We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
151
77
10
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
77
10
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small balcony room was clean upstairs room babbling brook stayed for nights the main street good size sit outside cafes and restaurants kitchen area short stroll ground floor surrounding hills within easy walking distance enjoyed our stay spa bath stream
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night on a road trip around North Canterbury and Akaroa was first stop on our list.
Found this motel on TripAdvisor, phoned and booked.
Super quiet upstairs room with lots of natives outside the balcony and the sound of native birds was lovely.
Super clean, comfy bed and was just perfect for our stay. Service was excellent. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again or recommend to friends.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Antarisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRochelleMotel, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Hi Antarisha, Thanks for such a positive recommendation and also for choosing to book directly with us. The native garden and bird life are what helps set our property apart of other motels throughout NZ. It is always nice to have the babble of the stream and the birdsong in the background. The balcony/patio is also the perfect spot for breakfast or an afternoon G & T.
We trust enjoy enjoyed the rest of your mini adventure around the region. Kind regards Alex & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We had the immense pleasure of four nights in an upstairs room, which included a spa bath, queen bed, kitchenette and balcony. From the balcony the sounds and sights were delightful and it was easy to forget you were so near to the main road of this busy tourist attraction. It was a 10 - 15 minute walk to town or 2 - 3 hours to the top of the surrounding hills for excellent views after a challenging work-out. A great base for visits to the nearby bays - maps at reception as well as a wealth of local knowledge. So many things to do we need a week next time. Pleasant owners and staff.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ezra710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRochelleMotel, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi Gavin, Thanks for the kind words. We definitely consider ourselves lucky to have such a relaxing place to wake up everyday. The variety of bird life around the property and the stream are always soothing to listen to. It appears you also got a chance to tackle a few of the many walks that are accessible from the motel. We hope you have left some activities to do for next time you visit to Akaroa. Kind regards Alex & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Arrived late Thursday night and were shown to Room 7. Comfortable, spacious and great value. Our hosts Alex & Jane are really nice people and offered ideas for what to do in Akaroa even though we had stayed in Akaroa before. Small selection of books and DVD in reception, can't go wrong there. Top floor room with balcony. Amazing! Many thanks Alex & Jane. Our only issue was we didn't stay longer

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Askokafedzic1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRochelleMotel, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Hi Asko, Thank you for giving us such a positive recommendation. It's always nice to hear when someone has enjoyed their stay with us in Akaroa. We hope you get a chance to visit for longer next time. Kind regards Alex & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I decided to escape our adult children for a couple of nights as we hadn't stayed in akaroa since the earthquakes over the hill we went.
La rochelle is situated at the start of the main street and the perfect combination of peace and a short stroll into the shopping area, the host alex is really obliging and pleasent and the two bedroom unit we stayed in was very comfortable.
We will definitely return to stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cathys837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRochelleMotel, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hi Cathy, Thanks for taking time to review La Rochelle Motel. It had been a while since you were last in Akaroa so is nice to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. Hopefully you you got back home feeling re-energised and have had a fantastic week. We hope to see you again soon, kind regards Alex & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here as the first 2 nights of our NZ tour

This will now be our benchmark for accommodation on ten rest of our tour.

From the time we arrived all was perfect Alex. Assisted us with our cases to our room 7which was large well appointed and spotless.

He offered suggestions of what to do during our stay.

The property is very quiet next to a babbling brook with about a 5 minute walk to the supermarket and shops and another 10 minutes to the main cafe area.

Overall a delightful stay and highly recommended

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DavidvPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRochelleMotel, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Hi David, Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for the recommendation. It's always nice to hear everything was perfect and found everything to your liking. We trust you have enjoyed your trip about NZ and especially your time in Akaroa. Kind regards Alex & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews