We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vibe, great bar, great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aliso Viejo
Seattle
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great vibe, great bar, great rooms”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I have been traveling to Orange County regularly for the past four years and I typically stay at the Hilton by the airport because it is close to the airport. A friend convinced me to try this hotel and I was not disappointed. The key to this hotel is the gym and the bar. Both are excellent. When you are staying here you don't feel like you are traveling for business - the bar is actually quite lively, my guess is it is more locals that travelers, the deck is awesome and the gym is the main draw.

The rooms are great with one really irritating feature: they have motion sensitive lights, so if you wake up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom or change the setting on the thermostat, be prepared to be blinded by a light. You can turn them off, but by then it is too late.

That said, this place is great, and if it were not for OC traffic (it is a bit of a hike from the airport) and the blinding lights it might get a fifth star.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank onobed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    110
    34
    19
    12
See reviews for
90
70
18
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I was disappointed that when checking in they tried to put us in a yuccky standard guest room with no view which normally costs 159.00 a night when we paid for a junior suite king room at $239.00 a night. If I had not complained about the quality of the room we would not have been moved to the room that we had paid for. Check in staff need to be honest. I will never return or recommend this hotel because of this experience. Also the hotel advertises that rooms have a bath shower combo and 2 tvs. Our room did not have either of these and I was looking forward to a bath after being on the road for 8 hours. We did not get the daily newspaper they said we would get. We had to request a fridge 3 times. Once on our booking request form and twice at reception. The shower is useless. It is a rain shower with no pressure so don't even bother attempting to wash your hair unless you are nearly bald as these showers are useless. I wish hotels would understand that women need hose showers to wash properly or at the very least a shower with a movable head and decent water pressure. On the good side..I liked the fact that they serve healthy food and the kitchen is open downstairs pretty much all day until 10pm. I also like the fact that you can buy a tub of yoghurt and fruit at the bar in the mornings and eat it outside in the pool court which is a lovely sitting area. The waiting staff are all good. I like the fact that you can pour yourself a water and grab an apple at the lifts.

Room Tip: Levels 5 and 6 are better than 1 to 4 . Make sure you get the room you paid for. There are no great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angels
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We needed to stay in Alsio Viejo. The Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo, a fairly new hotel was close to our family celebration.
The rooms are large,comfortable and Quiet..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravelLosAngels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

If life takes you to the OC, specifically south orange county, stay here. The hotel is only a few years old. The rooms are very comfortable (get one overlooking the pool/town). The rates are very competitive. The staff is excellent and the hotel is attached to one of OC's premier fitness clubs. As a hotel guest you get full access. I have no complaints.

If you're looking for a good dinner close by, check out Opah at the Aliso Viejo town center (1 mile away). Great food and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms have the pool/city view. The lower the number the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SDdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed in this hotel because it was the recommended hotel for guests of a wedding that we attended. My first experience with this hotel was a positive one, having been able to obtain the special wedding guest rate even though I booked a little late. Everything worked out well with the reservation, which truly increased my confidence in the hotel.

As it turned out, everything about our stay was excellent, from the cleanliness of the hotel, the decor, the room size and the level of comfort. The front desk staff was extremely friendly. We absolutely loved the breakfast in the restaurant which, although a little pricey, was so darned good we sat there for quite awhile enjoying ourselves. The service in the restaurant was excellent, too. We did not visit the health club (no time). The hotel was in a very convenient area, close to shops and other restaurants. My only issue was that the MapQuest directions were incorrect and had us drive right past the hotel . ..and it was a little hard to see the entrance to the hotel property when we were looking for it. If the sign had been more prominent, we wouldn't have driven past it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lu-AnnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aliso Viejo
0.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
7.0 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
6.8 km away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
3.1 km away
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
Ayres Hotel Laguna Woods
#1 of 1 in Laguna Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
5.1 km away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel

Property: Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel
Address: 50 Enterprise, Aliso Viejo, CA 92656-6026 (Formerly Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Aliso Viejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aliso Viejo
Price range (per night): RM795 - RM1,526
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transform your upcoming vacation or business trip into an inspiring journey when you stay at the Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel. Our resort-style hotel offers spacious guest rooms featuring contemporary furnishings, plush bedding, modern technologies and complimentary Wi-Fi. Let the stress melt away at R Spa, our full-service day spa, or enjoy a rewarding workout session with available personal training and nutrition counseling at ClubSport, our state-of-the-art fitness center. Our Renaissance is home to Citrus Fresh Grill, offering flavorful New American dishes including a menu of healthy options under 485 calories. With 5,500 square feet of event space, our Aliso Viejo hotel is ideal for memorable weddings and corporate meetings. Guests at our hotel will enjoy easy access to Disneyland(R), Laguna Beach and a wide variety of upscale shopping and dining. Enjoy unexpected luxury and thoughtful amenities at every turn when you stay at the Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Clubsport Aliso Viejo Hotel Aliso Viejo
Renaissance Aliso Viejo
Aliso Viejo Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing