We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday getaway”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2017

To help me celebrate my 50+ birthday they sent me good champagne! Beautiful boutique hotel. A walk from the ferry do not bother with a cab. Right in the heart of Avalon. Good continental breakfast. Had organic choices. Big room with big beds. Pricey but if you have to buy airfare to go somewhere else, splurge on the hotel! Gave towels for the beach. Well appointed rooms. And a spa at the deck with beautiful views of the beach away from the crowd.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017

We have not yet stayed at the property yet but this review is for the incredible service I just received from Lucy who handles reservations for the hotel.

My fiance and I are visiting the island in a couple weeks for our honeymoon and I mentioned we're a bit short on funds (as we're paying for the wedding ourselves). I called asking about a moderate room and Lucy gave us wonderful service and advice on the best possible room we could book within our budget. Highly recommend this hotel based on Lucy's service alone (we were considering another hotel first but gave up after several unanswered rings). I work in Silicon Valley and have been comparing hotel prices and quality ratings for over a month. This is definitely the best deal on the island :). Can't wait to visit! Thanks for making our honeymoon even better, Lucy!

Room Tip: Call ahead to find about any specials!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregg M, Manager at Hotel Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you for your kind words. Lucy is always ready to help any guest have the best experience possible and we feel that our entire staff is like one big family at the Metropole. We look forward to you becoming part of it on your stay and we will do everything to make your honeymoon memorable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

I lived in L.A. for five years in the 80's and always thought a trip to Catalina sounded so romantic. I finally made it there for two nights (6/29 & 30) this past summer. I wish we had been able to stay for at least one more night. This hotel was perfect - in the middle of everything, yet set back a bit from the street. Our partial view balcony was nice (we never really sat out there, but there was a bit of a view.) We had 407, right off the elevator (good, because we had a lot of bags for the rest of our trip). But there was no elevator noise, as sometimes happens. The room was decorated in e boutique-hotel style, nice-sized and very comfortable, with a plush king bed. Nice, large bathroom. The staff was welcoming but unobtrusive. Because we entered and exited the hotel through the back from our arrival on, we really didn't see them except for during the buffet breakfast (very serviceable, though the only eggs they have are hard-boiled). There isn't much space to sit down to eat breakfast. I guess they expect you to take it up to your room... But we just ate in the lobby, as we wanted to quickly head out. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank 332Gail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregg M, Manager at Hotel Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you for your five star review, it makes all our hard work truly gratifying. We are thrilled to hear you felt our hotel was perfect, and that you enjoyed our staff and all the details of our property! (In the future, feel free to use our market place as seating for your breakfast). Please remind us of your review on your next visit (hopefully to include that third night) and we will have a special thank you awaiting your arrival...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

We recently spent our 4 day Honeymoon on Catalina Island and stayed in the Suite right off of the water at Hotel Metropole! The Room was clean and always freshened up in the afternoon welcoming us back. It was quiet besides usual traffic and people noise but how could you expect anything different? Keep the sliding door and windows closed and you can barely hear anything. We kept our blinds open all night to watch the sunrise each morning. They have a decent grab and go breakfast and offer wine and cheese in the evening. They are pretty much the half way point between Descanso beach and the Casino to the other end of the main street. You don't have to walk up any hills. I'm so glad we chose to stay here for our first time to Catalina!

Room Tip: Medium suites are on main street across from the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jessica George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregg M, Manager at Hotel Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

What a wonderful review! We are also glad u chose to stay with us on your first time in Catalina and on such a special occasion. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the action outside and the quiet inside, and of course the beautiful sunrises. We look forward to your next visit...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We had an outstanding stay at the Hotel Metropole. Lucy took great care to make sure we were booked in the wheelchair accessible room and that everythign was "right". It was. You can enter the hotel from the lower floor from the courtyard or from the second floor, which is street level. The accessible room is located right off the lobby, and gets some traffic, especially during breakfast in the mornings, but it's not terribly bothersome. The room itself is nicely appointed. The king bed was a little high to transfer in and out of, but manageable. The bathroom was nicely done. There was ample room to navigate around the toilet. And the shower was great - handheld, rain shower, and triple total body shower heads. Niiiiiice! And - get this- there were TWO showers in one, making it quite nice and easy to "shower with a friend". The vanity sink area was raised. While it solved the one problem of being able to get a wheelchair under the vanity (the plumbing was well routed to accommodate this), it did make the sinks a little high. I think we would have rated this room a little higher if the sinks weren't so dang hard to use.
The furniture was very nice and the room was well appointed as a "seaside hotel". No complaints here!
Free breakfast. It wasn't very big, but was adequate. One day, one of the hotel staff happened to bring in several boxes of Krispy Kreme donuts and offered them as part of the breakfast. This gesture of kindness was not overlooked. And anybody who knows Krispy Kreme would have appreciated this gesture. Yes, they were good!
And the price point was a good one. While we were there during "high season", the prices were not nearly as outlandish as some other hotels we looked at. Over all, this was a good deal for the money, especially for a wheelchair accessible room.
Hotel Metropole -- and the accessible room - were a lovely place to stay in Avalon on Catalina Island. We'd do it again.
The staff will offer you complimentary towels for spending the day on the beach. Just return them to the front desk when you come back in.
By the way, be sure to tip the staff well - they really do go out of their way to make your visit enjoyable!

Room Tip: Good wheelchair accessibility in the room. Entrances from "streel level" on two floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skipjack906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregg M, Manager at Hotel Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you for the thoughtful review. We are happy to hear that we met your wheelchair accessible needs and you enjoyed the hotel, your room and our breakfast! Lucy is wonderful and we love hearing that our staff went out of their way to make your stay Krispy Kreme "sweeter"! We hope you will come again soon, and we can make it a five star stay next time, as we always strive to make our guest's visits perfect!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.3 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,141 reviews
0.1 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
658 reviews
0.0 km away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
307 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Address: 205 Crescent Ave., P.O. Box 1900, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#8 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: RM808 - RM1,288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropole is the finest beachfront hotel on the island. VIP Oceanfront suites, jacuzzi baths, balconies, fireplaces available, complimentary continental breakfast, 40" flat screen TV's, free wifi, L'Occitane products, Frette linens, slippers & robes, rooftop jacuzzi and sundeck, private 2-bedroom Beach House, A Touch of Heaven day spa. The Metropole Market Place is just downstairs: miniature bowling, XT theater and arcade, Metropole Cafe, Coney's famous eatery, M Restaurant by ZEST, full service beauty salon, jewelry, clothing, unique gifts, gallery, special coffees and freshly baked treats, natural products and holistic remedies. Our property has everything you need for an amazing vacating on Catalina island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Avalon
Hotel Metropole Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing