We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Admiral's Lodge B&B Hotel(Picton)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$59
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Motel Picton(Picton)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 24/07
US$56
US$54
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aldan Lodge Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Sunnyvale Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$76
US$71
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Alicante Backpackers(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$47
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Bellbird Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$135
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
17
7
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
7
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge roomone nightcomfortable bedgreat viewrosalierusselhostsharbour
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at the Grandvue for 3 nights and didn't want to leave. Our hosts Russell and Rosalie couldn't have been more kind. The accommodations were clean and comfortable with the most amazing view overlooking Picton and the Queen Charlotte Sound. Our breakfasts were very tasty with lovely fresh fruits, homemade bread and jam, muesli, and more. The topper was having breakfast with Rosalie and Russell in their living room and watching the All Blacks win the championship against South Africa - just like we were part of the family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalie and Rus... M, Owner at Grandvue Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for spending time with us, we enjoyed your company & sharing our rugby success, it was like having friends to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Had a lovely stay here, one night before and one night after the Queen Charlotte Track. Rosalie and Russell are very friendly and welcoming, and our accommodation (in the downstairs unit) was spotlessly clean and spacious. An added bonus was that Russell collected us from the ferry, and drove us down to collect our hire car on the day we left. The breakfast was delicious! And the view is indeed "grand".

Room Tip: Downstairs is very private.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karorigrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalie and Rus... M, Owner at Grandvue Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

We enjoyed having you stay before & after your Queen Charlotte Track experience. Maybe a return visit to enjoy other parts of the Marlborough Sounds in the future. Wishing you both all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Lovely, somewhat old-fashioned B&B. Own facilities, lovely breakfast. Because of the relatively early arrival in Picton (around 11:30 am), and our idea that it was too early to arrive at the B&B, the owner was a bit confused in what time we were to arrive. An advice for new guest: maybe it’s wise to phone the owners to let them know when you’re planning to arrive.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0bbie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My teenage daughter and I stayed overnight in the upstairs accommodation. The views are spectacular from the main living areas, and Russell and Rosalie are lovely generous host, with lots of local knowledge. Breakfast was healthy and more than enough. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there, and hope to be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalie and Rus... M, Owner at Grandvue Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

We enjoyed having you & your daughter stay & look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your friendly comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed one night in a room with no view at all and bathroom facilities to be shared with the hosts. Breakfast was OK but not cooked.

For some 135 dollars it seemed us terrible value for the money: just make sure in advance which kind of accommodation you are being offered.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shandytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalie and Rus... M, Owner at Grandvue Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Sorry that you were disappointed with our hospitality. There was never any intention of misleading you. Our advertising states that we serve continental breakfast & upstairs is share facilities with host. While the guest room does not have a view you are invited to share our home & conservatory which have panoramic views. We welcome guests who are in our home to enjoy this aspect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews