We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just down the beach from MBH is the incredible Casa Beya!!!”
Review of Maya Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maya Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2007

We booked one of the houses managed by The Maya Beach Hotel; Casa Beya. We had a wonderful time!

We did not utlize Mike, the caretaker, for much during our stay at Casa Beya. We all opted to do everything ourselves as part of the process of becoming part of the local scene and experiencing life in Belize. Mike was always around and asking if he could help us with anything and we appreciated that but we are basic do it yourself people whether at home or on vacation. Casa Beya was wonderfull and everyone loved it. The women especially were facinated about the small touches in the decore and were always finding something new to wonder at. Chris and I took the two person Kayak over to the island and the waves sunk us on the way back. It takes a long time to row back in a sunken Kayak but it can be done. The landscaping on the beach side of the house is absolutely beautiful and totally relaxing. I was up early every morning to sit on the deck with coffee and watch the sunrise. What a great way to start a day! The MB hotel has cinnamon buns to die for so we brought some back to the ladies one morning so they could enjoy them on the deck. It's part of the male hunter-gatherer instinct. The weather was perfect. Not too hot, not too cold, and no bugs. Even the no-see-ums left us alone. We had a rental car so we drove up to the Jaguar Paw Resort and did the Zip-line and cave tubing thing on Monday. No one should miss the opportunity to do this while in Belize. Zipping through the trees suspended from a steel cable is a real rush and a whole lot of fun. We will talk about that experience forever. To sum it up we found some really awful roads, some really great adventures, and some really wonderful people. Thank you for Casa Beya.
George

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Coloradobeachbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

599 - 603 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2007

Oh, fabulosity.

We had such a great time. Even during peak-peak season, New Year's week, we frequently felt like we had the resort to ourselves. We spent days reading in the hammocks on the dock, swimming, thinking about maybe taking out the kayaks...

John and Ellen, as all of the entries say, are truly fabulous hosts. They really make you feel like guests in their home. They, along with their entire staff, know every guest by name.

And the restaurant... Everything is homemade, including the bagels (which even impressed my boyfriend, who will buy bagels from exactly ONE shop in all of San Francisco). I'm pretty sure that between the two of us, by the time we left we had consumed everything on the menu, each item tastier than the last.

Totally wonderful!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esoterica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2007

My husband and I spent a week in January at the Maya Beach Hotel and had a FABULOUS time. The good impressions of MBH started even before we arrived. I was able to book the room using their useful website and communicated directly with hotel staff via email to ask questions and arrange tours. The responses I received were extremely timely (usually the same day).

Upon arriving at the hotel, we were checked in quickly given our key, and on our way in just minutes. Not even 30 minutes after arrival, we were in the water (literally only 60 feet from our room!!). For hotel guests, MBH utilizes a tab system, so you can add all meals, tours, flights, and drinks to your account and pay upon check out. That made things so easy for us. Additionally, Bonifacio at the front desk was able to easily book our flight from Placencia to Belize City last-minute the day before.

We stayed in the Toucan Room, which was an excellent choice. The room is upstairs and was extremely clean. Our view from the windows was of the water and palm trees - doesn't get much better than that! The room had plenty of drawers and nice furniture. The room and bathroom were basic yet comfortable - and extremely clean. There were even hibiscus blossoms on our pillows and towels when we arrived.

MBH has a phenominal bistro on the property. We thoroughly enjoyed everything we ate. I especially liked the banana boat sandwich -banana, shrimp, bacon, and melted cheddar on a bun hollowed out to make a boat. Very creative and extremely tasty. Both my husband and I enjoyed the ceviche. All vegetables were washed in filtered water, so there was no worry about eating the delicious salads that came with the meals. Definitely try the mango poppyseed salad dressing! Additionally, MBH makes all of it's bread - all of it was fabulous.

The hotel has an awesome covered dock where we spent most of our days in the sun and in hammocks. There are stairs at the end of the dock so you can ease yourself right into the water. There are lounge chairs back on the beach as well as kayaks to use. We kayaked out to False Caye one morning - definitely worth it. The water in the area is beautiful blue - you can even see the bottom!

John and Ellen were excellent, friendly hosts. They are willing to give rides to Placencia if they are headed into town. Taxis from the hotel are about $15, so we tried to plan our trips into Placencia to coincide with their trips. They are both also extremely knowledgeable about Belize and can give valuable advice on just about anything. Additionally, they have a safe that only John and Ellen have access to where you can stash valuables. John and Ellen also have an excellent staff. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and definitely made the effort to ensure that our stay was good.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone interested in seeing Placencia but not being in the middle of the action. That is exactly what we wanted and precisely what we got. Our week at MBH was wonderful and relaxing and we would definitely stay here again if we return to Belize!

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank ChristineB-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2007

Aqua Villa House, Maya Beach Hotel
Date: Dec. 23/06 to Jan. 1/07

We had a terrific family holiday at the Aqua Villa House. With four adults and 3 boys in their late teens we all had space and privacy when we wanted it, while the large patio and pool provided a focal point where we could all both relax and play together. We shopped in Placencia & enjoyed cooking on the outdoor barbecue & dining on the patio, as well as savoring many good meals at the Maya Beach Hotel a short walk down the beach. The atmosphere was relaxed, friendly and safe. We enjoyed long walks on the beach (lots of interesting birds & wild flowers), extensive kayaking & snorkelling, and exploring Placencia (don't miss the terrific gelato). The tours to Laughing Bird Caye for snorkelling & diving, boating up the Monkey River to see birds & monkeys, and to the Maya ruins at Xunantunich gave us a feel for the country and our guides were all very knowledgeable. The only thing I would have changed would have been to order more calm seas for the snorkelling, but overall we enjoyed the variety of weather. I can't say enough about how friendly and helpful owners John & Ellen Lee and their staff are. There was plenty to do and see and we all wished we could have stayed longer. My boys rated it their best Christmas ever.

Sandra

Stayed: December 2006
2  Thank SandraPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2007

We stayed at the Aqua Villa house that Maya Beach managed just down the beach. Everyday a maid would glide in and change linens and clean the bathrooms just like we were in the hotel. A short bare-foot walk down the beach to the hotel yielded great drinks at the bar while chatting with the John, Ellen, and Jerry, followed by a plate of the best food in Maya Beach. I should disclose that the dinners and lunches are excellent but can be eclipsed while you are there; just order desert! The weather could have been better but we don't hold that against the hotel, and the comfort of the Aqua Villa house still made it a great vacation. Hiking and kayaking in the Rainforest are only 30 min away and Placencia is 20 min. Highly suggest this place over any others I looked at on the peninsula.
Ellen and John Lee take alot of pride in their hotel, food, and hosting. They went out the their way to book trips, get good local rates, and suggest things for us to do. I will put in a word of caution: Maya Beach is a great place to relax and enjoy good food with no crowds and lots of outdoor activities, it is not a place for booming night life or loud radios. Evenings are warm, quite, and friendly events that end around 10 or 11 pm. I hope anyone reading this also has a chance to try this hotel.
Thanks again to Ellen and John
Pete T

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TR31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
10.6 km away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
782 reviews
11.6 km away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
10.1 km away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#12 of 20 in Placencia
241 reviews
0.6 km away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
7.1 km away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 20 in Placencia
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Beach Hotel

Address: Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Placencia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: RM363 - RM1,090 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a pretty stretch of natural sand beach, the Maya Beach Hotel is a small mid-range beach resort for couples who need comfort, but not luxury. Our hotel rooms are air conditioned with queen beds, our king suites have king beds and kitchenettes and we also offer some beach house rentals in different price ranges. Our Bistro and swimming pool are a gathering place at the end of a day filled with snorkeling, diving, fishing, kayaking, jungle hiking, spelunking, climbing Maya ruins, or just plain relaxing on the beach. The restaurant was also has also been awarded "Restaurant of the Year" twice by the Belize Tourism Board, and it remains a highlight of a stay here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maya Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Beach Placencia
Hotel Maya Beach
Maya Beach Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing