We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maya Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$259
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Parrot Beach Houses(Placencia)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Singing Sands Inn(Placencia)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Vacation Hotel(Placencia)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Turtle Inn(Placencia)
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (709)
Filter reviews
709 results
Traveller rating
590
103
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
590
103
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjaguar roommaya beachcreamsicledreamsicle houseking conchhibiscus roomjoya del markingfishhotel bistrojohn ellenaqua villafalse cayeowners and staffevery mealpork chopbelize cityhotel guests
Filter
Updating list...
659 - 664 of 709 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2007

Oh, fabulosity.

We had such a great time. Even during peak-peak season, New Year's week, we frequently felt like we had the resort to ourselves. We spent days reading in the hammocks on the dock, swimming, thinking about maybe taking out the kayaks...

John and Ellen, as all of the entries say, are truly fabulous hosts. They really make you feel like guests in their home. They, along with their entire staff, know every guest by name.

And the restaurant... Everything is homemade, including the bagels (which even impressed my boyfriend, who will buy bagels from exactly ONE shop in all of San Francisco). I'm pretty sure that between the two of us, by the time we left we had consumed everything on the menu, each item tastier than the last.

Totally wonderful!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esoterica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2007

My husband and I spent a week in January at the Maya Beach Hotel and had a FABULOUS time. The good impressions of MBH started even before we arrived. I was able to book the room using their useful website and communicated directly with hotel staff via email to ask questions and arrange tours. The responses I received were extremely timely (usually the same day).

Upon arriving at the hotel, we were checked in quickly given our key, and on our way in just minutes. Not even 30 minutes after arrival, we were in the water (literally only 60 feet from our room!!). For hotel guests, MBH utilizes a tab system, so you can add all meals, tours, flights, and drinks to your account and pay upon check out. That made things so easy for us. Additionally, Bonifacio at the front desk was able to easily book our flight from Placencia to Belize City last-minute the day before.

We stayed in the Toucan Room, which was an excellent choice. The room is upstairs and was extremely clean. Our view from the windows was of the water and palm trees - doesn't get much better than that! The room had plenty of drawers and nice furniture. The room and bathroom were basic yet comfortable - and extremely clean. There were even hibiscus blossoms on our pillows and towels when we arrived.

MBH has a phenominal bistro on the property. We thoroughly enjoyed everything we ate. I especially liked the banana boat sandwich -banana, shrimp, bacon, and melted cheddar on a bun hollowed out to make a boat. Very creative and extremely tasty. Both my husband and I enjoyed the ceviche. All vegetables were washed in filtered water, so there was no worry about eating the delicious salads that came with the meals. Definitely try the mango poppyseed salad dressing! Additionally, MBH makes all of it's bread - all of it was fabulous.

The hotel has an awesome covered dock where we spent most of our days in the sun and in hammocks. There are stairs at the end of the dock so you can ease yourself right into the water. There are lounge chairs back on the beach as well as kayaks to use. We kayaked out to False Caye one morning - definitely worth it. The water in the area is beautiful blue - you can even see the bottom!

John and Ellen were excellent, friendly hosts. They are willing to give rides to Placencia if they are headed into town. Taxis from the hotel are about $15, so we tried to plan our trips into Placencia to coincide with their trips. They are both also extremely knowledgeable about Belize and can give valuable advice on just about anything. Additionally, they have a safe that only John and Ellen have access to where you can stash valuables. John and Ellen also have an excellent staff. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and definitely made the effort to ensure that our stay was good.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone interested in seeing Placencia but not being in the middle of the action. That is exactly what we wanted and precisely what we got. Our week at MBH was wonderful and relaxing and we would definitely stay here again if we return to Belize!

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank ChristineB-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2007

Aqua Villa House, Maya Beach Hotel
Date: Dec. 23/06 to Jan. 1/07

We had a terrific family holiday at the Aqua Villa House. With four adults and 3 boys in their late teens we all had space and privacy when we wanted it, while the large patio and pool provided a focal point where we could all both relax and play together. We shopped in Placencia & enjoyed cooking on the outdoor barbecue & dining on the patio, as well as savoring many good meals at the Maya Beach Hotel a short walk down the beach. The atmosphere was relaxed, friendly and safe. We enjoyed long walks on the beach (lots of interesting birds & wild flowers), extensive kayaking & snorkelling, and exploring Placencia (don't miss the terrific gelato). The tours to Laughing Bird Caye for snorkelling & diving, boating up the Monkey River to see birds & monkeys, and to the Maya ruins at Xunantunich gave us a feel for the country and our guides were all very knowledgeable. The only thing I would have changed would have been to order more calm seas for the snorkelling, but overall we enjoyed the variety of weather. I can't say enough about how friendly and helpful owners John & Ellen Lee and their staff are. There was plenty to do and see and we all wished we could have stayed longer. My boys rated it their best Christmas ever.

Sandra

Stayed: December 2006
2  Thank SandraPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2007

We stayed at the Aqua Villa house that Maya Beach managed just down the beach. Everyday a maid would glide in and change linens and clean the bathrooms just like we were in the hotel. A short bare-foot walk down the beach to the hotel yielded great drinks at the bar while chatting with the John, Ellen, and Jerry, followed by a plate of the best food in Maya Beach. I should disclose that the dinners and lunches are excellent but can be eclipsed while you are there; just order desert! The weather could have been better but we don't hold that against the hotel, and the comfort of the Aqua Villa house still made it a great vacation. Hiking and kayaking in the Rainforest are only 30 min away and Placencia is 20 min. Highly suggest this place over any others I looked at on the peninsula.
Ellen and John Lee take alot of pride in their hotel, food, and hosting. They went out the their way to book trips, get good local rates, and suggest things for us to do. I will put in a word of caution: Maya Beach is a great place to relax and enjoy good food with no crowds and lots of outdoor activities, it is not a place for booming night life or loud radios. Evenings are warm, quite, and friendly events that end around 10 or 11 pm. I hope anyone reading this also has a chance to try this hotel.
Thanks again to Ellen and John
Pete T

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TR31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2007

This awesome hotel is in a wonderful location on Maya Beach in Placencia with breathtaking views of the Sea as well as beautiful, comfortable and secure rooms. Don't miss out - especially on John's cooking. Reservations required. John and Ellen are exceptional hosts with a very committed staff that are there to make your stay the best it can be. The pool is gorgeous and very lovely. Make sure you have Oscar make a flip flop for you. It will be a lovely night cap to a spectacular day. Many activities are available and can be arranged for you by the hotel with minimal effort. They made the end of our trip memorable and pleasant and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank HANKTHETANK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews