We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lorraine's Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$140
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Anchorage Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Enjoy Hotel(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
La Isla Resort(Caye Caulker)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Popeyes Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Novelo(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Dream Cabanas(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Anchorage Resort Hotel Belize City(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$87
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
5
2
6
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
2
6
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2015

When we got to Caye Caulker without reservations, James greeted us and showed us the Chinatown Hotel, which was not our style. We were looking to stay somewhere budget friendly and had Lorraine's Guest House in mind. We read that it was a couple that ran the place, it seems like it's the son now. He was nice and fairly approachable. There were a couple of dogs chained up on site, that barked quite a bit when you approached, but were fine otherwise. The rooms, while clean, had definitely seen their fair share of use. Not being on the ocean, some nights lacked any breeze, but the screened in porches were a good spot to hang out in the evenings. For budget travelers, this place will do the trick.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

Really recommend the cabins here. If you are approached when arriving by boat by 'James' or any other of the touts do not ignore them, follow them politely as we did and we got a large cabin with fridge, hammock, doubled bed each for B$50 a night. The cabins are secure, set just off the main road in a quiet spot and are in a good location for walking around town. Clean, cool, speedy Wi-Fi, I would highly recommend these good-value cabins to all budgets.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jgp1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2014

We got into town late and having no reservations walked around the places we wanted to stay and were welcomed by darkness and we'll be back in the morning signs. We were exhausted so we decided the next place we saw was the winner. Turned out to be Lorraine's. Didn't seem SOOO bad at first so we paid for the two nights (which is the minimum) and settled in. Once I really looked at the bathroom I knew I had made a mistake… There was at least a year of toothpaste splatter on the mirror and a buildup of gunk all over the sink and shower… But we had already paid so I tried to look on the bright side, there was a nice screened porch with a hammock and chairs (not beach front btw) and I had only seen that one cockroach on the porch earlier and he seemed to be gone now. We came back late and slept pretty well. I woke in the am early and was dying for a shower, tried to turn it on and surprise… No water. Ok, i'll just brush my teeth. Nope, not a drop of running water! I decided at that moment I was getting the hell out of there and went down the road to some lovely cabanas where we moved immediately. Unless you have very low standards for cleanliness don't waste your money here.

Room Tip: Just Don't!!
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

After arriving to the island via water taxi, we needed a place to stay and found the "taxi" drivers near the dock more than willing to help. After turning down several other rundown spots, we finally agreed to stay at Lorraine's just to be done with it. The taxi driver took his cut of what we paid the young man running the property and left. The cabanas are at the far end of the island in the residential area and it felt like we were intruding into a part of the island the locals don't want you to see. On the upside, they are fairly spacious. On the downside: everything else. While it appeared our cabana had been topically cleaned before we arrived, the whole thing needed a real scrubdown. Dust on the ceiling fan, dirt caked into the baseboards, and a shower I wouldn't touch complemented by crusty towels. There's no AC so prepare to either swelter in a sweatbox, or open the window curtains allowing everyone walking past the road a great view of you sleeping. Even though Caye Caulker is a tiny island, this place was located so far away that it took us a pretty long time to walk everywhere. We made the journeys happily though, because we did everything we could to avoid spending any waking moments in the room and only returned when we were ready to pass out. My advice to travelers: DO NOT lets one of the taxi hustlers convince you to stay here. Grab your luggage and find a much cleaner, comfortable place to stay, closer to town for the same price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emill4872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I paid two nights the cabana couse is the minimum the let you be in there. The trap is that, once you are inside after paying you are forced to stay 2 nights. We left after the first one, never been sleeping with such a mess, they didnt clean there in months, bedding old and dirty too and disgusting bathroom.. At least some cleaning to show some respect to that $40 US per night.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Espineteelamigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews