We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Hip Hotel”
Review of W Washington D.C.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Washington D.C.
Ranked #59 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My husband and I took a long weekend (2010) to relax before the birth of our child and found the W to be a hip and convenient place to stay.

Arrival: We arrived without a reservation. Valet service was friendly and the front desk was able to accommodate us in a room on a high floor overlooking the Treasury and White House.
I think we paid 500 or so per night. If it had not been for the location, I would say it was overpriced.

Room: Cozy and hip. Perhaps a bit small, but it was fine for the two of us. The bed was neat with a mood light headboard. Fun mini bar items. Room service was always amazing and quick. The shower was fine. I would have appreciated a bath as well, but no complaints. I am a fan of the W decor. Cute sink area. Big window. The only issue I had was that we were right below the rooftop bar and the noise really carried into our room.

Area: a few blocks from the Smithsonian museums, White House, etc.

Staff: Very accommodating

We enjoyed our stay and will most likely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,875 - 1,879 of 2,342 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2012

The reason for our stay at this property was to attend a funeral service at ANC. A solemn event, yet because of the excellent accomodations and thoughful, helpful staff at this hotel, our stay was enjoyable and stress free.
It's location is perfect for a glimpse of what's going on at the White House right across the street from the hotel. From the POV, one can watch the SS on the roof top of the White House protecting the first family.
The W restaurants were superb, again excellent wait staff and food served in comfortable surroundings.

Room Tip: great views of the White House from upper level rooms, see photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiffa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The rooms are, what can I say, SEXY. I wished my wife was with me and that I was not on business. Oh well. The service was excellent, the gym was well appointed. The main restaurant does a great job on just about any steak, and has a delicious cheese course for dessert, as well as a exhaustive wine list. I feel like the hallways are too dark, though, too much trying to be trendy. Over all, a great experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CageyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Undoubtably the bet customer service I've seen thus far n my travels! Will definately stay here and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManUtd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Our family (two teenage girls) had adjoining rooms at the W for three nights. This is the historic Washington Hotel with a rooftop bar overlooking the White House and Treasury Dept. There were private rooftop events two of the evenings which made it difficult to get an elevator and entailed security guards questioning you. Also quite noisy. The vibe is Euro-chic and seems to appeal to the twenty something, celebrity seeking crowd. The rooms were okay but small (no separate bathroom in ours) and noisy through the walls and the hallways. Breakfast in the restaurant was lovely. No gift shop but they will get you toiletries if you call the front desk and the Bliss Spa products were nice. The Willard Hotel right next door is a grand hotel and for a little higher price and a more historic Washington feel.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a room near the elevators if you need a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody_Insider, Manager at W Washington D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Hello ghvp,

W Washington, DC is definitely not your typical DC hotel. We have a very upbeat and vivacious atmosphere, with lots of energy. On the weekends we do have a lot of events and being a historic property our elevators are original to the building and a little more on the cozier side. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed J&G Steakhouse for breakfast! If you didn't have the French toast, definitely try it next time. It's to die for. Let me know if you plan to visit DC in the near future and I will make sure you have a quieter room and a great experience!

All the best,

Cody
W Insider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#69 of 141 in Washington DC
3,127 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#90 of 141 in Washington DC
273 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#13 of 141 in Washington DC
1,956 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Washington D.C.

Address: 515 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: RM873 - RM2,326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amplify your Washington, D.C. experience in one of our 317 elevated hotel rooms and suites that unite historical detail with cutting edge design. Push the boundaries of possibility while overlooking the White House and Washington Monument. Ascend to POV rooftop and break through the red tape of D.C. Cross the party lines as you indulge in stunning views, signature cocktails, and live DJ beats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your W Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
w Hotels Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing