We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
130
46
20
26
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
46
20
26
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub tropical villa in town golf cart an adventure slice of paradise ambergris caye spa services belize city bug spray nurse sharks recommend this resort miles north of san pedro salt water boat hammocks island
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2016

If you are looking for a romantic getaway, this is a great option. The hotel is aprox 30 minutes by boat to the north of San Pedro Island. It has 13 really nice comfortable and technologic rooms (palapas). Ours was at the beach and had a plunge pool (jacuzzi) and inside and outside showers. Practically all of the details of a luxury hotel are well covered. There are some lake villas which are beautiful as well. The hotel was full and it seemed empty all the time. The staff was always helpful and kind. Specially Jessie the waitress and Nelson were super friendly. If you are looking to go to downtown San Pedro it can be a bit expensive (around 100 bucks both ways). Food at the restaurant has enough options for 2 or 3 days. I would definitely recomend it and will be coming back soon!

Room Tip: Lake villas are specially beautiful
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ChuRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldiprioux, Director of Sales at El Secreto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Dear ChuRE,

We are honoured you have enjoyed your stay with us; your feedback is quite important for us in order to improve the experience we offer to out guests.

I hope to see you soon.

Greetings from paradise...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We enjoyed this place it is by far a very high resort so be prepared for the prices of food and beverage. The rooms and the resort are exquisite and very well kept. Also be prepared to be very far removed, you cannot walk or ride to other restaurants. Take care of the staff and they will be willing to give you boat rides out of the regular schedule.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jardie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldiprioux, Director of Sales at El Secreto, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Dear Jardie,

Thank you for taking the time to review El Secreto, your opinion is quite important for us. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay in Paradise...

We hope to host your future trip to La Isla Bonita.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016

We came to El Secreto for a birthday getaway in June 2016. Love the property, a bit far from everything but transportation and service was on point. Very interesting island feel to the villas, very friendly staff, we really enjoyed our stay!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank solnyshkomoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldiprioux, Director of Sales at El Secreto, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Dear Solnyshkomoye,

We are honored you have chosen El Secreto for such a special occasion. Thank you for your time to review our little piece of paradise and we hope to host your next trip to San Pedro.

Greetings from paradise...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Positives - beautiful very private and well thought out Resort. Very nice staff. Absolutely one of if not the nicest resort on the island. They set up first clas excursions.
Negatives- Our A/C unit in the bathroom didn't work. Luckily you are able to close off the front of the bungalow from the back which helped keep it cool at night. No one informed me that I would need to book a puddle hopper flight from Belize city to San Pedro.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rickwarren22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldiprioux, Director of Sales at El Secreto, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2016

Dear Rick,

Your feedback is quite important for us, thank you for taking the time to review El Secreto. I hope we can be the host on your next visit to San Pedro.

Greetings from paradise...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Everything was picture perfect just like it looks on Internet, the only drawback of this place is location. It's great if u plan to just chill on the resort otherwise it's a treacherous golf cart ride 30 mins into town or water taxi! Food was mediocre but there was decent variety to choose from for 2-3 days

Room Tip: The tropical view rooms are just as good if not better than lake view the ocean view is of course the best!
Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dolores3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldiprioux, Director of Sales at El Secreto, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2016

Dear Dolores,

Thank you for your feedback, we hope to be the host on your next visit to La Isla Bonita.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews