We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #58 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The overall stay at this hotel was wonderful! It was quiet and clean and close to all the attractions in D.C. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The best part was I was able to bring my dog and there was no fee. I would definitely stay here again. The only possible down side is that there is valet parking for $40.00 a night but all the positives with the hotel greatly overshadowed this.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back of the hotel because the front has people checking in and out.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank traveler16758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear traveler16758,

Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
There are newer reviews for University Inn Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Loved being able to walk to buses for tours, having a 7 Eleven convenience store so close, and being able to walk around the university area. Our only complaint is that we could no access our car during our stay because of the lack of parking space, and having to valet park.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vgtaylor2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear vgtaylor2900,

Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next return. Please note that next time you are with us, we are happy to bring up your car anytime you need it free of charge. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay at the University Inn. My favorite thing of all was the warm welcome we would receive at the door each evening from the man at the door. As a mother/daughter pair staying in the city, the location felt safe and comfortable. We walked each evening to dinner in Georgetown, and walked to the mall and the museums during the day. It is a bit of walk to the mall, but less than 2 miles which suited us just fine.

The room was clean, not super fancy, but more that sufficient. We looked out at the Watergate hotel. The streets near by are residential streets, lined with cute townhomes. The microwave and refrigerator were helpful, when we had leftovers. Be sure to check your refrigerator to make sure that ice is not building up. Someone had turned ours up too high, and then lowered it. We had a bit of water in our leftover pizza :(

Overall, it was very pleasant and just what we were looking for in a hotel in D.C. It was a bit off the main roads, close enough to walk to what we wanted to see, safe and comfortable at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GirlFromDecatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear GirlFromDecatur,

Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next return. I will be sure to remind our teams to reset all of the refrigerator's to the proper standard temperature at checkout of the guest's to avoid this again. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Loved it. We had a spacious one-bedroom suite with a stovetop, microwave and fridge. It was a 10-minute walk to he Lincoln Memorial which was a stop for sightseeing buses and trolleys. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay here again and would recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank katgram5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear katgram5,

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit to DC and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Pleasantly shocked to get this hotel for the price. Located in the heart of Foggy Bottom near GWU, everything we wanted to see was within walking distance and the room and bed was fantastic. My SO and dog and I had a fantastic time there.

Note: Parking in the area is a little difficult and they charge for valet parking but it comes out to around the same price as the meters anyway.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Raynor21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick S, Director of Rooms at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Raynor21,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed yourself and found all the amenities well suited to your families needs. We look forward to your next visit and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#14 of 141 in Washington DC
1,719 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#7 of 141 in Washington DC
1,502 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
434 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
1,840 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#38 of 141 in Washington DC
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: RM646 - RM1,606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing