We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Karen F
Carlsbad, California

Absolutely The Best Place On The Island!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 May 2023
The accommodations are out of this world, Playa De Sala is without a doubt the very best hotel on the island. If you enjoy peaceful, friendly, first rate hotel and restaurants - you will not be disappointed. The room was stunning, the view equally stunning, the food was so delicious and staff so kind and friendly, we enjoyed every day and every meal! It was so nice to be on the lagoon side of the island south where there are not sargassum to deal with, it truly is the perfect location. Forest, the owner, is an absolute sweetheart angel and made our stay truly amazing. We have told all of our friends what an incredible paradise resort this is and highly highly recommend. This is the perfect place for a romantic get away, as a solo, or with friends.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Forest sala, Owner at Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only, responded to this review
Responded 4 May 2023
We appreciate you taking the time to write up such a lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes it is one of the perfect locations on the island as we don't get the stinky smelling sea grass. We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
RM 2,105
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    RM 2,105
  • Expedia.com
    RM 2,104
  • Priceline
    RM 2,105
3.9 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 773
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    RM 773
  • Agoda.com
    RM 712
  • Expedia.com
    RM 773
5.4 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
RM 1,219
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,218
  • Vio.com
    RM 1,147
  • Booking.com
    RM 1,219
2.8 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 1,033
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,007
  • Agoda.com
    RM 804
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,007
9.7 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
RM 2,391
RM 1,893
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    RM 2,151
  • Booking.com
    RM 2,391
  • Priceline
    RM 2,391
6.3 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Enjoy that view and the sea breeze!!!
Expedia.com
RM 615
RM 554
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    RM 554
  • Booking.com
    RM 584
  • Priceline
    RM 615
4.4 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 1,073
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,073
  • Vio.com
    RM 718
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,073
5.6 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
RM 1,500
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    RM 1,500
  • Agoda.com
    RM 1,388
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,500
14.2 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
RM 1,414
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Preferred Hotels
    RM 1,402
  • Agoda.com
    RM 1,300
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,870
11.9 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 1,335
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    RM 1,335
  • Trip.com
    RM 954
  • Vio.com
    RM 954
26.5 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in San Pedro
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
148
0
3
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
148
0
3
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar great dane spa room boat bar wood room beautiful hotel tarpon bay secluded oasis anniversary get away stayed nearby beautiful sunset view unique rooms modern design southern tip golf cart enjoyed days unforgettable stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2023 via mobile

The resort is very small. Only 5 units and it is about 20 minutes from town where everything is. If you like quiet then this is the place for you but the pool is so small and half of it is under the shade. The website is deceiving the way they photographed the pool. The beach is not swimmable. It is black, murky water. Our room (Wood Room) was tiny and we had no privacy when using the bathroom. There is literally a wooden framed box-like area at the foot of the bed that doesn’t go up to the ceiling and the toilet is inside. The staff, however, was so friendly and helpful… we really loved them. The continental breakfast only consisted of two scrambled eggs with a piece of toast and a few little pieces of fruit, along with coffee or tea but if you wanted a refill on either, they charged for it. They have a roof deck that you can eat at and the food was just average… nothing to speak of. We had to go into town every day for breakfast lunch and dinner. If you stay here you definitely need to rent a golf cart for the week to get around. You are literally in the middle of nowhere.

Room tip: Rent a golf cart for your stay.The only beach worth going to is Secret Beach & it is an hr & half away. Stay closer to town.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kimsalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Forest sala, Owner at Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2023

Thank you for your feedback. Im sorry to hear you were not happy about the room you picked. I wish you would have said something when you were here . We could have looked into moving you into a different room as they are all different.
It's always best to say something right away. Our goal is to ensure that you enjoy your time with us.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2023

We just wrapped up our stay here for my birthday. This was our first stay at a small boutique hotel and it was an amazing experience. The hotel staff was on point and took great care of us. The food and drinks were also amazing. I would definitely recommend them to family and friends!!

Room tip: It is about 20-30 minutes golf cart ride to the city.
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dmbowman2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Forest sala, Owner at Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2023

This is fantastic news to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your birthday with us. We appreciate your positive feedback. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we can't wait to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2023

The perfect little oasis for a trip to Belize. The hotel arranged transportation for us from the airport ($30USD from SPR) making our arrival seamless and stress-free. Upon arrival we were greeted with welcome drinks, and the staff was so friendly, attentive, and informative! We truly felt like family.

We were told about all the amenities our hotel had to offer, as well as options for golf cart rentals and recommendations for a trip into town.

A few of my favorite features:
- beautiful/cozy rooms with complimentary coffee/filtered water/ and continental breakfast
- complimentary paddle boards, kayaks, bicycles
- cute little infinity pool to dip into and cool off
- happy hour
- a rooftop pool or unique historical boat bar (with swings!)
- delicious food menu, (highly recommend the pork chop for dinner and the eggs Benedict for breakfast, oh and the margaritas are the best on the island!)

This hotel is a MUST STAY if you're looking for a quiet, tranquil and refreshing vacay.

Room tip: Hotel is located 4 miles away from town, so keep this in mind. Hotel is very helpful with this as well
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wanderlustingfashion
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Forest sala, Owner at Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2023

It was so lovely to have you stay with us and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write us a lovely review. We all hope to see you again soon.
Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2023 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay here. It was secluded and spectacular but the staff made getting every need met easy.

You can get taxi pickups both ways upon request, we were able to book a golf cart delivered to the hotel before we woke up, and we were picked up for our snorkel trip.

At night, the serenity of the bay is lovely and even during the day a paddle board or kayak trip is likely to be secluded with few or no motorized boats.

The cooking was phenomenal and the bartending was great.

Understand that you will feel far away from the town and get the peace and quiet you want (if that’s what you want) with easy access to downtown if you want a more rambunctious respite.

The rooms are modern and minimal which was perfect for us. And there was ample privacy.

Food, drinks, view, staff - all a 10/10.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BenH4334
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Forest sala, Owner at Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2023

Thank you so much for your feedback .We really appreciate your kind words .
We have to say It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are so grateful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We all hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2023

Our stay at Playa de Sala was perfect. The location is a little far from town, but it was worth it. It was like having our own private beach. We stayed in the Travertine room which gave us a large porch with lots of privacy. The bed was very comfortable and I need a soft bed. My husband thought the bed was comfortable too. The staff was well trained and attentive. We loved the rooftop bar and restaurant. Melvin and Nathaniel took great credo us each night! Melissa is a great chef…we would have loved it if they changed up the dinner menu some. Our housekeeper was great too. We were therefor 10 days and weren’t ready to go home. The roads on the South end of Amergris Caye are terrible so expect that. The hotel offered to have a taxi pick us up and drop us at the airport. We rented a golf cart and that company met us at the airport (Isla Bonita), their service was amazing too. The Belizean people are lovely.

Room tip: Rent a golf cart. You don’t have to worry about the terrible smelling sea grass in the bay.
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 373rhondac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Forest sala, Owner at Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2023

We appreciate your feedback also for taking the time to write us a lovely review. We enjoyed having you stay with us. We hope to have you come stay with again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews