We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September Get-A-Way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Ranked #2 of 35 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2017

We booked a slightly last minute (found out had some vacation time that needed use before lose) and were pleasantly surprised to find that the “low season” meant affordable and incredible experiences in Belize.
We opted to the all inclusive package with duPlooy’s to help reduce stress and to make the most of our 4 days in the jungle.
We can not say enough positive things about everyone we met at the lodge (our only complaint is that we were the only guests during this time). Although we would have liked to meet other travelers, the staff were so incredible and friendly that we did not feel alone.
Mariel arranged all of our tours and was beyond helpful; Ophelia and Josh were so welcoming and great to talk with during meals. The grounds crew, owners and tour guides were phenomenal. The food was delicious!
As far as facilities, the lodge is eco-friendly (we loved this), rooms were very clean and well maintaned. No AC, so ceiling fans and open windows were the way to go. The owners’ cat adopted us for the days we were there and insisted on sleeping in our room with us (we are animal lovers and she knew we were suckers for purring and lap sitting).
The tours all set out first thing in the morning... yes your are vacation, but get up early and do this to get to the places early to avoid the cruise ship crowds. We did the ATM Caves (incredible!), day trip to Tekal (gorgeous) and cave tubing paired with Xunantunich.
We flew to the beach following our stay (book this with your accommodation to get the discount). Nothing like crawling into a tiny plane, being allowed to sit in the navigator’s seat, and flying over the country!

Room Tip: Couples can stay in the Tree House! No real bad place on the property.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Samantha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Se want to duplooys with a Group of Family and friends, we had a blast! We stayed in la Casona, it was beautiful. We horseback rode, went river tubing, canoeing, and did a garden tour. We also went to Final and ATM Cave which were both incredible as well. Some of our group did cave tubing and loved it. The food was great and every staff member we interacted with were friendly, knowledgeable and fun. This is a great place for families, couples, who love nature. We will definitely be going back there again, thanks to everyone at duPlooy's for making our vacation so special and memorable!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank rosylcalderon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

We had our annual family reunion this year at duPlooy's and had a spectacular time. There was something for everyone from kids to granny. My favorite memory we made was tubing on the river that runs around part of the perimeter of the lodge. The staff were excellent with their service, food and touring advice (Tikal and cave exploration!). I highly recommend duPlooy's to anyone who wants to spend some quality time and reconnect with their family.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Vito C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Would have rated excellent except for a few minor observations. Excellent location, comfortable eco lodge that will get you as close as possible to a jungle like setting. It was low season so we practically have the whole place to ourselves. Staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcome and can book any excursion with excellent guide (therefore worth the price). Going tubing down the river or a swim at the end of the day is just wonderful. Close to airport if you don't want a 2 hrs car ride to Belize city and 1.5 hr water taxi to Ambregris Caye. Botanical garden is beautiful but needs work. Water pressure was a bit low during our stay so some folks may not be too happy. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Loved the hiking. Bird feeder gives you close looks at birds. I am giving low stars because the staff at the bar didn't listen to any of our reasonable requests considering dietary restrictions, neglected us for most of our meal, and then didn't charge my debit card until 5 months later (caused me to overdraw). Wouldn't say no to this place but I want to warn you to be very clear with your orders and pay cash.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for your comments. It's unusual that our staff gets a negative comment so when I show them this review, I'm sure that this won't happen again, but I do want to apologize to you.

Judy duPlooy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
1.4 km away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,276 reviews
2.1 km away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
656 reviews
4.6 km away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
723 reviews
8.8 km away
Vanilla Hills Lodge
Vanilla Hills Lodge
#1 of 35 in San Ignacio
227 reviews
6.2 km away
Maya Mountain Lodge
Maya Mountain Lodge
#4 of 35 in San Ignacio
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to duPlooy's Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Address: Chial Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range: RM 839 - RM 1,626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — duPlooy's Jungle Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge Resort, on the Macal River, an organic property since 1988, now powered by the sun, may just be the Eco-Lodge you are looking for.duPlooy's offers the original "Create Your Own Vacation' package as well as set packages for individuals and groups and custom packages which include other locations in Belize. Whatever you are looking for, we offer a great venue for your Belize Vacation for Families,Romantic Getaways and Honeymoons, Adventure Holidays and more. There is excellent Birding on and around the property as well as many on-site activities.Included with your room: continental breakfast, entrance to adjacent Belize Botanic Gardens, access to trails, use of canoes and tubes from our beautiful Macal River Beach,incredible bird watching from the deck with complimentary morning coffee, delicious meals from locally-sourced meats, eggs and produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your duPlooy's Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duplooy`s Jungle Hotel San Ignacio
DuPlooy's Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing