We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Brett H
Fort Smith, Arkansas
The Ultimate San Pedro Stay
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Feb 2024
All the employees treated us so well. The food is so good. If your looking for a secluded couples resort this is it. !!!! There's a private beach, where on the busy days we were one of 2 couples on the beach. With a waiter! I never ask for or suggest anything I didn't get. I watched the lobster catch of the day cleaned, which I had one immediatly. Best sunset spot. Forest has done a terrific job here.
Ps. If you want to learn river dance, step on a iguana on your back "private" deck". I got moves! Seriously there. Look in the vines.

Love this place
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: Relax
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
RM 2,666
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    RM 2,672
3.9 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 1,383
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,383
  • eDreams
2.8 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 789
RM 768
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    RM 789
5.4 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Enjoy that view and the sea breeze!!!
Tripadvisor
RM 627
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
4.4 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
RM 1,788
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
2.2 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Official Site
RM 2,438
RM 2,092
  • Tripadvisor
    RM 2,092
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 2,433
6.3 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 1,526
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
  • Algotels
14.2 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 657
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    RM 657
14.6 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    RM 977
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,218
9.7 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    RM 832
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,037
5.6 km from Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in San Pedro
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
148
0
3
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
148
0
3
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar great dane spa room boat bar wood room beautiful hotel tarpon bay secluded oasis anniversary get away stayed nearby beautiful sunset view unique rooms modern design southern tip golf cart enjoyed days unforgettable stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2024

This is a bit out of town - good. This is small - good. This is quiet - good. Playa de Sala is exactly what it says it is. On a small beach, this boutique hotel boasts 5 suites - each different, a small pool and a cozy beach with a bar made from a marooned boat. The staff is attentive but not pushy. The entire 4 days was perfect. Relaxing, unpretentious, good food, and magical sunsets.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bretandjina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Forest sala, Owner at Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

"Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with us. It was a pleasure serving you, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2024

I can’t say enough good things about this GEM of a hotel. My husband and I took a last minute trip to San Pedro and were worried we wouldn’t find accommodation in time but the staff was so helpful and generous in getting us a room so last minute! It was so magical to wake up right on the beautiful private beach. Also, beds SUPER comfy. 10/10 will be coming back!

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank maddieh261
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Forest sala, Owner at Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2024

We really enjoyed having you stay with us. We really hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2024 via mobile

We love the restaurant for lunch and dinner. The roof top bar and restaurant are open air and have amazing views of both sides of the island. The staff is very friendly and attentive and the food is excellent with a nice variety to choose from. The blackened snapper sandwich is my favorite! It is quite a journey to get to the 5 mile marker south but it is worth it for a great dining experience.

Room tip: You need to climb stairs to the 3rd floor to get to the restaurant. There is also a beach bar. Make reservations for dinner. It fills up.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MichaelFitz401
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Forest sala, Owner at Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2024

We really appreciate your kind words Being a small business we truly value our customers.
It means the world to us to hear that you we happy.
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2024

I struggled with this review. On the one hand, I loved the architecture of the building and the furnishings & layout of the rooms (there are only 5 in the whole place). Ours had a rustic western theme! The shower even has a door directly out to the balcony (perhaps to flash the passers-by?). I also liked the “adults only” policy, making for a very quiet stay. And there’s a chill vibe to the place. The manager, Mary, was extremely friendly, outgoing, and helpful. She even greeted us with warm towels after our return from rainy evening – who at a big resort would do that? On the downside, however, the place is located in a swampy area quite far (5+ miles) from San Pedro accessible only via a very rocky/muddy dirt road. And then there are the mosquitoes, especially in the late afternoon & early evening when they are just unrelenting. Billions of them. Everywhere. Aside from breakfast, we had only two meals there — which were very expensive and rather unremarkable — but dinner left us with lots of bites. As for breakfast, eggs and pancakes were warm at best and the coffee also cools fast here. We had the rest of our meals elsewhere, requiring us to rent a golf cart to escape the swamp and its swarms of hungry mosquitoes.

So, like I said, I’m conflicted — I give it a 5 (“Excellent”) for the room and staff and a 0 (“Terrible”) for the location and bugs. So I’ll average my scores and give it a 3 (“Average”), rounding up.

Room tip: Bring lots and lots of bug repellent. And also lots of After Bite, since no matter how much Deet you apply, you'll still get bitten.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BabyBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Forest sala, Owner at Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2024

Reading this review sounds like my manager and my staff did everything they could to make sure you had a wonderful vacation.
We do supply bug spay and sunscreen.Its very unfortunate that you rated the establishment terrible due to its location ,bugs and dirt roads.
It seems like Belize might not have been the place for you. San Pedro has dirt roads and bugs and if your not up for a little adventure this would not be the place for you.
Im happy that you liked the architecture and your room.
I wish you all the best in you future adventures.
Hope you will give Belize another opportunity.
Warm and sunny Regards
Forest Sala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2023 via mobile

This was an incredible stay!

First, the owner, Forest, is an absolute gem. She was so helpful, kind, and informative throughout our stay that we did not want to leave. There are many helpful suggestions in the hotel information binders, but for even more suggestions for the best places to go or best food to eat, just check with her! We also won money in the weekly hotel raffle on our second night - it was awesome having a little extra pocket change to explore with!
She also helped me set up the most AMAZING massage I’ve ever had! (Forest, if you see this, help me out with finding her on trip advisor so I can give her a good review too :) )

We arrived in a torrential downpour and Raf (the most amazing Jack of all trades, head of Maintenance) grabbed our bags and shoo-ed us away from helping. He was an absolute delight to get to know.
Melisa and Beth (and others I didn’t get the names of) were so incredibly sweet and accomodating whenever we asked for menu items from the lunch or dinner menu when they weren’t *supposed* to be available.

Izzi and Melvin at the bar were SO dope! We loved chatting with them almost on a daily basis. They make the perfect team! Izzi is so high energy and fun and Melvin is such a warm and funny guy, we barely wanted to leave the hotel bar or super awesome “boat bar” - be sure to ask about the crazy backstory of the boat bar and hang out on their really cute swings while you’re at it!

We stayed in the Spa Room (there are only five rooms) and it was heaven!! It was a tad small but more than made up for in charm and that tub!!!

Overall, we would definitely stay here again. It’s a little removed from the downtown area but that made for a very relaxing stay, away from all the noise in San Pedro.

10/10 highly recommend!

Room tip: utilize ownership, staff, and locals for helpful suggestions when exploring ambergris and Belize. Locals know better than the internet does!
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Taylor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Forest Sala, Owner at Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2023

Hey Taylor,
Thanks so much for the review-- we LOVED having y'all stay with us!!
We will see you on your next trip to Belize!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews