We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #59 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Loved it. We had a spacious one-bedroom suite with a stovetop, microwave and fridge. It was a 10-minute walk to he Lincoln Memorial which was a stop for sightseeing buses and trolleys. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay here again and would recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank katgram5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear katgram5,

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit to DC and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,426)
There are newer reviews for University Inn Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 41 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Pleasantly shocked to get this hotel for the price. Located in the heart of Foggy Bottom near GWU, everything we wanted to see was within walking distance and the room and bed was fantastic. My SO and dog and I had a fantastic time there.

Note: Parking in the area is a little difficult and they charge for valet parking but it comes out to around the same price as the meters anyway.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Raynor21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Raynor21,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed yourself and found all the amenities well suited to your families needs. We look forward to your next visit and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Location is everything for this hotel. It is close to restaurants and only a 1.5 miles from the National Mall. It's easy to grab and Uber quickly. The staff was very nice and helpful. We were highly disappointed (with our party of 6) when we got to the room and there was 1 king and 1 pull out couch. We contacted the front desk only to learn we had the biggest room they offer. We booked for 6, so they told us we could had roll away beds. This made the room pretty crowded. Only 3 towels were stocked in the bathroom (for a room booked for 6). The TVs were small. It was a decent kitchenette, but limited supplies (3 glasses in a room advertised for 6). There was a gym available with a nice treadmill, eliptical, and bike. It did have some kettlebells, one bench and a cable station. It was a clean hotel, and fine for two nights. We did not get to eat there, but there were many restaurants, Starbucks, and Whole Foods within 1/2 mile. My son left a PS4 game there, so I called the next morning. I had to leave a message with lost and found, but unfortunately no one returned my call. :-( Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. Upon arrival, the doorman told my husband it would be $47/night to valet, and suggested a parking spot on the street (which we could see from the room). Requests for extra towels and paper towels were provided within minutes.I would stay again.

Room Tip: This hotel does not have a room that sleeps 6 without rolling in extra beds. That was not advertise...
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tarageisel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear tarageisel,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. There are alot of nice comments here that we appreciate, but I would also like the opportunity to chat with you about the other details. Our room details show the correct bedding online on multiple websites, including our own, and we audit daily to ensure the posted details are all correct. In reference to the lost item, our housekeeping supervisor returned your call yesterday regarding the item, but if you don't mind giving us one more call we would be happy to chat about the missing item and see if we can locate it for you. We look forward to your next trip to DC and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Loved everything about this hotel. Staff was so friendly. Location was less than a mile to the Lincoln Memorial. The room was very spacious with plenty of closet space. Microwave and mini fridge was very convenient. Restaurants and supermarket were in walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Debra W.,

Thank you for your review! We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

The University Inn was a great hotel experience. The staff is amazing and incredibly friendly and helpful. It is ideally situated - less than 5 min walk away from the Foggy Bottom metro station and in a good neighborhood with lots of food options close by. We'll definitely go back there when we're next in DC.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank janev500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear janev500,

Thank you for your review! We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
1,727 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#8 of 142 in Washington DC
1,506 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#5 of 142 in Washington DC
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
One Washington Circle Hotel
#30 of 142 in Washington DC
1,845 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#37 of 142 in Washington DC
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: RM689 - RM1,663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing