We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient and pleasant, would come again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue
Ranked #122 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

The first impression was that this was a very basic hotel, but taking into account the money we paid, compared to other hotels in this town, I consider it good value for money, so I would stay here again if my trips bring me here again. Room was good, TV was a pleasant surprise. Bathroom was very dated, but who cares about that, beds (actually pillows) were a bit uncomfortable but I did have a good sleep. The lack of breakfast facilities was a big disappointment, but there was complimentary free coffee and tea! Location is good. Close to a ZOO.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ivan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Ivan,
We are so happy to hear that you left our property well-rested and feeling good about the value received. Our team is proud of our convenient Washington DC location and ability to provide guests with a great service at a fair rate. While we are sorry you considered one of our bathrooms to be a bit dated, we take solace in knowing that you enjoyed our TV offerings and complimentary drinks. It would be our pleasure to host you again next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 1,903 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017

The position is ok. Far from the center. I stayed in summer time so with a bicycle was easy to get there in 30 minutes, but be aware that is full of hills.

The rooms are just ok, a little bit old but comfortable.

The Customer Service was impeccable. The Italian restaurant in the hotel is good.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TheGirlOfTerezKorut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your visit this summer. We are extremely happy to hear that you received excellent customer service. Our team works hard to ensure our guests have a comfortable stay, so it's always appreciated when this is acknowledged. However, we are sorry to hear that you found us a little further away from the center of DC than you expected. Our staff is always happy to help suggest the easiest method to travel; there is also a metro stop just one block away. It is great that you had the opportunity to try the delicious food at our on-site Italian Restaurant, Tesoro. We encourage all feedback as we see this as an opportunity to continually improve on guest satisfaction. Once again, thank you for your comments, and we do hope that you will stay with us again at the Days Inn Washington DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

I think the receptionist smokes in the back room because the lobby is always smoky and reeks of cigarette. The staff are not rude but they are not friendly either, they are generous when you ask for more shampoo/soap, they give you more than a handful.

TV channels sucks, you can't tell what is on TV and channels are limited. Subtitles feature don’t work.

The silliest part of the hotel room was that there were no window curtains, just the white see through ones, so sunshine comes in at 6am and at night ppl can see in. We pulled out the flat sheet and hung it over the curtain rail and thankfully housekeeping didn't touch it throughout our stay.

We only needed a hotel to sleep in so we didn't mind that the room was small, furniture was dated, at least the bathroom was clean. There was no fridge so don't hope to take home leftovers.

We did like the subway station only a few mins walk away, across the road there was Giant supermarket and CVS. The subway ride to downtown DC was about 20 mins. The hotel is located at a quiet location so you don't get traffic noise. The street parking is very strict so make sure to read the signs properly before parking on the street.

Wasn't the best hotel but the location was good, it was clean and it served the purpose for a 5 day stay. I would definitely stay again if the hotel management gets strict on the non-smoking rule.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PhillyMcNally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

While there are certain aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations, we appreciate your insightful feedback offering us multiple opportunities for improvement. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location as you explored the DC area taking in all that our city has to offer. We hope you will choose to be our guest again so we can provide you with the stay you envisioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in October. A month or more before we ever arrived, they billed us twice the quoted rate (charged us full rate for two rooms, instead of one, even though their billing confirmation to us clearly showed only one room booked). When we saw the credit card statement showing unauthorized billing for two rooms, we called, and they supposedly credited us back for one.

Upon our arrival at the hotel, the front desk informed us that their computer was showing that we'd paid the full amount up front, but that we owed for three more nights, plus $50 in incidentals. I told them we'd already given them our credit card twice, and that they'd screwed up their own process. They responded that we'd have to take it up with their manager or billing dept. the next day.

As we returned to our room for our final night, management had apparently decided to lock us out because we "hadn't paid our bill." Another half hour at the front desk - with no manager available, and we had to give them our credit card again.

The room we stayed in (second floor, front corner) was very loud, We heard constant noise throughout all three nights from people (often sounding drunk) getting on and off the elevator, as well as the loud squeaking sounds from the elevator doors as they opened and closed. We also had to deal with yelling and loud conversations on the sidewalk below throughout each night, as we were located right above the front door of the hotel. (The room windows were tightly closed throughout.)

Finally, the wi-fi service was so slow it was essentially non-existent, so we couldn't do any work online during our stay there.

I'd hesitate to ever stay here again, and would definitely encourage others to think twice before staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank D5246UXscotth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are very sorry to read that you did not have a stay of the quality you deserved here in DC. Please accept our apologies for the various miscommunications involving your reservation as well as the noise issues you experienced. The service you received was not reflective of the care that our staff prides itself on, and we will use your review as an opportunity to learn and improve. Please reconsider staying with us again so that we can make it up to you and demonstrate the true value of a visit with us in DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

When paying $20 to park a car out of the center city I expect a lot form the hotel. Bathroom was smartly decorated and nice and that's the best thing I can say. Mattresses are iffy and too soft. Room was clean, but very dated. Power outlets in the room were sparse; more than half of them didn't work at all. Friday night, loud and boisterous partiers came down the hall around 2:30 AM and whooped it up for half an hour. I'd write off the partying to a one-off thing except conversation at the desk in the morning revealed this group is a weekly visitor and does the same thing each time. Desk attendant wrote it off as something they cannot control. I disagree.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank markrJ3639XK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear that your experience here in DC did not match your expectations. Although we are glad to read that your room was clean and bathroom pleasant, we are sorry that some issues with noise and maintenance detracted from the experience. You are correct in asserting that we must do better to ensure the comfort and relaxation of all of our guests, and we apologize. Please allow us the opportunity to make it up to you by paying us another visit here in the Capital.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Windsor Park Hotel
#126 of 141 in Washington DC
212 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Baron Hotel
The Baron Hotel
#130 of 141 in Washington DC
401 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#129 of 141 in Washington DC
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Normandy Hotel
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
1,061 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#132 of 141 in Washington DC
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue

Address: 4400 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: RM278 - RM967 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Forest Hills area, our Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue hotel is an ideal choice when visiting the nation's capital. The nearest Metro Station is just 1.5 blocks away and Avis Budget Car Rental is onsite for your convenience. Sleep soundly in your comfortable room, complete with free WiFi, Serta Perfect Sleeper mattresses, and 37-inch HDTVs. Indulge in a delicious meal at Tesoro Italian Restaurant, located onsite. We provide ChargePro EV charging stations for electric vehicles. Familiar landmarks, such as The White House, U.S. Capitol Building, Washington Monument, and the Lincoln, Jefferson, and Martin Luther King Jr. memorials, are just a short Metro ride away. Explore Smithsonian Institution museums, the Smithsonian National Zoo, Arlington National Cemetery, and Mount Vernon. Hit the links at Rock Creek Public Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Connecticut Ave. Hotel Washington Dc
Connecticut Avenue Days Inn
Days Inn Washington Dc
Days Inn Connecticut Ave Washington Dc
Washington Dc Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing