We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full Day Snorkel Excursion - Great Experience!”
Review of Star Tours

Star Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Star Tours offers Daily Snorkel Tours to sites like Hol-Chan Marine Reserve, the Manatee Reserve, and Shark Ray Alley. We also offer Tours for Cruise Passenger.
Reviewed 10 September 2016

With plenty of options on Front Street offering pretty much the same thing, our group of 4 decided to snorkel with Star Tours since they seem to be the cheapest on the island. They also only do small group tours which we liked. There were 7 of us in our snorkel group so that was a good size. We had Salvador and Julio as our guides and they were great! They gave us key information about the sights we went to and insights on local life in Caye Caulker. We saw sea turtles, different types of vibrantly colored fishes, sting rays, nurse/reef sharks, etc. While Salvador already warned us that manatee sighting is not guaranteed, our group was squealing in excitement when we found not 1, not 2 but 3 manatees in Coral Gardens! We were so lucky! We got close and swam with them. Check out our photos. It was so surreal! What a blast! Thank you Start Tours!

Thank Gab F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2016

We wandered around checking with a few places and found this to the be most convenient in timing and did a good number of things we wanted to do.
This tour, didn't go to the preserve, but that didn't matter. We saw lots of beautiful fish and swam through the reef, stopping in 4 different places to see different formations. The last in water stop we swam with stingrays and nurse sharks getting lots of great photos and some video. Bring your underwater camera!
Then, we took a little boat tour around the island, down to the split and fed the Tarpons on the other side of the island, while we enjoyed a nice fruit snack.

Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical P, General Manager at Star Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2016

Thank you for your Review. We are glad that you had a good time with us.

The Staff at Star Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Inexpensive at $30 for 2 hours with visits to 4 locations; 2 snorkel, 1 swim with stingrays and last is feeding tarpon fish which was fun. Water and fruits included. Def worth it

Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical P, General Manager at Star Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2016

We are happy you enjoyed your Tour. We hope to see you again soon.

The Staff at Star Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Highly recommend this company, directions were perfect and easy coming from the cruise port in Belize City. Once we arrive in Caye Caulker (granite we were over an hour late due to tendering off the cruise ship and missing the 9am water taxi to caye caulker) they were waiting for us with a sign at the water taxi terminal. Short couple minute guided walk and we were there to check in and meet our guide. Wish I could remember the names of the other staff that was there since everyone was extremely nice to us. Ninja was our guide for the day, amazing time with him, since being on a small time crunch, he let us choose what and where and how long we wanted to spend at each location. The nurse sharks and stingrays were the highlight of the trip for me, but there are other amazing sights to see and great snorkeling areas around the coral gardens. Once back off the tour, they even let us use a room to change and/or rinse off out of out salty suits. Wish we had more time to spend with this company. Highly recommend especially with a small group, we had a total of 6 people in our party and it was perfect, not like the larger boats that you see out there.

Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical P, General Manager at Star Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2016

We are so happy that you enjoyed your day with us and hope to see you again soon. We are always here to help.

The Staff at Star Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016

I did snorkeling tour with my friends on Caye Caulker with Star tours in November 2015.

Having one remaining day on the island, we came to the agency office and asked for the reef snorkeling tour. The manager said he can book us for departure starting at 3 PM (in 45 mintues).

We came to office on time and we were informed that the departure is 15 minutes late. after 30 minutes of delay, we asked the manager about the delay. He was very rude and careless saying just to wait and left. 30 minutes turned into 45 minutes and a bit more... And the sunset was coming soon. It's not delay that made me angry, but the arrogant and ignorant response of manager... extremely rude...

The tour itself was amazing, we have seen beautiful fishes, sharks, sting rays... definitely worth of doing it. And i would say 2 hours is more than enough for beautiful experience. But the provider himself (Omar?) is just external contractor and not part of standard Star Tours so I would say you can book the tour with any company and get equal experience, just avoid Star Tours.

That kind of personality should not work in tourism. I dont know if he had only a bad day, but other reviews here indicate it is not the first time...

Thank DEJAN_ANIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical P, General Manager at Star Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2016

We are sorry for your experience. Star Tours has a NEW Supervisor in place and that is NOT a part of our practice. We aim to ensure that all our Guests enjoy their Tour and get great Customer Service. Thank you for taking the time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Star Tours also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Star Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing