We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
RM 1,377
Fully refundable before Tue, 28 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
RM 1,378
Fully refundable before Tue, 28 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
RM 1,159
Fully refundable before Mon, 27 May
No fees just great deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Lesley C
Malvern Wells, United Kingdom

Not quite as it sounds

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Mar 2024via mobile
We stayed for two weeks in g6
On first impressions it is fabulous but as the week went on some things came to light!
The on site shop is terrible no fresh produce no fruit or vegetables not always bread.
No yogurts deserts or cakes. But there pizza was excellent.
The on site restaurant is expensive food Is good but very quick service to the point that we hadn’t finished our starters when our mains arrived - very embarrassing for the staff as there was obviously no room to put the food so they pushed our plates along to make room we wouldn’t believe what we saw !
We did not return.
They advised entertainment well there was a guitarist for one hour in the restaurant. Never saw any more any ware on site in two weeks
The pools are fab and there’s a lane swimming pool which we enjoyed every morning
Load music daily from 10,00 to 7.
The beach is also advertised as swimming but although they clean the sea weed daily it was very shallow and unattractive.
Our g6 condo had issues!
Every kitchen gadget you could need but no instructions also if you put the toaster cafe machine kettle on at once you blow a fuse!
They do your washing for you which was a added bonus and it’s returned the same day
We had 3 tv but couldn’t get a station on any needed a pin or to download an app!
Our beds look fab but incredibly noisy needed tightening up apparently - couldn’t help but notice how worn the sheets and unmatched pillowcases were. Fab bathrooms but towels to small.
Also the main bedroom I could not get any of the windows to stay up! They fell down with a bang very dangerous we thought if there were children there.
We loved the balcony and spent most of our time in the mornings and late evenings there watching the sun rise etc.
The maid service was excellent
We noticed quite a few dogs always on leads but allowed to foul anywhere! Most owners cleaned it up. But we was surprised they were allowed to toilet around the picnic tables etc then minutes later very young children were crawling on the very same spots! Disgusting.
Water spots and guards were very pleasant and helpful so were the bar staff.
Lots of people happy to break the pool rules and play there own load music bring there own bottles of booze and food to the poolside staff didn’t do anything about it! Quit annoying when they got load!
We would not return.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
RM 1,033
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,007
  • Agoda.com
    RM 804
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,007
0.3 km from Grand Caribe Belize
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
RM 2,391
RM 1,893
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    RM 2,151
  • Booking.com
    RM 2,391
  • Priceline
    RM 2,391
3.1 km from Grand Caribe Belize
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 773
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    RM 773
  • Agoda.com
    RM 712
  • Priceline
    RM 773
4.1 km from Grand Caribe Belize
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
RM 1,414
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,870
  • Agoda.com
    RM 1,300
  • Preferred Hotels
    RM 1,402
2.6 km from Grand Caribe Belize
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 1,500
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,500
  • Agoda.com
    RM 1,388
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,500
4.9 km from Grand Caribe Belize
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 2,105
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    RM 2,105
  • Expedia.com
    RM 2,104
  • Priceline
    RM 2,105
5.6 km from Grand Caribe Belize
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
RM 1,073
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,073
  • Vio.com
    RM 718
  • Booking.com
    RM 1,073
3.8 km from Grand Caribe Belize
Free Wifi
Pool
Enjoy that view and the sea breeze!!!
Expedia.com
RM 615
RM 554
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    RM 554
  • Booking.com
    RM 584
  • Priceline
    RM 615
5.1 km from Grand Caribe Belize
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
RM 1,219
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,218
  • Vio.com
    RM 1,147
  • Booking.com
    RM 1,219
6.7 km from Grand Caribe Belize
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 1,335
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    RM 1,335
  • Trip.com
    RM 954
  • Vio.com
17.4 km from Grand Caribe Belize
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in San Pedro
Reviews (1,096)
Filter reviews
1,096 results
Traveller rating
922
138
24
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
922
138
24
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar laundry service golf cart beach basket bedroom penthouse in town laundry done concierge desk grocery store beautiful resort truck stop ocean front main pool family vacation would highly recommend this resort full kitchen north side
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,096 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2024 via mobile

We loved our 6 nights at Grand Caribe! The service was so friendly and accomodating, the grounds were absolutely beautiful, the 2-bedroom condo was perfect for our family of 4 with two teenagers. The pools were active and fun without being a “party,” so we were able to relax. We didn’t appreciate it at first, being our first trip to Belize, but this really is an awesome location. It’s a quick 20 minutes to secret beach because you’re north of the bridge, 10 minutes to downtown San Pedro, but out of the fray and the hubbub of the busy areas. The restaurants on site were all very good, especially Rain and Aqua for dinner. The concierge was so helpful and booked us a great half-day fishing trip; we booked our other excursions (snorkeling and a trip to the mainland for cave tubing) through our travel agent so can’t speak to those. All in all, even the hard-to-please teenagers loved it here, and it was a great spring break week!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rebeccat736
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grand Caribe Belize, Sales at Grand Caribe Belize, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

rebeccat736- Wow, your review of Caribeville - Grand Caribe is fantastic! It sounds like you had an absolutely perfect spring break with us. We love hearing that the staff was friendly and accommodating, that makes all the difference! We are super happy that the 2-bedroom condo was ideal for your family of 4, and it's great that the pools offered a fun atmosphere while still being relaxing. We must agree with you the location is ideal! Having easy access to Secret Beach, San Pedro, and avoiding the busier areas is a huge plus. Knowing the on-site restaurants were delicious, especially Rain and Aqua, is fantastic information for future guests. It's wonderful that the concierge was so helpful with booking your fishing trip! We're especially happy to hear that even the teenagers enjoyed themselves! That can be the toughest crowd to please sometimes. We are so happy that we were able to provided the perfect spring break experience for everyone. Thanks so much for sharing your review! we look forward to seeing you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2024

Perfect room and focus for services was immaculate. Every question was answered and every request was addressed with smiling faces. Loved my stay at Grand Caribe and would highly recommend this resort for anyone planning a vacation at San Pedro.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ritabrata1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grand Caribe Belize, Sales at Grand Caribe Belize, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

Ritabrata1975- We are so happy to hear you had a lovely stay with us here at Caribeville - Grand Caribe Belize! Its awesome to hear that everything from the room itself to the service exceeded your expectations. A friendly and helpful staff can truly make a vacation. We appreciate you recommending Grand Caribe to future guests! Knowing our guests had a wonderful experience is the best compliment. Would you be willing to share any specifics about what you enjoyed most? This could help future guests decide on Grand Caribe and if it is the perfect fit for them.
From all of us here at CaribeVille - Grand Caribe - we thank you and look forward to seeing you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2024

This was the 2 nd half of our trip, the condo was beautiful, amenities were great. Snorkeling off the dock, for beginners would be ok, not much sea life. We booked our dives with them, and I would recommend booking with some other operator! We are all experienced divers and have dove in Belize before, but have never felt more unsafe than we did with their reccomendation. We were briefed on a dive , and they couldn’t get there , due to rough seas- and switched sites- no briefing- my kids went down first ( drop as soon as you get in due to the rough seas) my husband and I were next, my husband never made it down- but I couldn’t see the surface due to the turbulence. I went to the dive master and inquired ( at 80 ft) and he stated he was on the boat. Started the dive, stayed with my kids- then the dive master went ran out of air, grabbed my daughters safe 2nd… checked her air moved to my safe second, since her air was less. Wanted me to surface without my kids… I had them surface with me. Dive master still had other divers down… we had to time getting on the boat due to wave size / surge. We did not do the 2nd dive, they refunded all of our money because of all that happened- they NEVER should have gone out! We have dove with several other operators, other trips down reefs are great.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank snider2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2024

Perfect location and a wonderful get-a-way! Staff was very helpful and made us feel at home. The onsite grocery had reasonable prices. The pool and really, all areas did not disappoint. We did not visit the restaurants but did order pool-side. Perfect!!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joni k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grand Caribe Belize, Sales at Grand Caribe Belize, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

jonik772 So glad you enjoyed your stay!
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you had a perfect getaway at our location. It's fantastic that you found the staff helpful and welcoming, and that the on-site grocery offered reasonable prices. We strive to create a comfortable and convenient environment for our guests. We're also happy to hear that the pool and all the other areas met your expectations! While we're disappointed you didn't have a chance to try our restaurants, we're glad you enjoyed the poolside service. Hopefully, next time you visit, you'll have the opportunity to experience our full offerings.
From all of us here at Caribeville - Grand Caribe, Thanks again for choosing us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2024

My family of 3 spent 4 nights at Grand Caribe in February 2024 after cancelling a stay at Alaia because they would not guarantee our 2 rooms would be on the same floor (and the only other option was a $2K a night suite). I was a little anxious about the change, but it worked out for the best!! The hotel is a little older than some spots on the island, but it's well maintained with great staff.

We had a great stay with Grand Caribe. Friendly staff and a spacious 2bd/2ba condo that had everything we needed. Free daily laundry service was fantastic. Pool water was comfortable. Bed was sooooo comfy and we had plenty of pillows and towels!

Poolside food and drink quality was great (shrimp tacos were perfection!!), however while the service was friendly - it was pretty slow... consistent with most places on the island we visited. At one point I had to ask 4 times for a check and eventually got it myself. I wouldn't let this deter you from staying, it's more of an expectation to manage. Service was better and actually really proactive and attentive on our last day (a Tuesday that was pretty quiet) vs a Saturday on a holiday weekend. Towel card policy is a little annoying (towels are sort of small, card/towel swap is a nuisance), but it's fine.

The market on property had a nice assortment of basic groceries, but I'd suggest visiting a bigger market closer to town if you want other things (bigger water jugs, more selection).

We rented a golf cart from town and probably would just rent from the hotel if we did it again, but we had the rental booked prior to choosing GC. It took us 15 minutes to get into the heart of San Pedro, which was easy.

Highly highly recommend Grand Caribe, we will stay again if we return to Ambergris.

Room tip: Be patient on busy days by the pool for service. Rent a golf cart from the hotel.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jendahlgren22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grand Caribe Belize, Sales at Grand Caribe Belize, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2024

jendahlgren22 Thank you so much for taking the time to share your detailed review of your recent stay with us here at Caribeville (Grand Caribe!) We're thrilled to hear that you and your family had a wonderful experience despite the initial change in plans. It sounds like our spacious condo, friendly staff, and comfortable amenities made your stay truly enjoyable. We're especially happy to hear that the free daily laundry service was a fantastic perk, and that the poolside food and drink, particularly the shrimp tacos, were a hit!
We appreciate your honest feedback regarding the service pace at the pool bar. While we strive to provide consistently prompt service, we understand that wait times can occasionally increase, especially during peak periods. We'll certainly take your experience into consideration and look for ways to further improve our efficiency.
Regarding the towel card policy. We'll explore options to potentially offer larger towels and streamline the towel exchange process.
We're also glad to hear that renting a golf cart from the hotel would be your preferred option for your next visit. We'll ensure that the rental process is smooth and convenient for our guests. We do have the best rental prices on the island.
Thank you again for choosing Caribeville ( Grand Caribe) and for recommending us to others. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews