We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
18 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
RM 3,006
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
RM 3,005
Expedia.com
RM 3,008
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (817)
Filter reviews
817 results
Traveller rating
675
87
21
14
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
675
87
21
14
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piano bar sea salt reef house marriott property rooftop pool beautiful property oatmeal main pool ocean view secret beach golf cart remembered our names dive center one bedroom suite coconut mojito girls trip maya air
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 817 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2023 via mobile

Overall a fantastic hotel, and in most ways by Belize standards, it’s exceptional. It’s hard to compare it to American standards, but by Belize standards, it’s definitely a 5-star. The hotel is gorgeous, modern and stylish. It was one of the better Marriott properties we’ve visited.

A few things you should know before you book…

DO NOT book the reef rooms — make sure you have “vista” in the room type. The vista rooms/suites are all brand new, modern, most have full kitchens, they’re top notch and pristine. The reef rooms/suites are separated from the main hotel area and they’re at least 20 years outdated and very tired — plus they have major mosquito infestations. We ended up switching from reef to vista after one night and we were very fortunate to get a vista room by complaining to management and requesting a room change and this swap completely changed our entire experience at this hotel. Absolutely do not book in the Reef rooms!!!

We were there Thanksgiving week, and every single day they had a live DJ at the main pool plus evening lobby entertainment, it was so awesome!

The dive/snorkel center on site is the best — use them for your tours. It’s not just convenient, they are truly the very best on the island.

The restaurants at the hotel are surprisingly very good. Especially the one on the dock, called the Deck. We went into town and tried many restaurants and I recommend doing so, but definitely the Deck is one of the hotel restaurants worth visiting.

Location wise, Alaia is right where you want to be - near town but not too close. A golf cart is a must but absolutely do not rent to the hotel because it’s $100 per day and if you rent through one of the many many, private places in town or online, it’s $150-200 for an entire week.

Hot water at the hotel was iffy. Sometimes we had it and sometimes we didn’t. But we experienced this problem elsewhere in Belize so I’m not sure it’s an accurate representation of a hotel problem than it is a developing country with limited resources.

Housekeeping was great and thorough. They include turn down service and even left chocolates for the kids and robes for adults.

Massage tip - walk to the beach, and as you are facing the ocean walk left about five minutes for a great massage hut over the water. Not on hotel property, right of property, some of the best massages we’ve ever had, and very reasonably priced.

The beach is OK, but not fabulous, but this is the case with almost every place on the island. People don’t realize most beaches are not sandy white with turquoise waters. Hence, stay at a hotel like Alaia with great pools (loved their rooftop pool!).

And now, for a few other things, you should just know before you go… it seems Alaia could make these improvements and take things up a notch, they might be petty, but they were nerve-racking during our stay. And so easy for the hotel managers to address and resolve.

Every single day they would run out of towels at the pool. This is so perplexing, because after the first or second time it happens, you would think they would know how to gauge demand and they would do a big load of laundry around lunchtime to avoid this happening. But no, every single day it was the same problem. So frustrating. They would always ask for your room number to get towels, but they didn’t require you to the return the towels, so I’m not exactly sure what the point is of telling them your room number. Hotel is secure so there aren’t people strolling in from the beach or street crashing the pool.

Wi-Fi was a pain. You could connect easily but each time you set your phone down, you had to reconnect the device again.

Service was inconsistent. There were all stars like Mini at breakfast, Elvis at the door, Lilian in reservations, Paula and the gentleman who is executive chef, and Florett in housekeeping. And there were others that we never want to see again like Veronica at the front desk. For every blasé or less than enthusiastic hotel employee, there was usually two who knocked it out of the park. Just seems like management could raise the bar and ensure everyone is consistently delivering exceptional service every single time. We visited the jungle in Belize for 3 days where it was hard to find employees, but the people who worked at those resorts were so grateful to have their job, and they were so kind and willing to please always and they went above and beyond. For whatever reason there were some employees at Alaia who did the bare minimum (at best) or acted insulated when asked for something within their job role. Slowness was also an issue which is odd because it wasn’t like there is anything else for certain employees to do.

The beach bar is great for happy hour, but it never made sense why three days in a row they didn’t have a corkscrew to open the wine by the glass on their menu. It’s a Beach Bar - who doesn’t have a corkscrew when there’s wine on the menu? Every single time we waited for 15 or 20 minutes for someone to bring the bartender a corkscrew to open wine. Again, no problem the first day, but when it happens every single day for multiple days in a row, why wouldn’t they just fix this and leave a bunch of wine openers at the bar?

Prior to arrival, we called the hotel many times to ask logistical questions, or speak to the Concierge, but the hotel rarely answered the phone even though it was driving usual business hours. I tried calling many times in a row and finally someone would answer and we got the help we needed, but it was not what I would expect for hotel of this caliber. Fortunately, once we arrived, it was easy to go to the front desk and get questions answered.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would 100% go back. No major issues and I’m sure the hotel will work out these other minor issues. There is no better place to stay on the island if you are looking for a modern upscale full service hotel.

Room tip: Do not book reef rooms! Book any vista room. Bring mosquito repellent!!!
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Love2TravelLuxfromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria Novelo, Marketing at Alaia Belize, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2023

Dear LoveToTravel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback about your recent stay at Alaia Belize. We are delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be one of the best on Ambergris Caye and that you enjoyed the modern and stylish atmosphere. Your positive comments about our location, dive/snorkel center, and the quality of our restaurants are truly appreciated.

We appreciate your insights on room types and have duly noted your preference for the vista rooms. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the towels at the pool, Wi-Fi connectivity, and inconsistent service. Your observations are valuable, and we assure you that we are actively addressing these issues to enhance the overall guest experience.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the efforts of our exceptional staff members, such as Mini, Elvis, Lilian, Paula, and Florett. However, we apologize for any lapses in service from other team members, and we are committed to improving in this regard.

Your feedback about the beach bar and pre-arrival phone responsiveness is duly noted, and we will take steps to rectify these concerns.

We are grateful for your overall positive review and your understanding of the minor issues you encountered. We look forward to welcoming you back to Alaia Belize for an enhanced stay. Please feel free to reach out directly if there's anything specific you'd like to discuss further.

sunny regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2023

My husband and I went the Alaia resort for the first time Nov. 17 ,2023. We were celebrating our 10 year anniversary and it was the best experience we could have imagined. We are already discussing when we will go back next year. Shout out to the entire staff...but Elvis was great during check in and out. Javier gave us great service and talked to us about all the things to do on the island.Last but not least KENROY!!! He kept my poolside drinks coming like a champ! The pool BTW is the BEST! Thank you for creating great memories for us Alaia. See you again VERY SOON!

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jakea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria Novelo, Marketing at Alaia Belize, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2023

Dear Jakea J,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your incredible experience at Alaia Belize! We are beyond thrilled to read that your 10th-anniversary celebration with us was nothing short of amazing.

It warms our hearts to know that the efforts of our dedicated staff, including Elvis, Javier, and Kenroy, contributed to making your stay memorable. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to them. It's fantastic to hear that they were able to enhance your experience with exceptional service and helpful recommendations.

We're delighted to have played a part in creating great memories for you and your husband. We can't wait to welcome you back to Alaia Belize for another unforgettable stay. Your enthusiasm and appreciation motivate us to continue delivering exceptional service.

See you both back here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2023

The resort…10/10
The food… 8/10
The rooms 10/10
Customer service 10/10
My ONLY issue with this resort is that i believe it should be adults-only. My first 2 nights at the resort were miserable. I was next to a family that had 2 younger kids who spent hours crying and shrieking. Which then had the parents yelling at them and each other. And their chaos started at 5am by the way. Kind of sucks to pay money to go somewhere and have less peace than you have at home. I made it a point to go during October when kids are in school, so the resort was mostly couples at the time. However, I think it would be best for all if maybe one or two of the buildings was devoted to couples only. The sound of crying kids and screaming stressed-out parents is a mood killer. Thankfully, for our remaining 4 nights we upgraded ourselves to the one bedroom suite which is one of the best resort rooms I’ve seen in awhile. The suite is super spacious with a balcony so big you could probably do a cartwheel or 2.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria Novelo, Marketing at Alaia Belize, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2023

Dear Jordan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback about your recent stay at Alaia Belize. We're thrilled to hear that you had an overall positive experience, and we sincerely appreciate your high ratings for our resort, rooms, and customer service.

We understand your concerns about noise disturbances during the first part of your stay, particularly due to the presence of families with younger children. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and appreciate your suggestion regarding having designated buildings for adults-only accommodations. We are constantly looking for ways to enhance the guest experience, and your feedback is invaluable in that regard.

It's fantastic to hear that the upgrade to the one-bedroom suite made a significant difference for the remaining part of your stay. We're delighted that you enjoyed the spaciousness and amenities of the suite, including the large balcony. Your positive comments about the one-bedroom suite are truly rewarding for our team.

We appreciate your understanding and patience, and we hope that the overall positive aspects of your stay will encourage you to consider returning to our resort in the future. If you decide to visit us again, please don't hesitate to reach out to our team in advance, and we will do our best to ensure a more tranquil and enjoyable experience for you.

Once again, thank you for choosing Alaia Belize, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

sunny regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2023

Alaia Hotel is the most beautiful and comfortable hotel in the island. Clean, wonderful amenities, awesome staff and the best rooms. We were treated with love and care. Special shout out to Elvis that from the first day was a great guide. Jesus gave us some history of the island, plus great advice. Minelia remembered our names every time, and great service. And our favorite taxi driver, Mr. Chi. Thank you all for making our visit wonderful.
Really suggest the Shrimp Pizza and lots of lobster all over. Don't forget the sun screen even when the forecast says rain.

Room tip: Low season is still good.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Luciana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria Novelo, Marketing at Alaia Belize, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2023

Dear Luciana,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at Alaia Belize! We are thrilled to hear that you found our hotel to be the most beautiful and comfortable on the island. Your kind words about our clean facilities, wonderful amenities, awesome staff, and the best rooms mean the world to us.

It's fantastic to note that our team, especially Elvis, Jesus, Minelia, and Mr. Chi, made a positive impact on your stay. We will make sure to pass along your special shout-outs to them. Your recommendation of the Shrimp Pizza and the abundance of lobster is duly noted! We're delighted that our culinary offerings added to the enjoyment of your visit.

And thank you for the tip about sunscreen, even when the forecast suggests rain. It's these thoughtful insights that can make a significant difference for our guests, and we appreciate you sharing your advice.

We are grateful to have had the opportunity to host you, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our shores for another wonderful stay.

Safe travels, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2023

I traveled with my 2 children to this Alaia Belize property for my sister's wedding. The entire experience was nothing short of amazing, beginning with the hotel room. I travel to several countries a year and this hotel room was by far one of my favorite - ever. As a traveling mother with small children, I value aesthetics, safety, space, bathrooms, access to clean linen, food, and exceptional service for myself and my children. Alaia provided all of the above.

Upon arrival at the hotel, we were greeted with snacks and drinks in the lobby and then escorted to our rooms. My son, 7, made instant friends, and my daughter, one-year-old, was very comfortable (and safe) on the property. We took one of the club cars to explore the city, go to the local market, and buy street food. We also spent days in the pool and ate at all of the establishments on site.

I had some amazing experiences with some of their staff members who I want to highlight: "Aunty" Tricia M. was our 'everything Manager'. On an executive level, she managed all of the moving parts and was present to assist and support us throughout our stay. Other staff members who were very supportive include Jesus, Stephanie, Mark, Roan, Antonio, Angela, Eric, and Elvis! Also, Antonia, who cleared our room!

All of this was made possible by "Make Time for Travel's" very own Cathy Brooks-Oliver who offered white glove service and coordinated all of our travel needs from the states, in-country (Belize), and for our return home.

An overall beautiful wedding on a magical property.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Nzingha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria Novelo, Marketing at Alaia Belize, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2023

Dear Nzingha,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Alaia Belize. We are delighted to hear that your stay was nothing short of amazing and that you found our property to be one of your favorite hotel rooms ever.

It warms our hearts to know that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations, especially as a traveling mother with small children. We understand the importance of aesthetics, safety, space, and excellent service, and we are thrilled that our property provided all of these for you and your family. Also glad you were able to explore the island, visit the local market, and enjoy street food with the convenience of our club cars.

We appreciate you recognizing some of our dedicated staff members, including "Aunty" Tricia M., who served as your 'everything Manager,' as well as Jesus, Stephanie, Mark, Roan, Antonio, Angela, Eric, Elvis, and Antonia. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to them.

Additionally, we extend our gratitude to Cathy Brooks-Oliver from "Make Time for Travel" for providing white glove service and ensuring a seamless experience for all your travel needs.

We hope to welcome you and your family back in the future for more unforgettable moments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews