We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not flexible with schedule”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Residence Hotel
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Was not able to stay here, I tried to cancel my reservation 3 weeks in advance, said they could not cancel in less than one month, they kept my deposit and charged me for 3 nights (at a premium). This was early October, not a busy time. So I don't recommend booking at the hotel. My booking was not through some "special" rate.

Room Tip: Do not recommend booking at this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T B, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

I'm very sorry Mr. Gerry B. could not stay the weekend of Oct. 7th, 2017.
My hotel only has 7 suites and during Sept and Oct. we are almost full. Even one late cancellation can be difficult to resell, as we do not have walk in traffic.
I told Mr. B. that if I could resell it, I would refund his money......(I am the only who does that in town.) but, I asked him to stay in touch with me.
He did not stay in touch with me.
His room rate was 199 per night, the lowest rate I have during the whole year.
My cancellation policy is very clear.
It is the same policy every hotel in town has.
I am sorry he couldn't stay, he never told me why he was cancelling.
I was not able to rebook his suite.
I am such a small operation, but I was going to offer him a credit for a year when he called back.....but after this unkind review, I have changed my mind.
Sorry ,
Terry Butler
Owner/operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017

Terry is such an amazing host. The location is a plus, you can pretty much walk to all the nice restaurants in the locality.
The suites are very cozy , eclectic and doesn't give a feel of a commercial hotel which is nice if you are looking for an experience in addition to just the stay. I would come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Purva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T B, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

I really liked that family. I hope they come back.
xoxo,
Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Well we have been staying at the Residence Hotel for 5 years now and it just seems to be better every year. We love the location, the amenities and the owner is unbelievable.

I would never stay at another location than with Terry and her staff.

I have been going to Aspen for (40) forty years every September and was so lucky to find this place 5 years ago. It isa true jewel in the ever expanding Aslen market.

Give it a try...you will be extremely pleased.

Thanks again
Frank & Hattie Kennedy

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank handfkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T B, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

I love the Kennedy family. I am thrilled they found me 5 years ago and it always makes me happy knowing they are returning in Sept.
Great family.
Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

One of a kind accommodations. Lovely decor and ambiance. Would definitely stay again. Terry, the owner was available and helpful with suggestions. Loved the pictures in the lobby of Terry and all her celebrity friends.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marion T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T B, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review. Come see me again soon.
Thanks,
Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

It's a funky spot. Feels kind of a brothel. Parking is a drag, if u need access to your car it's a bad choice. Overall, different but nice. The owner hangs in the foyer and greeted us and others. I think there are only 8 or 9 rooms. All have a different feel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 km away
The Limelight Hotel
0.3 km away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
0.5 km away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Aspen Meadows Resort
0.3 km away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.2 km away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Hotel

Address: 305 South Galena Street, Aspen, CO 81611-1817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#10 Family Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: RM1,020 - RM5,332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Residence Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the base of Ajax mountain in Aspen, one of America's finest ski resorts; and conveniently positioned to overlook the town's storied village, The Residence Hotel serves as a warm sanctuary for guests with distinguished tastes. Here, your stay is as much about comfort and relaxation, as it a global adventure through history. This small and charming Boutique Hotel contains seven suites and apartments, each one individually decorated in European flavor. The high ceilings offer the spaciousness rarely found in a ski resort. The bedrooms are furnished with Ralph Lauren linens and down-filled duvets. Original antique furnishings and accent pieces adorn each room, while walls are covered with museum quality artwork and designer fabrics. Most suites have wood-burning fireplaces. Crystal chandeliers, Persian rugs, marble bathrooms, hard wood floors and large overstuffed sofas and chairs give each room the comforts of a luxurious home. With two decades of loyal and distinguished guests that span from entertainers and athletes to artists and politicians, somehow the hotel still maintains a subtle mystique as the city's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing