them.
Looking forward to welcome you soon

Kind regards

Elia Figueiredo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews