We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet,well equipped motel”
Review of La Rochelle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Rochelle Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Excellent location just a short walk to the park, shops, cafes and restaurants. I had a quiet upstairs room with a small balcony overlooking a stream. Very relaxing. My thanks to Alex and Jane for a very comfy stay. Would have no hesitation in staying again if I make it back to Akaroa.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BillyB088y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRochelleMotel, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Hi BillyB088y, Thanks for choosing to stay with us recently and for the kind words. We are always pleased to hear when someone has had a comfortable stay with us and that you wouldn't hesitate to return. We are having some amazing weather this month so we hope you get the chance to visit again soon. Warm regards, Alex & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night on a road trip around North Canterbury and Akaroa was first stop on our list.
Found this motel on TripAdvisor, phoned and booked.
Super quiet upstairs room with lots of natives outside the balcony and the sound of native birds was lovely.
Super clean, comfy bed and was just perfect for our stay. Service was excellent. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again or recommend to friends.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Antarisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRochelleMotel, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Hi Antarisha, Thanks for such a positive recommendation and also for choosing to book directly with us. The native garden and bird life are what helps set our property apart of other motels throughout NZ. It is always nice to have the babble of the stream and the birdsong in the background. The balcony/patio is also the perfect spot for breakfast or an afternoon G & T.
We trust enjoy enjoyed the rest of your mini adventure around the region. Kind regards Alex & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We had the immense pleasure of four nights in an upstairs room, which included a spa bath, queen bed, kitchenette and balcony. From the balcony the sounds and sights were delightful and it was easy to forget you were so near to the main road of this busy tourist attraction. It was a 10 - 15 minute walk to town or 2 - 3 hours to the top of the surrounding hills for excellent views after a challenging work-out. A great base for visits to the nearby bays - maps at reception as well as a wealth of local knowledge. So many things to do we need a week next time. Pleasant owners and staff.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ezra710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRochelleMotel, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi Gavin, Thanks for the kind words. We definitely consider ourselves lucky to have such a relaxing place to wake up everyday. The variety of bird life around the property and the stream are always soothing to listen to. It appears you also got a chance to tackle a few of the many walks that are accessible from the motel. We hope you have left some activities to do for next time you visit to Akaroa. Kind regards Alex & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Arrived late Thursday night and were shown to Room 7. Comfortable, spacious and great value. Our hosts Alex & Jane are really nice people and offered ideas for what to do in Akaroa even though we had stayed in Akaroa before. Small selection of books and DVD in reception, can't go wrong there. Top floor room with balcony. Amazing! Many thanks Alex & Jane. Our only issue was we didn't stay longer

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Asko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRochelleMotel, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Hi Asko, Thank you for giving us such a positive recommendation. It's always nice to hear when someone has enjoyed their stay with us in Akaroa. We hope you get a chance to visit for longer next time. Kind regards Alex & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I decided to escape our adult children for a couple of nights as we hadn't stayed in akaroa since the earthquakes over the hill we went.
La rochelle is situated at the start of the main street and the perfect combination of peace and a short stroll into the shopping area, the host alex is really obliging and pleasent and the two bedroom unit we stayed in was very comfortable.
We will definitely return to stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRochelleMotel, Manager at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hi Cathy, Thanks for taking time to review La Rochelle Motel. It had been a while since you were last in Akaroa so is nice to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. Hopefully you you got back home feeling re-energised and have had a fantastic week. We hope to see you again soon, kind regards Alex & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.1 km away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#2 of 5 in Akaroa
142 reviews
0.5 km away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.1 km away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#4 of 5 in Akaroa
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.6 km away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.1 km away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#10 of 25 in Akaroa
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rochelle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rochelle Motel

Address: 1 Rue Grehan, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range: RM 323 - RM 713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Rochelle Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful village of Akaroa La Rochelle Motel is a small family operated property that is your perfect destination for a relaxing & peaceful stay. Our modern complex offers a mix of 8 Studio Units with either Super-King or Queen sized beds & a 2 bedroom unit. Access facilities or twin studio also available. Each unit is comfortably furnished with kitchenette, en-suite bathroom with either shower or single spa bath, heating, flat screen TV & DVD player, & iPod docks. Each unit also has its own balcony or patio overlooking our native garden & stream boundary. Off-street parking, free Wireless Broadband, continental breakfast & Guest Laundry available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Rochelle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing