We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & a Little Bit Nasty”
Review of Ignacio's Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ignacio's Cabins
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Reviewed 12 December 2014

It's cheap and that was the draw card for us. Think wooden box with tin roof on stilts. Small front verandah with a chair and hammock and sea views. It rained quite a bit during our stay so the roof leaked in areas but nothing to bad. The mosquitos on the island are quite bad, but mozzie coils are only $1 BZD so not a drama. The toilet doesn't always work either as the pump has issues staying on so had to ask a few times for the manger to have a look but otherwise it's what you would expect for the price you pay. You can also rent fishing rods if the sun comes out long enough and clean drinking water is supplied.

Room Tip: We paid for the back cabins as they were cheapest but it's probably worth while paying a small a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalRunaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2014

We booked this hotel via internet. We took a cabin with sea view.
Price was cheap, so we expected just for basic conditions.
Our disappointment was huge. We booked for 2 nights and fled from this "hotel" after one night. It was the most disgusting place we ever hosted in. (Even compared to very low priced hostels).
Unclean and neglected room, dirty beddings, exposed electricity wires, toilets without flashing water and endless attacks of Mosquitos.
Because of the miserable conditions, we could not sleep at night. If we could, we would have leave during the night.
Please try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank eyal a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014

If you enjoy the aroma of raw sewage, then this might be the hotel for you! In addition to the charming smell which greets you as you enter the hut, populated by ants, lizards, strays and, most of all, dirt, you will also find, for your comfort, a lack of toilet paper, towels or a light in the bathroom. Prepare to get well-acquainted with your travel companion, as Ignacio's does not provide a proper door between the bedroom and the bathroom. That said, since the room already smells like a sewer, you probably won't notice your own additions to the fug.

In addition to the features mentioned above, Ignacio's "Cabins" are dangerously in need of repair. There are holes in the walls and floors where the wood has rotten away and many of the balconies are no longer supported by any sort of pillar. You can recognise the pier that belongs to the cabins from a distance - it is the only one along the whole of the walk into town that has received no maintenance in a LONG time, perhaps ever. Each of the boards is at a different height, they bow in when you stand on them and generally, like the rest of the compound, you just cross your fingers and hope that you won't be the unlucky soul to fall through it as will inevitably happen one day.

The owner takes the attitude of, "whatever you need, it's too much trouble" we asked a couple of times for help putting up the hammock since we weren't sure how to safely attach the thing to a balcony where the wood was completely rotten through in places. The owner invariably said, "Oh, have I not done that yet?" followed by a "I'll be right over" but he never appeared. His "couldn't care less" attitude was evident everywhere you looked, from the dirty walls to the rotten wood, Ignacio's is a law suit waiting to happen.

As for the "quiet" which some guests mentioned, that was not something we experienced. The owner seemed to be up most of the night streaming music and chatting loudly with guests which, given that you're staying in a shed, did not make for a tranquil time. The music streaming also had the added benefit of completely clogging the wifi net so it is more or less unusable. Perhaps this is how the owner prevents guests from finding alternative accommodation, though I sincerely doubt he cares enough to attempt this.

Yes, Ignacio's is cheap. Yes, we knew it had cold water. But we didn't know that we would be afraid to walk on the balcony, gassed by raw sewage or denied even the most basic level of hygiene. All in all, I'd say this place is a false economy. That said if, like me, you get enticed by the romantic notion of a beach front place, you will need the following:

Toilet roll
Toilet blue (for the cistern, this marginally alleviated the stench)
A torch
A sense of humour

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms closer to the office are nicer... wouldn't know for sure. Rooms at the other end a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rainsy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This place is value for money. We only paid BZ$30 for one night. If you don't mind roughing it a bit this is the place to stay on the island. You have everything you need, the rooms are quite clean and the terrace with the hammock is a major plus.
The reason why we can give this place only 1/5 is because on the second day of our stay BZ$50 went missing from our room. We keep track of all our expenses in a little notebook and we withdrew Belizean dollars the day before, so we know exactly how much we spent and had left. Besides this we only took a small amount of money with us when we went out to the island, so the chance that we lost the money or that it got stolen on the island is small. The rest of the money was in our moneybelts, which where in our backpacks. We had put our backpacks in a travel bag and secured it with a small traveller's lock (which is easy enough to open, we looked it up on the internet). We really don't want this story to be true, but we thought it through and through and there is no other explanation. So consider yourself warned and if you stay at Ignacio's, please make sure that you know exactly how much money you have and keeo your belongings safe.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
10  Thank L V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This places was charming and a great quiet location. It was rustic for sure, but for the price it was fantastic! We've been traveling for a year and a half and this place stands out to us as a favorite so many months later. Someone in a previous post complained of fleas, but those are sand flies and they are all over the island. : ). Owners were great too, super nice!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank headwest2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0 km away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
297 reviews
0 km away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
0 km away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Barefoot Beach Belize
Barefoot Beach Belize
#5 of 19 in Caye Caulker
473 reviews
0 km away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Caye Caulker
186 reviews
0 km away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ignacio's Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ignacio's Cabins

Address: Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range: RM59 - RM79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ignacio`s Cabins Hotel Caye Caulker
Ignacios Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing