We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$175
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$259
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$179
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belize Ocean Club(Placencia)
US$192
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Parrot Beach Houses(Placencia)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Singing Sands Inn(Placencia)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Vacation Hotel(Placencia)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maya Beach Hotel(Placencia)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$119
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$295
US$286
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
52
25
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
25
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop deckstay there againthree bedroom condolocation is greathotel is locatedroom was largestayed here for a weekwithin easy walking distancewe loved our stayrestaurants and shopsplacencia villagefirst floorthe air conditioninglounge chairsdive shopsarasidewalk
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2012

My husband and I spent several nights here and would highly recommend SVS.

We visited mid-October, so we were the only guests most nights. As others have said, the staff is terrific--very friendly and helpful, on call 24/7 to answer any questions, help with transportation, call local businesses for you, etc. The room was spacious and clean, the AC worked really well, the bathroom was great (terrific water pressure!). The water in the jacuzzi was not heated when we were there, so it was extremely pleasant to sit in there and cool off. The view from the rooftop deck is fantastic.

Location can't be beat, SVS is right in the heart of the village on the sidewalk. As others have mentioned, it's a short trek to the water.

We thought this place was great, and reasonably priced. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElaineLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is a small (12 rooms) 'guest-house' hotel with most of the amenities needed. Immacuately clean, has a mini-kitchen area with refrig, micro wave and coffee maker -- but no coffee. Priced at $70 (including tax & fees) for three of us (two double beds), small bathroom, all the essentials - shampoo, conditioner, soap, nice towels. Within easy walking distance of town and/or beach. Attentive, helpful 24-hour staff. One evening my grandson cut his toe and the young man manning the office immediately provided an emergency first aid kit which had the essentials needed. Hotel is located right next door to a b'fast/bakery. Hot tub on roof. Since it was July, Palencia's low season, we were the only guests ini hotel. The beach leaves a lot to be desired, actually, almost all the beaches in Palencia leave a lot to be desired. Filled with seaweed and driftwood. We were there for a week and only went onto the beach once or twice. Unfortunately - no swimming pool; practically none to be found except far, far away from town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladysheil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We traveled through Belize for 13 days and stayed at 5 different places, and this hotel was by far the most comfortable that we stayed at. It had the best beds, the best showers, the best air conditioning, the best tv, and the best wifi! It doesn't have a lot of character and it is not right on the beach... but it is very close to the beach and it does have a hot tub on the roof which we enjoyed every evening! It is also close to the docks and all the tour operators, lots of restaurants and bars. I would happily recommend this hotel!

We took took the Monkey River tour, across the water, up the river and into the jungle... lots of bugs, dress appropriately, and quite an experience hearing the howler monkees! The meal provided at Alice's Restaurant in Monkey River Village was a little lacking, but we had a good time.

We also took a snorkling tour to Silk Caye, a tiny island that is a long ways out, and is surrounded by reef! It was beautiful and fun..had a lunch with fresh grilled fish and chicken prepared on the island, delicious! And on the way back swam with huge turtles, nurse sharks, and sting rays....

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homeonrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sea View Suites for three nights April 6-8, 2012 after booking a king bed, non-smoking, sea view room three months in advance. The online service was prompt and friendly, and we felt the $75US plus 9% hotel tax rate to be reasonable. At the time of booking a 50% deposit of the total value was required which I found to be typical of most Belizean transactions. If driving be sure to ask for specific instructions to access the behind-hotel free parking lot. We never saw the owners while there but the on-site staff were courteous and conscientious. The hotel is well located centrally in Placencia village and is also ‘beach front’ as there is an empty lot between the building and the sea. Many restaurants and shops can be accessed with a short walk from the hotel. We were given room #1 on the ground level which was spacious and very clean with two moderate sized windows which when standing afforded a ‘sea view’ but not if seated or lying in bed. For such a huge room the bathroom was disproportionately small but well appointed with good quality towels and fixtures, and toiletries were restocked daily. The room furnishings (bed, tables, dresser, loveseat, chairs), linens and window treatments were attractive and of good quality. The air con worked great and there was free wifi access in the common hallway but not in the room. There was a microwave, coffee maker (but no coffee), bar fridge, mugs and glasses. Good quality beach towels were provided. We swam in the sea in front of the hotel; the water was pleasant but the beach not so much with lots of seaweed and litter. There was a second level with a few rooms that shared a balcony with nice views. We enjoyed the roof top deck very much; the views and breezes were inviting and the loungers and chairs plentiful. There was a fresh water shower which was useful after sea swimming and before using the hot tub. We also used the clothesline on several occasions. The staircase to access the deck was a small spiral one which may prove difficult to access if you are elderly or carrying a small child, etc. The common hallway of the first level can echo with extraneous noise totally dependent on the courtesy of your neighbours; one night we were woken at 3:30am by returning partiers and again at 7am by toddlers allowed by their parents to run up and down the hallway length. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Don’t count on actually seeing the sea from your room but make sure you enjoy the wonderful sea views and cooling breezes from the roof top deck as long as you are comfortable with its access by the small spiral staircase.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Sea View Suites (Review)
If you come here in a few year's time these rooms may have lost their sea view, as there is a plot of land for sale right in front of the hotel. But if that happens you will, at least, know that they were not being 'economical with the truth' when they named it, but had had another building slapped up in front of them. In the meantime the views of the beach are great, especially from the third floor roof terrace, which has a Jacuzzi/Spa bath, sun beds and a thatched area to shelter from the sun (or even the rain). Rooms are a good size, with usually a Queen size bed and generous hanging/drawer space. But it is not really for those who want to self cater. There is a fridge, microwave and coffee maker (as beer and caffeine are my main needs this was not too much of a problem) The apartment is right next to the Swiss bakery which does great cinnamon rolls for breakfast, and in the evening there are masses of restaurants to chose from within close walking distance. Given that this is in the town, it is quiet, as it is on the walkway well away from the road.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilymor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews