We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun happy hour and very good food”
Review of Mandu

Mandu
Reserve with OpenTable
Mandu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #463 of 3,213 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Dupont Circle
milwaukee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun happy hour and very good food”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

we've been here a few times over the years and always make it a point to get there before happy hour ends... it is fun trying the different sojutinis (including the, and i know it sounds odd, the aloe flavored one)... we usually stay around for dinner and have always been very pleased w the food and service.

i also reccomend trying their brunch... for us it was not crazy busy like more conventional brunch spots and has the fun novelty of being served bento style..

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank milwaukee__guy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    54
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant, tasty, informal Korean food.”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Our first visit. We're not familiar with Korean cuisine beyond bulgogi and kimchee. We found Mandu great fun and the food quite good. The bulgogi was accompanied by an extensive plate of relishes and some very nice grilled vegetables. The sojutini cocktails were interesting- we preferred aloe to orange. The Mandu dumpling appetizer was outstanding - at the server's suggestion we got one each of all 6 types.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mdtastebuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, bad service”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The waitress ignore us, and talk in a totally impolite way

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunway1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sojoooo”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I've had the food here several times and it is good. I'm not a huge fan of Korean and when I crave it, it's at 2 AM and I want it grilled right at my table. Still, the best part about Mandu is the sojoo martini's. Be sure to try an aloe martini or my favorite, yogurt. Thank me later.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank vballm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Korean food!”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We live in Miami and there is literally NO Korean food here! So every chance I get to eat Korean food, I jump on it!

The service was very good. The waitress was very helpful! And the food was great! I loved it! Would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting Korean food!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandu also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Mandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing