We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$107
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$119
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fremantle Bed and Breakfast(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sundancer Backpackers Resort(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
US$41
US$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Terrace Central B&B Hotel(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Be. Fremantle(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$73
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
30 Arundel(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
227
92
14
8
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
92
14
8
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homedaily activitiesbeach volleyballactivities organisedpaddle boardingnight managerbig familygreat courtyardsmaller hostelgreat activitiesdifferent activitiesnew friendsgreat atmospheresocial placelong termsecond homefelt like home
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

The best Hostel I have been in so far! All the crew was very nice and the hostel clean and tidy. I stayed there one month and I felt like home. The outside area is the best place to make friends and just chill out. Tash the receptionist and Mitch the night manager are helpful and very relying person at any time. Vaughan the owner organise a lot of activities all the week long which is very nice to meet new people and feel one of the Pirates in the team.

Thank you very much

You are gorgeous

Anna


Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank abedou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piratefreo, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Anna ! Thanks so much for your great review. Much appreciated :)
We loved having you here and seeing your great smile each day, and we definitely miss you. Hopefully you'll be back soon.
I'll be sure to pass this on to Tasha and Mitch.
Take care and come back :)
Vaughan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

This is a great hostel. I originally booked for 4 days, ended up staying here for more than 2 months. The owner Vaughan and staff Tasha and Mitch are great, very friendly and know a lot about the area and all the do' s and don'ts! Definitely make sure you get involved in all the activities that Vaughan offers during the week. These activities are what makes the hostel so great. Even if it's just volley ball at the beach. Do it. You will have an awesome time, but be warned, once you go to pirates you will never want to leave!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank mackgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piratefreo, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Mack Attack !!!!
Mate you are definitely a Pirate Legend! Pirates really benefited from your enthusiasm and you were loved by all!
Thanks for staying. It really has been a pleasure meeting you. When I think of the last couple of months and all those trips, Margaret River, Lancelin, Bush Walks, Surfing etc etc, you were right there amongst it.
Have an awesome time back home, stay in touch and hopefully we'll catch up again one day in the future.
Vaughan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Perfect location in Fremantle for this hostel. Daily activities such as surfing, paddle boarding, beach days, road trips, wineries and nights out. Perfect for making new friends as a solo traveller! Would recommended Pirates hostel for any solo traveller in Australia.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jennygrief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piratefreo, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

G'day Jenny!
Hope your having a good time back home:)
Thanks heaps for your review and mentioning all the outdoor activities we run here at Pirates. And thanks for joining in on the activities. Speaking of which, you'll be pleased to know on his 2nd time on the stand up paddle boards, Mack was like a pro!
Enjoy home and look forward to seeing you when you return to Freo. :)
(Shame you're going to miss the Pirates 11th birthday party this weekend .. free drinks, food & a DJ!)
Take care,
Vaughan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

I had planned on only staying two days but after meeting all the amazing people from all over the world, after seeing all Freo had to offer and realising how lucky I was to be staying in an awesome hostel, right in the centre of town I extended my stay straight away! Would recommend both Pirates and Fremantle to anyone!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nadya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piratefreo, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

G'day Nadya,
What an awesome review title ! Thanks :)
We loved having you here at Pirates and it was great to see you have such a great week with us. Shame you wont be with us for todays beach volleyball action :(
Hope all is going well and be sure to come back for some more laughs!
Take care,
Vaughan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

I had an awesome time at the pirates backpackers!
I really felt like home after a few days and it's definitely the best place to arrive. The crew and the people are lovely and made me a really good time. The hostel is perfectly placed in Fremantle and i loved the atmosphere. It's close to all the bars, restaurants, little shops and the beach.
All in all it was really one of the best hostels I've stayed in!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank celinexon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piratefreo, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Hello Celine !!!! :)
Ahh, we really enjoyed having you and the "girl gang" here at Pirates. Thanks for staying and getting so involved in all of the activities, and especially for your talk on the video on our facebook page (Ha!)
Have a great time travelling, thanks so much for staying, and don't worry about the Captain ... we're looking after her :)
Take care and hi to Malin,
Vaughan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews