We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly staff and great food”
Review of Zenebech Injera

Zenebech Injera
Ranked #618 of 3,751 Restaurants in Washington DC
Restaurant details
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

We have traveled to Addis twice and cannot get good Ethiopian food at home, so we always get some when traveling in DC. The staff were extremely friendly, and we enjoyed a chicken and beef dish with the injera, plus St George beer. The lentils, cabbage, and collard greens sides were great too. Will definitely be back!

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank darbyvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

I love Ethiopian food and have visited pretty much every Ethiopian restaurant in the D.C. area for the past 3.5 years but Zebenech so far serves best Ethiopian food in the city. Try anything, you'd not be disappointed. They have quite extensive vegan options as well. If you are there in a cold day, don't miss their cardamom tea. It is absolutely delicious. Keep in mind they moved locations several months ago and now they are located at 2420 18th St NW in Adams Morgan area. It's a great place for a family, couples, friends or solo. Try it. You'll love it.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Armadilloshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

I love the cuisine of Ethiopia. It is distinctive, flavorful food. My son and I went online and concluded that Zenebech Injera in the Adams Morgan District was the one to try. We were not disappointed!

The layout of the place is simple, not at all elegant. We wre immediately greeted by a beautiful woman who brought us water. We started with a round of Sambusa. These are triangular bread pockets stuffed with lentils. They are similar to Mexican Empanadas. These were really hot and absolutely delicious.

We ordered three entrees and asked that they be served on a single, large injera. This is the signature Ethiopian bread that is sponge-like and a bit tangy. You use the injera to pick up the food in your hand by pinching it over the food you select. Yes, it can be a little messy. We had a Vegetarian Combo (yellow split peas, red lentils, collard greens, cabbage, tomato salad, shiro [chickpeas stew]); Lega Tibs (tender lamb or beef cooked medium-well with onions, jalapeños, tomato, & herbs); and Banatu combo {tibs ferfer, kitfo, homemade ibe [cottage cheese.]) We each had an ample supply of injera and we shred it all.

This was a fantastic meal. Surprisingly, it cost less than $60 with the tip.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank drmillerlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Zenebech Injera serves great dishes in a very good price. We ordered a vegetarian plate, which was much enough for us both. It costed only 10$! The dish was amazing. In the restaurant there are many natives, what makes me believe that Zenebech Injera serves a real taste of Africa.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank 246martaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Had beef sambusa and vegetarian combo platter to share. Delicious. Some injera I have had at other restaurants has been a bit too sour - this was just right. Nice weather so ate outdoors, which added to the fun of eating with fingers!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank OneontaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zenebech Injera also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Zenebech Injera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing