We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #21 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I always to stay at the George when I'm in DC. The rooms are really nice: great sheets and bathrooms. The staff is extremely responsive. And if you're a Kimpton in touch person, which is free to join, you get free Internet and a $10 credit for the minibar.

The best rooms are the ones ending in, say 03 to 08: those are the rooms looking out over E Street. Some of the other rooms can be a little dark, but if you want quiet might be a tad better.

The hotel restaurNt, Bistro Bis, is phenomenal, especially for a power breakfast.

I would stay at the George always, if J could, but I've never seen a hotel where the room rates vary so dramatically.

Room Tip: See my tip in my write up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofiastayshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you Sofia. Please come back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,365
    545
    140
    33
    23
See reviews for
505
636
162
554
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

My daughter and her family live in DC, so we visit often. After our last visit, I won't be looking for a hotel anymore, as the George was perfect. Friendly, staff, nice rooms, a fine restaurant and easy parking. What more do you want?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you Stephen S for your absolutely wonderful feedback. I was very happy to hear that you and your daughter had a great time at the George and more importantly not looking at other hotels to stay at. See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

The experience at the Hotel was Excellent! From the staff that receives the Guest Service agent and including the front desk supervisor they all gave it a 120% in making your stay enjoyable and comfortable. The entire staff is really professional and dedicated to serve. I will continue to go there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Muchas Gracias Omar L for taking the time to share your great experience at the George. I look forward to having you back again soon. Thanks for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I stayed at the Hotel George last week while attending a conference nearby. I was pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness of the room. The interior of both the room and also the public spaces have been relatively recently redone, and the hotel has a "new" feel about it even though the building itself is several decades old. Everything worked exactly as it should (in the bathroom. etc.) and, for my purposes, I found it particularly helpful to have both a couch and also a comfortable workspace to get some work done in the room.

The location is good, about five minutes from Union Station (and the metro from the airport) not too far from the Capitol. Many restaurants are within easy reach.

The staff was pleasant and friendly. All in all, this hotel was just about everything I'd want in a place to stay for an event or tourism in Washington, at a seemingly competitive price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAH43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you for the shout out MT. Vernon. I can’t agree with you more, well maybe a “Great” Place to stay. Please come back soon so I may welcome you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
186 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

An annual meeting in DC has put me back at the George. I think this is a fairly nice hotel, but definitely not worth the prices they charge. It is very clean and modern, but there really are not many "extras." The gym is very bare-bones (I've seen nicer at cheaper chain hotels). The staff was fairly friendly (better than my last stay). The street noise was again extremely obnoxious. I was getting up early for a work meeting, but had I wanted to sleep in/relax, I would have been woken by loud trucks and noise from the street. So I would say that you can find an equally nice hotel for cheaper, but if money is no object then stay here. No big complaints, other than it's a pretty basic hotel that is pretty pricey. Great location for Capital business, close to Union Station.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the front, to possibly alleviate back alley noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGuy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank You TravelGuy for taking the time to share your feedback. My apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. Our Gym provides state of the art work out equipment with TV monitors on all of our treadmills and elliptical equipment, along with free weight dumbbells, yoga mat, arm curl machine, ab machine, and more to ensure a complete workout. I hope you give us the opportunity again to show you what we are made of. Please let me know when you return to D.C. so we can make sure your stay is perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Property: Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): RM951 - RM2,508
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing