We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Ranked #83 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenixille PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Clean hotel with a wonderful location to the Mall and Smithsonian Museums- decent breakfast in the Cafe, convenient parking under the hotel for competitive pricing. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisseyMBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment so favorably on our hotel on Trip Advisor. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    1,147
    420
    128
    69
See reviews for
1,024
503
130
414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I would recommend anyone to take the "Bed Breakfast Beyond" package ... as you will receive 50% off in parking and you will have free breakfast for adults and kids. The breakfast buffet is really good.

Hotel is only a short walking distance to National Mall. If you really museum, you will enjoy it.

All the hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful.... and the security lady in the parking lot is friendly too...

Room is reasonable size and comfortable....

CVS is in the corner, so you can buy your water. Starbucks is downstair...

I will strongly recommend anyone for this hotel.

Room Tip: "Bed Breakfast Beyond" package is a good deal....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UptownXriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us with the "Bed Breakfast Beyond" package. We try and offer numerous packages that would work for a variety of our travelers. Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Finding a hotel that can handle 3 kids in the room can prove difficult, but we were giddy with the King Bed/Suite we were provided. The 2 room suite is PLENTY big to accomodate an extra cot, and the sofa pulled out to a double bed. The separate bedroom with a sturdy door, king size bed, chair, desk and TV were roomy enough we could have had another cot in there if necessary. The location is excellent. It sits close to the Air/Space Museum and the WONDERFUL American Indian Museum. Quiznos Sub, McDonalds and Starbucks are right on street with hotel.

My biggest issue were the meals here. The "kids eat free" concept was one item that drew us to this hotel. Kids eat free with a paying adult. Breakfast prices are jacked up. I've traveled a lot, and I think $25 for a single breakfast meal is insane, even for Washington prices. California omelet, hashbrown loaded with bell peppers (ew), cold dry toast, cup of coffee and glass of juice was $25. That is what my kids eat free coupon actually cost. The kids got a travel box of fruit loops, glass of orange juice, and a banana. (They could have had an egg/hashbrowns or pancake as a choice). So don't chose this hotel for the kids eat free aspect. it is a nice location however, and the rooms are nice with a microwave and small refridge!

Staff was pleasant and nice. Our breakfast server woke up on the wrong side of the bed - service from her was an unmemorable experience. I had to ask for coffee about 4 times before I finally got my first cup, and then I never got a refill. For $3.00 for a teacup of coffee, she should have left a pot with me if she wasn't going to bother refilling the tiny teacup. On a happy note..Starbucks is right next to the hotel!

I had read complaints about the train. There IS a train that you can hear, but it didn't keep us awake, or wake us up. The rooms are pretty well insulated I think. We had a corner room, and it was very quite.

Room Tip: We had 2 room king suite at end of hall on 3rd floor. Was big, though view nothing to write home ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Holiday Inn Capitol is a AWESOME place to stay--especially if this is your first time to D.C.. Very easy walking access to National Mall and Capitol--central and safe location. Starbucks access from lobby--hotel restaurant gave generous portions… and was good food. Our room/bathroom was plain and a little dated BUT was very clean and the beds were comfortable--that's all we cared about. Hotel staff was pleasant. Definetly would stay here again. Only downside--not many eating choices around here but we either walked about 7-12 minutes up 7th or 9th street to one of the letter street area or grabbed a $7 cab--which were usually waiting outside.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you so much for the great review of our hotel. Hopefully, you will be in DC again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I was contacted by the assistant manager at Holiday Inn after I posted my complaint, and she and I worked out a compromise, where the reservation was reinstated for a different night at the price I was charged. This is a lot better than I was expecting, after having tried unsuccessfully to do that every thing as part of the process. If this does work out right, I'll be sure to say so.

Room Tip: When booking online, make sure you pay attention to every single solitary thing you choose. Sometime...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
I'm glad our Assistant General Manager was able to assist you. We look forward to having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
853 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,432 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Property: Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Address: 550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2572
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): RM665 - RM1,622
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers coming to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block fromSmithsonian s National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building, Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free, grab a quick meal at the Shuttle Deli Express, or coffee from our full service Starbucks. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill or take a relaxing swim in our seasonal rooftop pool overlooking the US Capitol. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Capitol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing