We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
W Washington D.C.
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
JW Marriott Washington, DC(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hay-Adams(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Harrington(Washington DC)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,415)
Filter reviews
2,415 results
Traveller rating
1,180
682
304
151
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,180
682
304
151
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop bartreasury buildingbliss spawhite housepov barbliss productsfrosted glassamazing locationrooms are smallliving roomnational mallsmithsonian museumsfew blocksmarlonlobbyspghip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,248 - 2,253 of 2,415 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We booked the W to enjoy the 4th of July fireworks from the rooftop bar after many phone calls to confirm that we would have rooftop access. A month before the 4th, I received an email inviting us to a "party" on the rooftop and that hotel guests would not be allowed up there without paying an additional $200 each, which we declined. We were promised a room with a view of the mall and fireworks, and that was incredible!!

However, you also had a view directly to the toilet from the desk, even with the door completely closed, as there is a huge gap between the door and the edge of the shower. If you are modest, you will hate the bathroom, as the opaque glass shower wall IS the wall separating the bathroom from the bed area. Anyone taking a shower is in full view of anyone else in the room. The sink is in the hallway entrance area, not part of the bathroom. Really a poor design overall.

With the rooftop party going on, it took us 20 minutes and two phone calls from my cell phone to the hotel to get an elevator to stop at the 10th floor. The staff had keys to lock down the elevators into express mode, bypassing the guest floors. Good thing it wasn't an emergency!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misheshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

The rooms are tiny and there are a few strange features -- like the sink is inside the room, not in a separte bathroom -- but as long as you don't have much luggage, they're perfectly adequate and comfortable. Views from the upper floors are great. Only word of caution is that we were staying on the 10th floor -- just below the rooftop bar -- and one night we could hear loud music through the ceiling.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

I booked this hotel because the website said it is "right next to the White House with great views". Not true at all unless you want to go to the rooftop bar. There was a wedding going on there that night so we were kind of pushed aside to wait on everyone in the wedding party to board the elevators before we were aloud to go up to our room. We had a great view of the Treasury Department right outside our window. (that is what I really went to DC to see) The price of the room was a little more than we would usually spend but since the room supposidly had a great view of everything I booked it. Very disappointed when we got there. Not only that it was $50.00 to park at the hotel per day. Anything and everything costs money. We had breakfast delievered to our room and it cost us $50.00. It was horrible. We only stayed there one night but it would have been cheaper to take a cruise than to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvanimals55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

The W was wonderful; rooms beautifully appointed and comfortable, the staff super helpful and friendly. The roof terrace is simply spectacular.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ageeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Well folks, this W is in the center of action. You are within walking distance to the Smithsonians, the National Mall and the restaurants in Penn Quarter. You are right next to the WH and if you go to the rooftop bar you can get a pretty good view of it.
This is the continuation of Hotel Washington and the rooms are freshly renovated and the decor is pleasant. The shower has glass enclosures all around so privacy may be an issue. The rooftop bar generates quite a bit of noise so beware of that as well.
The staff is friendly but they do charge $40 if you borrow the umbrella and fail to return it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews