We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luguna Gecko is amzing!!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Placencia, Stann Creek

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kristi J
Friendswood, Texas
2 reviews
“Luguna Gecko is amzing!!”
Reviewed 1 December 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My family has an amazing trip to Laguna Gecko in Placencia Belize! The house was wonderfully decorated with every comfort you would ever need. The amenities provided made our trip fun, carefree and relaxing. This property is located right on the water with amazing mountain views. It is conveniently located 2 minutes away from The Placencia Hotel were they offer spa services and other great amenities. There are many activities to do while in Placencia we enjoyed snorkeling, fishing, lobster diving, hanging out by the pool, going into town for shopping and entertainment. There is also a brand new casino two minutes from the home. We had such an amazing time at Luguna Gecko! We will definitely return and highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCarolina...
1 review
“Best Belize it was Amazing!”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The whole experience was wonderful! The amenities provided were beyond comparable. We especially enjoyed being able to access everything we needed in the resort by golf cart. Convenience was such an added perk, and the pool was to die for. We will definitely be returning and recommending to our friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayRo...
Cedarburg
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Top option in Placencia for larger group”
Reviewed 2 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We booked the property via vrbo.com, relying on the photos and info supplied by the owner. The Keeners were very helpful and easy to work with during the process.

Our group of 10 -- one small child, teenagers, college students and adults -- had a terrific time at the property. We stayed at Lazy Gecko, which is on the lagoon side, and walked across the road to the beach near the sister property, Tipsy Gecko. We also had use of the property's golf cart to get into town (a 30-min ride) and also to the local market, various resorts to eat, the large resort where we had access (a nice perk, beautiful pool), etc.

We made about half our meals in the kitchen, which was nicely furnished, and I would highly recommend bringing whatever staples you can bring - pasta, rice, cereal, etc. - if you are planning to cook. There is a grocery store a short ride away where you can source most things, but they only get certain things delivered on certain days. We could not get butter or milk for a few days. This is an issue in general, not with the rental at all, and something I would suggest preparing for. However, there are a number of places to eat nearby, so you definitely won't starve and will eat quite well. I highly recommend the Maya Beach Resort restaurant and Splash Diving for excursions.

With children, I would also recommend bringing a few games. The house has Scrabble and Sorry, and we bought a deck of cards in town. There were times when we were all sunburned and just wanted to sit inside.

We were surprised at the quality of the staff at the rental -- daily housekeeping with laundry service from Brenda and Javier the caretaker - which really made the week feel luxurious. They were also very helpful and friendly in general.

I highly recommend checking out Lazy Gecko (or Tipsy Gecko, across the street).

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The house was fantastic.
Liked least: Really nothing. The upstairs TV was broken, but we realized that fixing it probably required shipping one from the USA, so we just rolled with it. We ended up spending all our time downstairs, which was unexpected and rather crowded with 10 people.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Reviewed 26 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Texas
Reviewed 28 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$575
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing