We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM, 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Ford's Theatre
from US$5.55
More Info
from US$65.00
More Info
from US$80.00
More Info
from US$49.00
More Info
Reviews (4,285)
Filter reviews
4,285 results
Traveller rating
2,880
1,059
263
61
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,880
1,059
263
61
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peterson house across the street lincoln died ranger talk john wilkes booth christmas carol park ranger presidential box fateful night boarding house actual gun passed away events leading up audio tour piece of history the lower level american history
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 4,285 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2021

There is a great museum in the basement of the museum. It covers all aspects of Lincoln's life and is very detailed, but the presidents box is a tad anticlimactic. I'd recommend touring with a guide instead of by yourself, they are very knowledgeable.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank pollto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2021

If you love history, it is a must the park rangers are extremely knowledgeable and willing to share their knowledge. To think you walked the same bath as Lincon and Booth ...

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Srocha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2021

This was a fun little museum in the basement of the Ford Theatre where Lincoln was shot. It did a really good job of talking through his inauguration, his involvement in the Civil War, his family, entertainments, and people who planned to assassinate him. The movies were particularly insightful. A wand explaining everything is available, but there’s a lot of information already written up so they weren’t really necessary. The last thing to go through is the theatre where Lincoln was fatally shot. It’s still used for shows today. Unfortunately we didn’t have a chance to go through some exhibits: they announced that we only had 30 minutes left at a certain point, so we went through the theatre before the building closed. They have a really great gift shop – we bought quite a bit there.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank Bertram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FordsTheatre, Manager at Ford's Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and sorry you didn't get a chance to see everything. As part of our COVID safety plan, we were allowing only 45 minutes on site in order to ensure patrons move through the site promptly and to provide time for cleaning between visits. We hope you’ll visit us again when we are able to allow visitors more time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2021

Great self tour with informative displays. Seeing the place where Lincoln was sitting when shot and the timeline of his and his killer’s day was stepping back in time. Worth your time to go.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank sandybZ3469GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2021 via mobile

There is not much here. Smaller children may not spend much time but my nine year old liked it. The guy from the penny and the 5$. For adults you just have to place yourself in history and it’s amazing. To be where he was killed is just something to experience. Great gift shop and lots of stairs but elevators are available.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank Jason b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews