We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
RM 1,706
Hotels.com
Priceline
RM 1,707
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,157)
Filter reviews
1,159 results
Traveller rating
767
200
102
37
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
767
200
102
37
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews taco shack family cottage dirty martini garden cottage diamond member private beach is beautiful the cottages golf cart the main house minute boat ride main restaurant sea lice paddle boards fitness center ambergris caye bug spray tacos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 1,159 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2023

This hotel is amazing! I was here for a girls trip and it was more than I expected.

The property is very big. There is some ongoing construction, but the parts that are completed are beautiful and well appointed.

The cottage (room) we got was super cute, clean and the bed was very comfortable. The only suggestion I have is to gave an electrical kettle in the room for hot water and a cozy cup of tea at night.

The private beach on its own is worth staying here. The beach is clean, tranquil and has water activities complimentary for guests. What I loved was that it was private and only for hotel guests. The sunsets were stunning.

The best part of all was the Staff. Everyone was professional, polite, friendly and tried their best to go above and beyond. I want to give a special shout out to Duane (private beach), Elbert (Boat Driver) and Miguel (private beach) for going above and beyond to make our stay memorable and going out of their way to make us feel special and valued.

I highly recommend this property. It has chill vibes but also incredibly romantic. I am planning to come back with my significant other. Thank you!

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MarieMa418
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 November 2023

The property is beautiful, despite the ongoing construction for the past few years. Overall, the staff is friendly. Miguel at the restaurant made breakfast a pleasure each morning. Both gentlemen who operated the boat were amiable, sharing fun facts during the ride. The food offered on the property was pretty good.

Before departure from Belize city for the water taxi, we messaged the hotel directly through the app, ensuring our taxi arranged would be there to pick us up. Unfortunately, there was no response for the duration of the water taxi(30 minutes). We called the hotel when we landed and, after a 10-minute hold, arranged for a taxi to be sent.

Upon arrival, we arrived earlier than the check-in time and wanted to visit the private beach club. Despite arriving 5 minutes before the advertised departure time of the boat, we were told it had already left, requiring guests to be there 10 minutes earlier, which seemed inconsistent. The next day, arriving 15 minutes early, the boat departed 5 minutes after the scheduled time.

I had inquired twice via email about cabanas but was never informed about the additional charge, despite directly asking for this information.

Despite the cabana fee, we decided to book for two hours to start our honeymoon. However, during our time there, no one checked on us, and we didn't receive the complimentary pillows which is the only benefit with the cabana.

We had booked a spa appointment in October but were only informed about its closure for renovations on the day of our scheduled appointment because we went to front desk because we couldn’t find the spa. We were then directed to schedule with Victoria House(a resort down the road), which was more expensive than the resort's spa menu by about 20%. There was no apology for the inconvenience and instead I felt as though we were have to know that.
I had initially emailed two weeks before arrival to schedule a taxi for pickup and drop-off, but when checking two days before checkout, I discovered it hadn't been scheduled. I had to arrange it myself.

The room's TV was of poor quality, making it difficult to load movies or use apps like YouTube or cable due to frequent pauses every 6-8 seconds.
Regarding the water supply, the hotel provides two glass canters for drinking water, but once they’re empty they must be filled at the lobby drinking fountain, which is not the biggest deal.

However, they only fit the lobby's drinking fountain at an awkward angle, allowing for only half the stream. It would be more convenient to offer extra bottles at the front desk to exchange.
‘Towel Tokens’ must be exchanged though available at outside pools and the beach club, which is not the biggest deal, but there wasn't always staff present to return the 'Towel Tokens' for guests leaving the pool area. So you have to stand at the towel stand until staff from the restaurant notice you so they can go find the person that can give you your towel tokens back.

The policy of charging $50 USD for unreturned 'towel tokens' and room keys upon checkout seemed excessive for a high-tier property as well and is more akin to a hostel or motel.

Additionally, the advertised food stands on-site were not associated with the hotel, requiring cash payment. Moreover, during our stay, only half of them were open, and the advertised ice cream shop appeared closed, despite still being advertised.

On the day of checkout, we asked the front desk if we could leave our bags for an hour and a half while we had breakfast before departing. Initially told it was no issue, we later noticed our bags missing from the front.

After inquiring, there was uncertainty about their location and front desk said they would call to confirm. We checked back 15 minutes later where there was a moment of shock on their face before they said they would call and I waited there to ensure we knew the location.

Mahogany Bay falls short on multiple areas and even this review is cut short to ensure I am within the character limit.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Tanner R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2023

Forced to switch rooms to less quality accommodation despite assurances at booking and at arrival. Staff dropped the ball on airport transport. Had to arrange on our own and nearly missed flight. We confirmed twice before but no follow through from staff. Staff well trained to smile and nod but not to get things done.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
1  Thank cb818377
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2023 via mobile

This was my first time leaving the country and Belize did not disappoint. Mahogany Bay was like a dream from the moment we arrived to after we left. Upon arriving to a beautiful tucked away resort we were escorted out of our taxi (that was paid for by the resort) into the Great Hall for check in. A staff member met us with a welcoming smile and a refreshing drink. We were then taken to our rooms where a member of the hospitality team brought in our luggage, we didn’t have to touch a thing. They also let us know they offer room service if we were too tired to go out to eat. The room was even more beautiful than pictures, and decorated for our honeymoon with wine and flowers. The space was calm and romantic. The Bahama Shutters were the perfect touch! The details in our little cottage were amazing, mood lighting and open ceilings were perfectly designed to let in some of the tropic vibes. The best part of the cottage was our huge wooden and galvanized steel shower with a rainfall shower head and a meticulously placed window to mimic an outdoor beach shower. The food at the Verandah was delicious. I highly recommend the Stuffed Fried Jacks with their fresh OJ or watermelon juice. We had the pleasure of having Mr. Miguel almost every morning for breakfast during our stay. He was one of the best parts of the whole trip. He greeted us with a smile and good morning each time he sat us for breakfast. His hospitality and generosity was unmatched. He truly is a ray of sunshine, and such an asset to Mahogany Bay. His smile was infectious and made everyone beam from ear to ear when he interacted with the guests. He even moved us from breakfast to the most stunning pool once we were finished and continued taking care of us. We took full advantage of our pool days enjoying the beautiful saltwater pool and great sunshine. Our last night we stayed in the pool watching the sunset and in perfect synchronization the string lights light up the pool decks seating area and this royal blue hue lit up the pool. This is where we met Ken, another great member of the wait staff. He helped make our last dinner great! If the relaxing pool with cabanas and music isn’t your vibe, the private beach club was only a few minutes away via boat. My husband and I spent time there as well in the waterfront hammocks, where the waiters came to take our lunch order!! I could go on for hours about this amazing place but nonetheless this resort will forever hold a special place in my heart!!

Room tip: Ask for Miguel at the Verandah! There is an office for excursions on site Try the ice cream stand Rent a golfcart
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alexus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2023

The main house is terrific for watching glorious sunsets, however, the bar and restaurant service is in need of staff training.
Went to the new restaurant, Poolside bar and restaurant. So disappointed. It is a wonderful looking venue at night, it really is, but the service is poor and has to be one of the most expensive places on the island. A glass of wine and some sticky fettuccine, $80 BZ before tax and gratuity.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank kentcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews