We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Regis Panajachel(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$62
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Jardines del Lago(Panajachel)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cacique Inn(Panajachel)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Porta Hotel Del Lago(Panajachel)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel El Sol(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$25
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Utz Jay(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada de los Volcanes(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Atitlan(Panajachel)
US$155
US$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villas Balam Ya(Panajachel)
US$143
US$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
128
143
65
19
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
143
65
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall museumlake atitlanthe lake view roomsupper terracehotel amenitieshotel safeacceptable hotelthe air conditioningsoap dispenserping pongrestaurant terraceroom was spaciousvery nice hotelbars and restaurantssister hoteluntil midnightamazing location
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 363 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Hotel need updating, no HVAC in the rooms, no toiletries in bathroom (bring your own soap and shampoo), not enough towels, bed covers overused and need updating, not worth the $$ payed for the stay . Breakfast included, but you can only selected from a limited part of the menu.

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank thejetsetter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2016

Dear guest,

For Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo, It will be always a pleasure to serve you.

We appreciate the time you take to write and your comments, we are taking
care that our staff explain in the reservation moment and checking time that
we have two different areas to stay: Standard Area and LakeView Area (this
one with HVAC), and that for standard area we can provide a fan if needed.

Our Mission is to provide you anything you need to be comfortable during
your stay and your suggestions are very important to have a better service.

Best regards.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Like the title reads, this hotel is very well located on the lake and basically in the middle of the town. The staff is friendly and try to be accommodating where they can, but are limited to what the hotel has to offer.

My wife and 18 month old son booked a 3 night stay here after visiting Antigua. The night before we were to check in, we were notified that they were overbooked and did not have a room for us on our first night. We decided to stay in Antigua one more night (as opposed to the 'more economical' hotel that Posada de Don Rodrigo offered to book us in). Not a huge deal at the point, but annoying to have to reshuffle our travel last minute. They offered free breakfast to make up for it, not nearly enough to cover the added expense of staying in Antigua.

We arrived at the Hotel and were taken to our room shortly after (even though it was well before check in time).

Our room, as well as most other rooms in the hotel that we could see have windows to the corridor and dark curtains for privacy. Again, normally not a big deal except for the fact that it is basically pitch black during the day. When we complained about this, we were offered another room with the caveat that it faced a bar that would have live music until 1030 pm. We chose the least of 2 evils and stayed in the dark room. The beds are excessively hard, i don't mean firm (i normally like firm) i mean my back literally hurt when laying on the bed, they are cheap and very uncomfortable. Although we did not have a band playing next to our window, the dark room was still very noisy.

We had one meal at the hotel. It was sub par to say the least. My wife's steak was served cold (not sure how that happens with grilled steak) and everything else was just ordinary. A meal like this in a very expensive city would cost you 10-15 per person... We paid $56 total. Shame on us for not looking at the prices in the menu, but none the less, it felt excessive.

We called a few other hotels, even back in Antigua (yes we were willing to drive 3 hours back to Antigua the day we arrived) to find another room but unfortunately there was no vacancy until the next day so we stayed the night. Overall, we got very little enjoyment of this property as a whole. I would be happy to pay more for something worth the money, but really feel ripped off, unsatisfied and simply disappointed that we wasted so much of our short vacation on something that was just not enjoyable.

If you are on the younger side traveling with friends and really want a hotel to sleep and leave your things while you enjoy the town and lake, you might have a different experience. If you need a comfortable room, because of children or just want to get a good rest, avoid the place as much as possible. This would be more suited as a $60-70 hotel room.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Jammil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, that will help us to improve the hotel service.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

If location, beautiful views and service are at the top of yor lost then very good. The place in general needs more paint, maintenance and looks dated. Rooms inside are nice, beds are too stiff, no toiletries, only industrial type soap dispensers. Food and service are very good. Not worth the $130 per night overall.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Rodrigo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Thank you very much for your review!
We appreciate you taking the time to write your experience while staying with us... We will take into consideration all of your suggestions about the maintenance, and take action to improve, but overall we are happy that you enjoyed your stay!
Hope to serve you again in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

This place is good for the price, expensive for Guatemala but average for US dollar. The room was clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. The staff speaks some English, mostly Spanish. It is surrounded by tourist areas, but the hotel is quiet with security at the entrance. Also,There is a beach between the hotel and the lake.

The restaurant is a bit pricey with good food. There were a number of families staying as well. If you need to rest, there are hammocks hung thought the property.

When I spoke of this hotel to Guatemalans, they always responded positively saying this is a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Thank you so much for this amazing description!
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed you stay with us, it is always very comforting to hear our guests feedback.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We stayed one night at this property. Our room was downstairs but had a great view out the french doors, of Lake Atitlán and the volcanoes. This was likely one of the better hotels in the area from my research and the price reflected that. It was expensive by Guatemalan standards. The service and front desk were top notch. The property has hammocks, some fun tire swings for kids, nice landscaping, and some game tables (foosball, pool, etc.). I was unclear whether you had to rent the balls to play. They also have an outdoor pool with a big slide. I do not know if wifi was included with the room because I didn't ask, but did not see any password in the room when I looked. I can't say it was the best place we have stayed in Guatemala, especially for the price, but it seemed like the Panajachel area has a lot of complaints in general about the hotels being run down. This was not in perfect condition either, but pretty good and the location was great, right on the lake and not too far to walk or take a tuk-tuk to restaurants. We ate breakfast at the restaurant which seemed very overpriced with small portions, especially if you are avoiding fruit and juice as we were. Most of the restaurants in the area offer a much better value, although read reviews to find the better ones. If we return to the area, we would consider staying here again, although I would also look into other properties to see what they have to offer. If you are used to the average American hotel, don't mind spending a bit more, want some Guatemalan flair, but also want to play it safe, this would likely serve your needs well.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Thank you very much for your review!
We appreciate you taking the time to write your experience while staying with us... We will take into consideration all of your suggestions, and take action to improve, but overall we are happy that you enjoyed your stay!
Hope to serve you again in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews