We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maya Beach Hotel is the perfect Belize beach experience!”
Review of Maya Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maya Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2010

My husband and I stayed at Maya Beach Hotel to attend a large celebration. When someone else arranges the accomodations, you are never sure what you might get...we had the best time!
We stayed in the Jaguar Room on the beach. Wow, spacious, comfortable and the view! We had at least 12 feet of windows and a charming screened front door with all beachfront view. Our favorite part was falling asleep and waking to the lapping waves on the beach. This charming room has it's own front porch which is on the beach. We were 15 yards from the water. The beach is so private you hardly see another person. The bed and pillows were the most comfortable that I have ever experienced while traveling. The drinking water tap at the sink was so nice to have. Lots of storage for all our luggage and snorkeling gear.
Make sure to borrow some great cruiser bikes from the front desk. The staff had them sitting out front, waiting for us, exactly the right size. We rode the entire afternoon, visiting galleries, soaking up the sun, the people and shopping. Then back for a refreshing swim in the ocean just outside our room.
MB Hotel also arranged several tours for us, all we had to do was ask! The staff is so nice, thoughtful and personal. They greeted us by name at every meal! The Bistro here also has the best food in Placencia. Every meal is fantastic.
I would definitely recommend a visit here for singles, couples or families. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ME-Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

531 - 535 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2010

My husband and I stayed at Agua Villa in January, 2010 when we traveled to Placencia to celebrate our friends’ 20th wedding anniversary and the wife’s birthday with a group of 22 other people. Agua Villa is a beautiful, spacious 3 bedroom house right off the beach with an infinity pool and hot tub. The property is quiet, peaceful and restful. There were 2 other couples staying with us at Agua Villa and it never felt crowded. The kitchen is well equipped and easily accommodated cooking the pot-luck dinner we held there for 22+ people the second night as well as several parties over the course of our 5 night stay. Numerous pool chairs, recliners and an outdoor dining table on the deck area surrounding the pool provide ample outdoor living space. The bedrooms and bathrooms are comfortable and the housekeeping staff did an outstanding job of keeping everything neat and tidy despite the near constant traffic of our large group in and out of the pool and house.

Agua Villa is a very short walk from the Maya Beach Hotel. Our guide book said that the Maya Beach Hotel’s restaurant is the best restaurant in Belize and, based on our meals there, I would not be surprised. Everything we had was fresh and delicious, especially the fish dishes and the service was excellent. We particularly liked the lobster omelets for breakfast and the nut-crusted snapper for dinner. The fish dishes change daily depending on the local catch. Some of our group stayed at the Maya Beach Hotel and the owners went out of their way to help us coordinate our local activities and make sure we were all having a good time.

We thoroughly enjoyed both our stay at Agua Villa and the meals we had at the Maya Beach Hotel and recommend both highly.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenm38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Agua Villa is a beautiful home right on the beach. It is very peaceful and beautiful. The pool is a lovely. It is very private and close to the Maya Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank progers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We spent a week this past Christmas, and could not have asked for a more pleasant place to stay. A beautiful view of an ocean free of ski-doos and power boats. Delicious food (if they have Snook, order it). Television and cell phone free silence. Beautiful snorkeling a short kayak ride away, and hosts who ensure that your stay is as interesting or sedentary as you desire all combined to provide us with a delightful holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgmcreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We stayed here with our two teenagers for 5 nights at New Years and couldn't have been more happy with our stay. The rooms are comfortable and equipped with everything you need. The location is stellar as it is on the beach and the lapping waves make drifting into a deep slumber quite easy to do. The rooms face East so morning sunrises are a pleasant ritual. The rooms have both fans and AC, which we used several times when the breeze stopped. My wife and I are gourmands and we could not believe how good the food was. John is a very creative chef and was accommodating in cooking up a Barracuda for dinner I caught on a guided fishing trip set up by Ellen.
The hotel is about 10 minutes or so to town so it was handy to have a car. We heard several travelers complain about the high cost of a cab so be prepared to bring some coin for this if you don't have one as it is a fun place to go visit. We had a hard time however prying ourselves away from the cooking here however as the meals were simply awesome.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpokaneHikerBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
10.6 km away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
785 reviews
11.6 km away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
10.1 km away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#12 of 20 in Placencia
242 reviews
0.6 km away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
7.1 km away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 20 in Placencia
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Beach Hotel

Address: Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#2 Family Hotel in Placencia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: RM413 - RM1,052 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maya Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a pretty stretch of natural sand beach, the Maya Beach Hotel is a small mid-range beach resort for couples who need comfort, but not luxury. Our hotel rooms are air conditioned with queen beds, our king suites have king beds and kitchenettes and we also offer some beach house rentals in different price ranges. Our Bistro and swimming pool are a gathering place at the end of a day filled with snorkeling, diving, fishing, kayaking, jungle hiking, spelunking, climbing Maya ruins, or just plain relaxing on the beach. The restaurant was also has also been awarded "Restaurant of the Year" twice by the Belize Tourism Board, and it remains a highlight of a stay here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Maya Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Beach Placencia
Hotel Maya Beach
Maya Beach Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing