We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of luxury in the perfect rainforest location”
Review of Belcampo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belcampo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oasis of luxury in the perfect rainforest location”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at Belcampo for the last 3 days of a 3-week vacation in Belize. We enjoyed each place we stayed (Hopkins/Almond Beach, Cave's Branch, and Ambergris Caye/El Pescador), but Belcamp, located atop Machaca Hill, was by far the most luxurious. No detail has been overlooked -- beautiful, private rooms with the most inviting shower ever; fun, friendly and attentive staff; cooperative wildlife on the lodge's grounds; fresh fruits and veggies grown in the resort's amazing garden; the best margaritas in Belize; and best of all, DAILY LAUNDRY SERVICE. We arrived back home in Alaska with CLEAN LAUNDRY.

We stayed at Belcampo with our 8-year-old daughter, and she absolutely loved this place. The staff and guides were so friendly to her, and went out of their way to arrange activities that she loved. Although it's not a regular excursion, the staff arranged for us to go horseback riding one morning; Jose at Cottonwood was so patient & informative. And the waterfall hiking trip was amazing -- I highly recommend it. Desmond was our guide, and he was great.

Meals at the resort were a pleasure, and made even better by the fact that they are eaten outside under a wide, covered deck with fabulous 180-degree views. We used the spotting scope that stays on the deck to watch the wildfile in the huge cotton tree: howler monkeys, toucans, parakeets, and many other kinds of birds. Chan, one of the guides, knew lots about the birds we saw. Belcampo was the only place we stayed where we were able to watch the sunset over the hills. There's a great outdoor table at the lodge to do this while enjoying a Belikin or fresh-squeezed limejuice margarita.

My husband spent 2 days fishing with guide "Scully," and had nothing but great things to say about the experience. Evidently the fish were huge and fun to fight, regardless of whether the fish made it into the boat.

This is a place we would absolutely go back to.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
130
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver,
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My wife and I went to Machaca/Belcampo in December 2011. We had very high expectations before we got there, and this place exceeded all of our expectations. The attention to detail by the staff is something that we very much noticed and appreciated - for example, they ask what drinks you like in the morning and make sure that they have it ready for you when you stroll into breakfast. The food is phenomenal. Belcampo has a garden on their property and grow most of the fruits and vegetables that they serve. Mara, the head chef, is fantastic. Every meal was delicious and we loved eating in the main lodge area that overlooks the jungle canopy. They have a very good wine selection as well.

The rooms are really nice and spacious, and we really liked the open layout in the bathroom and the huge, walk-in shower. All of the cabins have a screen porch, which is very relaxing and enjoyable.

The main purpose of our trip was to go fly fishing in Punta Gorda, and we had a couple great days fishing for permit and snook.

There are a lot of activities (bird watching, kayaking, visiting the caves, waterfalls, etc) and the guides on staff are all very friendly and knowledgeable.

We can't wait to go back again!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2012

i loved this resort! and the zipline near by was awsome!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsey n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This was the second part of our Belize family vacation. With our 4 children, ages 16-26 we ventured into the southern rainforest of Belize after our stay for 4 days at Ambergris Caye for sun and fun. The 1 hour flight from San Pedro to Punta Gorda was beautiful. A Cessna Caravan that flew at about 2,000 feet, so the view was wonderful. Upon arrival at the airstrip we were greeted by Vince and his helper in a beautiful safari Range Rover that had plenty of room for our entire family and luggage. The service was nonstop perfect from that point until we left 4 days later. When we arrived at the lodge we were greeted by the manager couple Christine and Devine. They were so friendly as well as all the help. We took tours both days with Vince, which is a must. Waterfalls, Mayan ruins and lunch with Vince’s family home in a Mayan village was a highlight. We ate at the resort every night, it won’t disappoint. Celebrated my birthday the second night in the open air dining room with an amazing downpour tropical rainstorm just a few feet away. We enjoyed the howler monkeys in the nearby trees and saw a couple of toucans as well. A great experience for a family to experience other cultures first hand. The meals were amazing at the Machaca Hill. Great wine selection too! All in all a great time was had by all. I want to go back again soon, next time in the winter season. Our kids will always remember this trip. Very memorable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank crc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
119 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Overall I would rate my stay as excellent. The staff are very friendly, down-to-earth and personable. The room is comfortable. There is no door between the shower area and the rest of the cabin, seems to be a growing trend within the hotel industry. The patio area was very enjoyable and comfortable because it was screened. I could sit and watch the howler monkeys move along the 'monkey highway'. Because the room is open to the outdoors it seems a tremendous waste to turn on the AC, so I just used the fan. Every corner of the room was kept very clean. I was awoken each morning at dawn by the calls of birds and the howls of monkeys. Take ear plugs if you like to sleep in!

The quality of the food was uneven and ranged from outsanding to poor. Seems they were in the middle of switching chefs. I hope they are able to maintain the high standards. Although the food is excellent, the prices are quite high. I would recommend going with the all-inclusive package which also includes laundry. Not that hard to become hot, sticky and sweaty in the tropical setting.

Excursions were rather informal, but still pleasant. You can be as active or relaxed as you would like.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livetowander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
38.6 km away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 9 in Livingston
257 reviews
39.0 km away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
95 reviews
14.6 km away
Cotton Tree Lodge
Cotton Tree Lodge
#4 of 18 in Punta Gorda
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
The Lodge At Big Falls
The Lodge At Big Falls
#1 of 1 in Big Falls
192 reviews
8.2 km away
Coral House
Coral House
#3 of 18 in Punta Gorda
170 reviews
6.8 km away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#8 of 18 in Punta Gorda
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belcampo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belcampo Lodge

Property: Belcampo Lodge
Address: Wilson Road, Punta Gorda, Belize (Formerly Machaca Hill Rainforest Canopy Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Price range (per night): RM1,347 - RM2,038
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belcampo Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agritourism-chic in Punta Gorda: a Jungle Lodge, organic farm and a 12,000-acre nature reserve. Set in the verdant hills above the Caribbean coast of southern Belize in the town of Punta Gorda. From our dock you can embark on our tranquil cruises on the jungle reaches of the Rio Grande, or our guided snorkeling and fishing adventures on the Caribbean Sea. Nim Li Punit and many other attractions are located nearby. At the heart of Belcampo Belize is the Main Lodge with our Jungle Farm Restaurant, the Rum Bar, the Jungle Spa, lounge areas, a swimming pool, and observation decks that open to stunning vistas of the coast, the Maya Mountains and a seemingly endless pristine rainforest. Our 16 individual, spacious suites are well appointed with plush beds, screened fresh-air verandas, and spa-style bathrooms with floor to ceiling tropical rainforest views. Belcampo Belize has 16 private suites offering the best in luxury and comfort. A testament to Belize's natural beauty and craftsmanship, nearly every detail, from the woodwork to the tiles to the artwork, is sourced from local artisans. If you're relaxing on one of the canopy beds or lounging on your own private veranda, you will experience the magic of the jungle within the comfort of your room. Enjoy a drink in our Rum Room with ingredients sourced from our own Cocktail Garden. Meals (including complimentary breakfast daily) are served in our Jungle Farm restaurant. We produce on-site more than 70% of the food we serve to Lodge guests. With extensive gardens, tropical fruit trees, and livestock, our day-to-day food production is a hive of activity year round. Optional tours available are: •Snorkeling •Scuba diving •Fly fishing •Birding •Cultural tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Belcampo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belcampo Hotel Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing