We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buena Vista is No Bueno”

Buena Vista Restaurant at Captain Morgan's Retreat
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: Central American
Description: Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, the Buena Vista Restaurant is a full-service restaurant featuring a variety of Belizean dishes, fresh seafood, and American classics. Buena Vista Restaurant is located at Captain Morgan's Retreat, a beachfront resort on Ambergris Caye. While many guests enjoy dining with us, the restaurant and bar is open to the general public.
Restaurant details
Description: Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, the Buena Vista Restaurant is a full-service restaurant featuring a variety of Belizean dishes, fresh seafood, and American classics. Buena Vista Restaurant is located at Captain Morgan's Retreat, a beachfront resort on Ambergris Caye. While many guests enjoy dining with us, the restaurant and bar is open to the general public.
Reviewed 13 June 2017

So disappointing the catch of the day was completely over cooked, we asked for coconut rice and got plain rice. Our cocktails had no alcohol and the finale was when the bill came and the bottle of wine we ordered was listed at what we thought were belize dollars , like the rest of the menu, but in very small print at the bottom of the drink menu is US Dollars so we thought we were getting a $40 belize bottle of wine became an $80 belize bottle of wine. By the way the Pinot Grigio costs around $9 US.
Don't waste your time or money, there are some really good restaurants close by.

1  Thank laurazzzz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainMorgansBZ, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Restaurant at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay at Las Verandas. Our team is dedicated to creating a quality experience from the moment you arrive and are served a welcome drink, and your bags are taken to your room, until the time you leave and they will appreciate you noticing their excellent work, especially our chef and his staff. We are thankful for your patience while we make Las Verandas even grander than it is now. Please do come back and experience it again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

We were at the swim up bar yesterday and Ronald the bartender didn't seem to know how to make any of the drinks on the menu other than rum punch. We understand the resort is undergoing staffing changes and renovations. We hope to have a better experience on our next visit. So far we are impressed with the changes that are underway that we have seen. This is such a beautiful resort with great potential.

Thank DC_Eric_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainMorgansBZ, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Restaurant at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you for your feedback – it’s appreciated. We’re making a lot of changes here at Captain Morgan’s so we can be better than ever! With those changes come new members of our team who are getting to know the ropes – including our bartenders, cooks, wait staff and others. There’s a lot of cosmetic and structural changes occurring as well - and we’re very excited to show these to the public as they complete and roll out. Your patience is appreciated at this transitional time and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Arrived 15 minutes before dinner menu was to begin. Told by waitress that she would bring a menu for us to review, but we had to sit at the bar. Sat at the bar...the menu never came. Finally as others were being seated for dinner we asked the bartender if we could move to the seating area for dinner, which we did. Two steaks ordered with additional side salads. Steaks were to come with mashed potatoes and grilled veggies. We received steaks, side salad and bread. Some type of raspberry vinaigrette was on top of the steak...I won't even go in to how the steak was prepared. When asked about the rest of the meal, we were brought a small plate of mashed potatoes...that was it. And guess what....they were instant potatoes. This is my second trip to Belize and this place has changed a lot (for the worse). Would not recommend.

1  Thank Kelli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainMorgansBZ, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Restaurant at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

We’re sorry to hear about experience at Buena Vista. It sounds like we did not live up to our expectations, or our own standards. We are making changes to our restaurant, and we rely on feedback from customers like you so we can continue to make improvements. You can be certain this will be followed up with the chef and staff of Buena Vista, and we only hope you might come by again and give us a second chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

We spent a couple afternoons eating and drinking by the pool here. The food was good and the service was also from the restaurant. The bar service at the pool left something to be desired. Not very friendly nor did they put much effort in. The restaurant servers were very nice but not so much from the bar staff at the pool. My rating here is going to reflect the service from the restaurant staff and not the pool side bar staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainMorgansBZ, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Restaurant at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thanks for trying out Buena Vista and our swim up bar while you were here at Captain Morgan’s. We’re not sure what may have occurred, as our servers, especially at the bar, are usually highly praised. But we will follow up on your observation as we don’t want there to be any guests who find our service is below par. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

If you prefer quiet nights and staying in then Buena Vista is the place for you. Top notch service and ocean front view. Dinner was good, trying breakfast tomorrow!

Thank Stormy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainMorgansBZ, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Restaurant at Captain Morgan's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thanks for trying out Buena Vista – it’s truly a quiet and romantic getaway! We’ve been making some changes in our kitchen and we’re happy to get your feedback. Please do let us know when you’ve had a chance to have breakfast, okay?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buena Vista Restaurant at Captain Morgan's Retreat also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing