We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
RM 2,910
Algotels
Expedia.com
RM 2,910
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,492)
Filter reviews
1,492 results
Traveller rating
1,225
177
55
25
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,225
177
55
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mambo restaurant our honeymoon beachfront casita gaia riverlodge beach front ambergris caye coconut mojito mosquito netting sea breeze fish water taxi taco golf cart paddle boards secret beach snorkeling gear shark ray alley
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 1,492 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2023

We had such an amazing time reef fishing with Captain Sam and Lucas that we booked two more days of it!! They are the type of guides you hope for when you travel: they know the area, the water, the winds, and adjust as the day progresses! We had so many great experiences and encounter, but our three excursions with them were our favorite part of staying at Matachica!!

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jtM2805WS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wolfgang Brandl, General Manager at Matachica Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2023

Dear fishing enthusiast,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback. We'll make sure to acknowlege Lucas & Samir. Your words are very valuable, especially given the fact that both guys are fairly new in their roles.

Best regards,
Wolfgang
Matachica & Gaia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2023

Captain Sam and Lucas were phenomenal. We went on several reef fishing trips with them. They made our stay exceptional. Everyone at the resort was warm and friendly and great. Highly recommend. Fantastic spa massages as welll.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wolfgang Brandl, General Manager at Matachica Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2023

Dear O5399JMjw

We appreciate to know that we exceeded expectations, and indeed we are lucky to have Samir & Lucas in our team!

Best regards
Wolfgang Brandl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2023

Stayed here for our honeymoon and were blown away. It was private, relaxing, but enough adventure to choose from that it kept you the perfect balance of relaxed and entertained. The food is absolutely to die for, we ate the best seafood all day every day. The beach huts were extremely clean, modern, upgraded, and uniquely decorated.
The staff was extremely friendly, especially Moses! Hospitality is the name of the game here. Will be coming back.
Also they're sister resort Gaia has a Reef and Rainforest package which is the best of both worlds!

Room tip: Research the Reef and Rainforest package to stay at their sister jungle resort too: Gaia Riverlodge!
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Evanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wolfgang Brandl, General Manager at Matachica Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2023

Dear 47evanned

Thank you for the time to share this review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate to know that you took fond memories with you and we hope to be able to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Wolfgang Brandl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2023 via mobile

We visited Matachica from Nov 8 - Nov 14.
The staff was helpful and responsive with all of our questions prior to our visit. We arrived and everyone was pleasant, professional, and welcoming.
We chose this resort for the location, accommodations, and because it is an adult only resort.
This resort allowed us to relax and recharge. There are no TVs for distractions. The food is amazing.
I would like to thank the following for their hospitality.
Marinelli, Jennifer, Alma, Julio, Lil, and Brenda.
Keys things to note:
The primary mode of transportation around the island is a golf cart once you get settled in.
The mosquitoes are relentless during rainy season.

Room tip: Mosquitoes can be bad. The roads are not paved leading to rhe resort. Average ride will take 25-30 min to get to town.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Shanhood72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wolfgang Brandl, General Manager at Matachica Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2023

Dear Shanhood72

Thank you very much for your positive review about your recent stay with us.
We appreciate to know that you enjoyed your vacatioon time with us.

Best regards,

Wolfgang Brandl
Matachica Resort & Spa
Gaia Riverlodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2023

Matachica was definitely a memorable experience. My wife surprised me for my 40th and planned everything with the staff.

Thanks to the staff for their amazing service. From the front desk to the excursions, they provided us with the best level of service we could ask for. The manager Wolfgang even drove us to our excursion, so thank you for that!

Accommodation and amenities were great as well. The spa was top notch and the pool and restaurants were excellent.

The rooms were extra clean and comfortable.

We rented a golf cart which the company delivered to the front entrance of the hotel.

Overall, would definitely recommend to others, A+ resort!

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank geturpeteon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wolfgang Brandl, General Manager at Matachica Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2023

Dear geturpeteon
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We appreciate to know that we managed to impress.

Best regards
Wolfgang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews