We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveller rating
129
144
67
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
144
67
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall museumlake atitlanhotel amenitieshotel safeacceptable hotelsoap dispenserping pongrestaurant terraceroom was spaciousvery nice hotelswimming poolbars and restaurantssister hoteluntil midnightviews are amazingspent two nightsoutdoor patio
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 368 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2014

We stayed here for three nights before Christmas in a superior lake view room. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable and definitely looked better than the standard rooms. The hotel, though, lacked character and was not helped by the piped Christmas music playing everywhere. The dining room was soulless and food average, and Panajachel itself has been completely spoiled by cheap restaurants and neon lights. It is a bit like a low budget Mediterranean resort. There was also an issue with the hot water, which appears to be turned off during the day. Not ideal if you've spent the day hiking and want to come back to a hot shower. Lake Atitlan is beautiful and there are some interesting things to do in the area, but if I went back I would look for somewhere in a quieter location and with a bit more character.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for a lake view room.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ruth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2015

Thank you for your review!
We are very sorry you did not have a pleasant stay while visiting us in Panajachel, we always value our customers opinions and will take into consideration every comment you made. We know that these reviews can help us improve in what our clients are looking for and this will be no exception. We hope that on your next visit you can give us a second chance, and we thank you for taking the time to write this review!
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2014

the positives , great location staff was nice I did not eat dinner here breakfast was fine bacon ,eggs, refried beans. as others have said it is a little worn and pretty dated and perhaps the ugliest pool I have ever seen rooms were clean but need updating fine for a night otherwise look elsewhere

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank william k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write this review!
We appreciate all fo your comments and will take into consideration your suggestions to improve. We hope to have you again in the near future, and hope you give us a second chance. Thank you for visitin Panajachcel!
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014

This large, well placed hotel suited our trip to Panajachel just fine. My daughter and I spent two nights here. Our room was clean and quiet, the breakfast provided a lovely view of the lake, and we had a fairly successful dinner in the dining room one evening also. It's located right next to the lake for a great view and an easy way to schedule a boat trip across the lake to San Juan de Laguna, for instance. We were there for Independence Day, and right outside the hotel entrance was the staging area for one of the parades, so it was great fun.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2015

Thank you for your review!
We are very happy to hear you and your daughter had a great stay with us... We appreciate all of your comments. We hope to have the chance to serve you again in the near future!
Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel has a lot to recommend it but we had a difficult time there with severe food poisoning for one child and the rest of us with milder symptoms, so that has rather influenced this review.

Its location is great - right by the lake, and at the corner of the main tourist street - if you want to stay in Panajachel. We wanted to stay by Lake Atitlan for part of our Guatemala trip, but didn't realise quite how a tourist honey pot this town is, and next time I would research more and probably choose somewhere in a nearby village.

It also has lovely views of the Lake, nice gardens, table football and table tennis tables, and a small swimming pool which has a fun flume/slide: very unusual and added fun for the pool.

The dining room is a little dark and gloomy though, as is the corridor to the rooms, which are fine, perhaps a little dated. Not important to us, but the TV reception is not good, with few English speaking channels. There is a general air of faded dated glory about the place. It's also expensive - when we stayed in Antigua at the excellent Porta Hotel Antigua, the food was better and cheaper. Here a main course will cost 130 Quetzales, there around 100.

After three days there, eating/drinking only from the hotel, one of our sons fell very ill with food poisoning. These things happen, especially in hot climates, so we made it known to the hotel - in case there was a more generic problem they needed to deal with - but didn't make a huge fuss. They were quiet about it, no apology, but allowed us another room whilst the first was cleaned up. We all suffered much milder but still irritating symptoms. It's difficult for me to try and guess what my review would have been if this hadn't happened, but this week is generally referred to by us as 'Pana-in-hell'.....As I say earlier in this review, if we return to the lake, I would most likely choose another location to Pana.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GusinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2015

Thank you for your review!
We are deeply sorry to hear you and your family had such a negative experience with us... Words cannot express our worry with this whole situation. Please rest assure we will take actions regarding all of your comments and only hope that you and your family are doing better. Again we apologize for this bad experience and hope to have the chance to see you again to amend this whole situation.
Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had two rooms, double queens, great showers, clean, nice air conditioning and beautiful views! We will be returning! Internet was available though spotty in room. The restaurant provided a better location for connecting.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view..
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write this review!
We appreciate all of your kind words, and it fills us with pride to know you and your family had a great time with us.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews