We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Residence Hotel
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Reviewed 16 December 2012

My wife and I recently spent our 40th anniversary in Aspen, Co. After careful research we choose the Residence Hotel in the center of old downtown Aspen. The eight theme oriented rooms with gorgeous antiques and historical motifs give the small hotel a magical quality. Extremely spacious (up to 1600 square feet) suits are available. The owner, Terry Butler, and staff provided my wife and I the best accommodations we've experienced in lifetime of extensive travel.

Room Tip: Visit the Residence's Web Sight and decide for yourself. It is also very easy to contact the ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfwolter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2012

The Residence Hotel is one of the most thoughtfully appointed hotels I've ever experienced. It is filled with fantastic antiques, & was truly one of the most beautiful places to stay. Aspen is a magical town to visit & The Residence Hotel is a gem.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residenceaspen, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Thank you Rhonda for your kind words about the hotel. It really is a gem at the center of Aspen.
Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Had a terrific time in Aspen and loved my hotel. The rooms are not cookie cutter they are all charmingly decorated with an European look. And, I can't say enough about the location - close to shopping, dining and the mountain. It is a great town and a unique hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residenceaspen, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Yes we love our European decor, but also our Colonial Indian suite, The Raj, and the Oriental decorations spicing up the European rooms. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review and come back for another stay soon.
Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed at the Residence for our first trip to Aspen and absolutely LOVE it there. It is perfectly located and we were able to walk anywhere we wanted to go including all the great dining and shopping in downtown Aspen. The decor was so unique-- so elegant but also welcoming at the same time. A great change from a lot of the bigger, bland hotels we've stayed at in other tourist towns like DC, Destin, etc... what other hotel comes with a free cute dog?? We had a great time!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residenceaspen, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Lauren, can't wait to see you in January. Thanks for writing us a review. And by the way, loved the highlights!
Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Great place to stay. Beautiful lininens and appointments. So convenient to all. Great Hostess. As unique as anything I have ever stayed in and I have stayed ther several times and all of the roooms are great. She has a wonderful dog and cannot be more hospitable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJS-NYC-Attorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence-Hotel, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to say what a "nice place" we are.
Hope to see you next year.
Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 km away
The Limelight Hotel
0.5 km away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
518 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Aspen Meadows Resort
0.3 km away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
4 km away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#13 of 35 in Aspen
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Hotel

Address: 305 South Galena Street, Aspen, CO 81611-1817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#10 Family Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: RM2,050 - RM5,199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Residence Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the base of Ajax mountain in Aspen, one of America's finest ski resorts; and conveniently positioned to overlook the town's storied village, The Residence Hotel serves as a warm sanctuary for guests with distinguished tastes. Here, your stay is as much about comfort and relaxation, as it a global adventure through history. This small and charming Boutique Hotel contains seven suites and apartments, each one individually decorated in European flavor. The high ceilings offer the spaciousness rarely found in a ski resort. The bedrooms are furnished with Ralph Lauren linens and down-filled duvets. Original antique furnishings and accent pieces adorn each room, while walls are covered with museum quality artwork and designer fabrics. Most suites have wood-burning fireplaces. Crystal chandeliers, Persian rugs, marble bathrooms, hard wood floors and large overstuffed sofas and chairs give each room the comforts of a luxurious home. With two decades of loyal and distinguished guests that span from entertainers and athletes to artists and politicians, somehow the hotel still maintains a subtle mystique as the city's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing