We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sardine-like experience”

International Spy Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.95*
and up
International Spy Museum
Ranked #89 of 478 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Opened in 2002, the International Spy Museum provides interactive exhibits and contains the most extensive collection of spy artifacts ever displayed.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This would have been a great museum if it wasn't so incredibly crowded. I can't blame the owners for trying to maximize profits, but it really detracted from our experience.
There were lots of interesting exhibits that we briefly glimpsed between the crush of bodies, and lots of interactive exhibits, none of which we could get close to. We still managed to learn some interesting facts, and I'll bet we could have learned lots more if it was less packed. We went on a Friday during spring break, so maybe there are better times to visit.

Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

I'm glad you enjoyed the exhibit content but I regret that your visit wasn't all that you expected. As you mentioned, spring break is a busy time at the museum. We generally recommend visiting either first thing in the morning, or 2 hours prior to closing to avoid peak crowds during this time. Guests can also enter and exit as much as they like throughout the day once tickets are purchased and only wait in line for their first entry. Visitors are strongly encouraged to book tickets in advance either online or by phone to avoid longer wait times. Thank you again for visiting. I hope you'll try spying on us another time...

Meredith Richard
Guest Services Operative
202 393 7798
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"james bond"
in 712 reviews
"cold war"
in 206 reviews
"real spies"
in 53 reviews
"gift shop"
in 258 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 163 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 141 reviews
"older kids"
in 55 reviews
"all ages"
in 176 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 51 reviews
"whole family"
in 72 reviews
"great for kids"
in 58 reviews
"two hours"
in 79 reviews
"three hours"
in 47 reviews
"on display"
in 85 reviews
"civil war"
in 44 reviews
"espionage"
in 377 reviews
"gadgets"
in 284 reviews
Filter

88 - 92 of 4,625 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

I took a group of middle school students to this museum and they couldn't get enough of it. You could easily spend 4-5 hours here. There are artifacts from real spies. Lots of 007 James Bond references. The gift shop is a hoot.

Thank 11Hjaeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

I'm glad that you and your group enjoyed your mission with us! There's definitely a little spy in everyone. I hope you'll visit us again soon...

Meredith Richard
Guest Services Operative
202 393 7798
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

The content is quality and the exhibits creative. Interactive opportunities abound. The various eras are well represented and there us something in every corner. It was definitely crowded and they seem to work to keep the inflow from swamping things totally. Cost was under $100 for a family of 4 and we felt like we got value for our $$. In a town of free attractions, the fact that they pack them in says something about the product.

Thank whiskey3pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

I'm glad you enjoyed spying on us! As you mentioned, our museum features unique artifacts alongside interactive exhibits to help bring the history of espionage to life. During our busy spring and summer break periods, we generally recommend visiting either first thing in the morning or 2 hours prior to closing to avoid peak crowds . Guests can also enter and exit as much as they like throughout the day once tickets are purchased. Thanks again for visiting.

Meredith Richard
Guest Services Operative
202 393 7798
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Well worth the time and admission fee. Tremendous exhibits on Cold War era spying by the US and Soviet Union. I have studied this era, but leaned a great deal during my visit. Entertaining exhibit on spying in popular culture. Excellent gift shop.

Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Hello Agent Andrew E,

Thank you for sharing your intel! I am happy to see you completed your mission at the International Spy Museum. The Museum is solely dedicated to espionage and the only one in the world to provide a global perspective on this all-but-invisible profession. Thank you for Spying on Us!

Tierra Manning
Guest Services Operative
202 393 7794
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

This attraction looked really cool online, and we had recommendations from locals to see it. However, for the price, it is not worth it. We stood in line and then paid over $22 a piece. It started out promising since they have customers pick an alias/spy character. Then you get into the actual museum and it is extremely crowded and hot. The interactive elements could be cool, but they were almost impossible to reach. If they would limit the number of people, it might be better. Overall, this was a disappointment. Save your money and go to the National Museum of Natural History.

Thank dallen2363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Hello Agent Dallen2363

Thank you for sharing your intel! I am sorry to see that you did not enjoy your mission. The International Spy Museum is a non-profit organization that brings the world of intelligence to life. Did you speak to a manager before your departure? The Spy Museum always welcomes feedback from guest on how we can improve the museum. If you have any further questions, comments, or concerns please contact us via phone call or email. I have attached the information below. Thank you for Spying on Us!

Tierra Manning
Guest Services Operative
202 393 7794
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed International Spy Museum also viewed

 

Been to International Spy Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing