We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
MichaelFitz401
Basye, Virginia

Worth the journey to get there!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Jan 2024via mobile
We love the restaurant for lunch and dinner. The roof top bar and restaurant are open air and have amazing views of both sides of the island. The staff is very friendly and attentive and the food is excellent with a nice variety to choose from. The blackened snapper sandwich is my favorite! It is quite a journey to get to the 5 mile marker south but it is worth it for a great dining experience.
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: You need to climb stairs to the 3rd floor to get to the restaurant. There is also a beach bar....
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Forest sala, Owner at Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only, responded to this review
Responded 25 Jan 2024
We really appreciate your kind words Being a small business we truly value our customers.
It means the world to us to hear that you we happy.
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
RM 2,104
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 2,104
3.9 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 773
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 773
5.4 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 1,218
  • Hotels.com
  • Curio
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,218
2.8 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 1,007
RM 884
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,007
9.7 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Enjoy that view and the sea breeze!!!
Tripadvisor
RM 554
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 554
  • Booking.com
4.4 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 2,151
RM 1,992
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 2,151
  • Booking.com
6.3 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 1,073
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,073
5.6 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
RM 1,500
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
14.2 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 966
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 966
10.8 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,870
  • Preferred Hotels
    RM 1,402
  • Booking.com
11.9 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in San Pedro
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
148
0
3
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
148
0
3
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar great dane spa room boat bar wood room beautiful hotel tarpon bay secluded oasis anniversary get away stayed nearby beautiful sunset view unique rooms modern design southern tip golf cart enjoyed days unforgettable stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2024

I struggled with this review. On the one hand, I loved the architecture of the building and the furnishings & layout of the rooms (there are only 5 in the whole place). Ours had a rustic western theme! The shower even has a door directly out to the balcony (perhaps to flash the passers-by?). I also liked the “adults only” policy, making for a very quiet stay. And there’s a chill vibe to the place. The manager, Mary, was extremely friendly, outgoing, and helpful. She even greeted us with warm towels after our return from rainy evening – who at a big resort would do that? On the downside, however, the place is located in a swampy area quite far (5+ miles) from San Pedro accessible only via a very rocky/muddy dirt road. And then there are the mosquitoes, especially in the late afternoon & early evening when they are just unrelenting. Billions of them. Everywhere. Aside from breakfast, we had only two meals there — which were very expensive and rather unremarkable — but dinner left us with lots of bites. As for breakfast, eggs and pancakes were warm at best and the coffee also cools fast here. We had the rest of our meals elsewhere, requiring us to rent a golf cart to escape the swamp and its swarms of hungry mosquitoes.

So, like I said, I’m conflicted — I give it a 5 (“Excellent”) for the room and staff and a 0 (“Terrible”) for the location and bugs. So I’ll average my scores and give it a 3 (“Average”), rounding up.

Room tip: Bring lots and lots of bug repellent. And also lots of After Bite, since no matter how much Deet you apply, you'll still get bitten.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BabyBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Forest sala, Owner at Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2024

Reading this review sounds like my manager and my staff did everything they could to make sure you had a wonderful vacation.
We do supply bug spay and sunscreen.Its very unfortunate that you rated the establishment terrible due to its location ,bugs and dirt roads.
It seems like Belize might not have been the place for you. San Pedro has dirt roads and bugs and if your not up for a little adventure this would not be the place for you.
Im happy that you liked the architecture and your room.
I wish you all the best in you future adventures.
Hope you will give Belize another opportunity.
Warm and sunny Regards
Forest Sala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2023 via mobile

This was an incredible stay!

First, the owner, Forest, is an absolute gem. She was so helpful, kind, and informative throughout our stay that we did not want to leave. There are many helpful suggestions in the hotel information binders, but for even more suggestions for the best places to go or best food to eat, just check with her! We also won money in the weekly hotel raffle on our second night - it was awesome having a little extra pocket change to explore with!
She also helped me set up the most AMAZING massage I’ve ever had! (Forest, if you see this, help me out with finding her on trip advisor so I can give her a good review too :) )

We arrived in a torrential downpour and Raf (the most amazing Jack of all trades, head of Maintenance) grabbed our bags and shoo-ed us away from helping. He was an absolute delight to get to know.
Melisa and Beth (and others I didn’t get the names of) were so incredibly sweet and accomodating whenever we asked for menu items from the lunch or dinner menu when they weren’t *supposed* to be available.

Izzi and Melvin at the bar were SO dope! We loved chatting with them almost on a daily basis. They make the perfect team! Izzi is so high energy and fun and Melvin is such a warm and funny guy, we barely wanted to leave the hotel bar or super awesome “boat bar” - be sure to ask about the crazy backstory of the boat bar and hang out on their really cute swings while you’re at it!

We stayed in the Spa Room (there are only five rooms) and it was heaven!! It was a tad small but more than made up for in charm and that tub!!!

Overall, we would definitely stay here again. It’s a little removed from the downtown area but that made for a very relaxing stay, away from all the noise in San Pedro.

10/10 highly recommend!

Room tip: utilize ownership, staff, and locals for helpful suggestions when exploring ambergris and Belize. Locals know better than the internet does!
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Taylor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Forest Sala, Owner at Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2023

Hey Taylor,
Thanks so much for the review-- we LOVED having y'all stay with us!!
We will see you on your next trip to Belize!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2023

My daughter, myself and our Aussie stayed for 3 days and literally were the only people staying there. It was amazing, the dog raced up and down the beach and in and out of the water for hours. The room was sea facing and had amazing sun rises. Melissa the Chef was great and no words for the roof top bar tender and how accommodating he was for us. There was no ice machine so you will have to request, it has a small fridge/coffee and tea maker and a daily breakfast that was excellent, I would recommend the scrambled eggs and fresh fruit and the portions were huge. One this on a heads up if you order coffee with breakfast you will be charged extra. This location is quiet but isolated and far from town via golf cart, at least 30 minutes. The beach is well groomed and everyone that works there was amazing. One thing I can say is there is an extra charge even if your dog is a service dog and not a lot of activity. The menu is limited but Melissa is very gracious in making other items if they have the ingredients. I would recommend this hotel if you want peace, quiet and good service but not ideal for families that want to be busy and doing activities. We tend to be foodies and San Pedro has so many amazing restaurants next time we will stay closer to town on paved roads.

Room tip: The pool is not a running infinity pool and very small
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Forest sala, Owner at Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2023

We really enjoyed having you stay with us! You are all so lovely it was sad to see you go. Molly your dog was so amazing we enjoyed talking care of her for you in the day while you were gone. We do our best to ensure you have a wonderful stay. Our kitchen is always willing to cook you something different due to dietary reasons. We have the full breakfast menu, lunch menu, Boat bar menu,dinner menu and the lobster menu.
There is coffee in your room and downstairs in the kitchen that is free of charge. If you ask for our espresso ,americano , cappuccino or latte that is a charge. Thats the Italian espresso.
I hope you still enjoyed the pool with infinity pump not running. It was turned off.
I hope to see you all again soon.
Much love .


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2023

Playa de Sala is something out of a fairytale. It is run by a lady named Forrest, who really knows her stuff. I stayed in two different rooms and they were both very clean and gorgeous. The staff here is very friendly and looks after your every wish from golf cart rentals to help you get around to snorkelling adventures. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank A1207AJjasonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Forest Sala, Owner at Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2023

You're too kind Jason. The staff and myself really enjoyed having you stay with us. We appreciate your amazing review such kind words.
We look forward to seeing you again as your a part of the family now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2023

Where do I even begin...
After spending a few days close to the town in San Pedro all I wanted was somewhere quiet and private. I got to Playa De Sala and fell in LOOVEEE.. This place is the only reason I actually enjoyed San Pedro.
It felt like home, the rooms were so cute, the breeze was constant, the food was 10/10 every time..
The staff from check in to check out were amazing and so kind. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this boutique hotel. Its quiet and private, you wont want to leave.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank adventureswithray
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Forest Sala, Owner at Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2023

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. I really enjoyed our talks. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews