We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #58 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2017

The rooms are a little outdated, but everything was really clean, the service was friendly. I don't have a single complaint for any of the 3 days we stayed there. If you are travelling with family to see the sights don't look nowhere else.

Room Tip: The rooms are a little outdated, but everything was really clean, the service was friendly and didn...
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear Jorge R,

Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to be clean and comfortable. We look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,421)
There are newer reviews for University Inn Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 56 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017

University Inn is a nice hotel, in the middle of the GWU Foggy Bottom campus, near many of the museums and historical sites. This is an older hotel that they have tried to modernize. The University Inn is a decent place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear Ron R,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you noticed some of our updates. We are in the process of planning a full renovation later this year and are happy to see that a few of our changes were well received. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Room in need of some minor repair due to age but was very clean and comfortable. Staff was extremely helpful, especially the front desk and valet. Is within walking distance to most attractions and government agencies. Great deal for the price. Would stay again and recommend to friends!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 551klc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear 551klc,

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to see that you were comfortable while staying with us. We look forward to your next return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

University Inn is perfectly located next to attractions and the metro. The Inn has great comfortable rooms and a kind front desk. They are clean and prepared for our arrival. I LOVED the pillows!! I wil definitely come back!

Room Tip: The only negative was the bathrooms were not updated for decor. It was a good size and plenty of wa...
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear Sharon K,

Thank you for your Review! We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and found the pillows comfortable. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

This was a great choice. Excellent room, very very comfortable, nice staff, beautiful and quiet neighborhood, close to the Foggy Bottom metro station and a Whole Foods market. Also close to Georgetown, just a few blocks away. Easy access from/to the airport, using the metro (see map).

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paulo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Dear Paulo A,

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to see that you had a wonderful time while staying with us and that you were very comfortable. We look forward to your next visit to our lovely neighborhood in Foggy Bottom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#14 of 141 in Washington DC
1,721 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#7 of 141 in Washington DC
1,505 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
435 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
1,841 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#37 of 141 in Washington DC
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: RM654 - RM1,613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing