We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (645)
Filter reviews
645 results
Traveller rating
297
241
62
30
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
297
241
62
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator grocery store catalina island continental breakfast family room first floor top floor would definitely stay here again air conditioning instant oatmeal nice balcony view room queen bed your luggage orange juice street noise great room
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 645 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was the only hotel left when we were booking, but it ended up being perfect. It's in the perfect location to walk anywhere you may want to go. The patio on the second floor was a nice place to sit during the day. The room was clean and neat. They let us check in early because our room was ready. The wifi didn't really work, but we expected that based on the welcome email. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robynfenstermacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy H, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Robyn,
Thanks for this beautiful review of Catalina Island Inn. Avalon is a great destination to plan for or to just "wing it". We appreciate your recognition of our clean comfortable rooms, convenient location and the guest balcony. Our Fall Fling package (now available) and our Best of Winter package in November save travelers time and money. Our staff can answer questions about almost anything Catalina related. An island getaway is an adventure unlike other in southern California. Come back again soon and often.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Had a lovely stay for our anniversary. The room was clean and the staff courteous and accommodating. Nice touch is they let us leave our luggage and explore the island after we checked out and before our ferry departed.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy H, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks Joe---
We're so glad that you enjoyed your anniversary at Catalina Island Inn. We love making special occasions memorable for our guests. All of our rooms and suites are now up to 50% off Sunday-Thursday. Weekends fill up faster this fall with fantastic events like wine mixers, concerts, water sports and food events. Catalina is always a great destination. Its just an hour away by boat (with views of sea lions, dolphins and whales) or 20 minutes by helicopter (a high flying adventure). Call us or book online and we'll hook you up. Come play and stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

We've been coming to Catalina for a zillion years. We've stayed in many of the hotels in Avalon. The Catalina Island Inn is our favorite. Great location, comfortable rooms, and the view is spectacular!

We love staying here. We just wish they had an elevator!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 277tracih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy H, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear Traci---
Thanks so much for this beautiful review of Catalina Island Inn. We're so glad you value the hotel's convenient location, clean comfort and great views. We remodeled the ground floor retail area to create 5 fantastic Private Patio Fireplace rooms and suites so that guests wouldn't have to climb the stairs. Room 105 is ADA compliant and all of these rooms have gorgeous bathrooms and distinctive features not found on the upper floors. Our staff is always ready to assist travelers with getting luggage up the stairs. Our guest balcony on the 2nd floor is a great spot to take a minute to rest along the way or relax with coffee or a cocktail. We have a rest room near the lobby which guests can use rather than climbing stairs for a "pit stop." We cherish loyal customers like you and appreciate your patronage. Catalina calls visitors back with its beauty, serenity and unique charm. Let us help you plan your next island getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

I can't say enough about this charming hotel right in the middle of town. It's super convenient whether you want to hit Descanso, walk to any of the restaurants, or go on one of the many tours available, and at least for a few more months, the Vons is right next door.

I do have to warn you, the rooms are SMALL and most of the rooms are upstairs with no elevator. That was not a problem for us, and I would heartily recommend room 310. It was the largest queen, I believe. We had a decent water view out of our window, the rooms are immaculate and the service was top-notch. We were celebrating my husband's birthday, and not long after we checked in, there was a knock on the door and we were presented with a bottle of champagne on ice. They offer coffee and pastries in the morning, but to be honest, we never took advantage, preferring to get lattes right around the corner.

What really surprised me, with a hotel this small, was how quiet it was. We were there for three nights, The first night we slept with the window open, and I was awakened at 2am from people leaving the bars in town. But the next two nights, we closed the windows and never heard a thing. The rooms have fans and air conditioning so it was quite comfortable. I know the hotel was full but I never heard anything from the rooms next to us. I would recommend getting a top floor room, as ours, at least, had raised ceilings which gave a sense of more space.

All of the people working at the front desk were always so friendly and accommodating. We arrived around 10:30 and since check in time wasn't until 2pm, they invited us to store our bags, gave us beach towels, let us change, and they actually called us at 12:30 to let us know our room was ready to go. Any questions we had, they had answers. They called taxis for us, had a few DVDs to choose from (There are players in the room and they did tell us there was a place to rent from down the street at Sugarloaf) and always with a cheery smile.

We looked at a few other hotels during our stay, but I feel confident that we will come back here again and again.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a top floor room, as ours, at least, had raised ceilings which gave a sense of more space.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cathie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy H, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear Cathie ---
Thank you for this wonderful review of Catalina Island Inn. We want guests to have an honest and accurate idea of what to expect and appreciate your comments describing the details of your stay. The Basic Queen, Classic Queen and Cruise Ship Twin rooms are the smallest, but they are cleverly laid out to maximize space. The sink/vanity in all Queen and Classic King rooms is in the main part of the room. These rooms have a stall shower that is clean and has good water pressure. For a bigger bathroom, we recommend the King Balcony rooms (on the 2nd, 3rd or 4th floor), King suites or any of our Family rooms (which have multiple beds). Since each room is unique we urge guests to ask us about the floor plan, location within the building or furnishings. For entertaining or lounging in a larger space, our King Suites on the ground floor are spacious and spectacular. There's something for everybody in a variety of price points. We also offer travel packages that include round trip boat transportation and taxi transfers to and from the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon (and often!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

We stayed in a king balcony with a water view. The view was beautiful from the bedroom, but unfortunately, when we stepped onto the balcony to enjoy the water in the distance, we had a close-up view of Von's roof directly below the hotel. The sound of Von's roof fans overpowered us. We decided to go back to the room with the balcony door shut and enjoy the view from indoors. The staff was nice and the accommodations were clean.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N5475TCwilliamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy H, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Thanks for sharing your review of Catalina Island Inn. There are buildings between the hotel and the waterfront area. The King Harbor view rooms on the 4th floor have the best views. The 3rd floor King Balcony rooms are described as a Partial View because top of the Von's store is in the foreground. During summer, the HVAC system on the Von's roof is working at full capacity and there is some noise. We apologize if you were disturbed by it. The good news is that a brand new Von's store is under construction on Sumner Street (one block east). It will be opening in 2019 and it will be big and beautiful. Our first floor King Private Patio rooms and suites are also a great option for guests. The suites are 460 sq ft with a 220 sq ft patio area. All rooms and suites are up to 50% off Sunday-Thursday and we have random weekend sales with 25% discounts. We hope you'll be back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews