We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada Los Encuentros
Nearby Hotels
Porta Hotel Del Lago(Panajachel)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Regis Panajachel(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
US$52
US$34
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Villas Balam Ya(Panajachel)
US$320
US$270
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Playa Linda(Panajachel)
US$69
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jardines del Lago(Panajachel)
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Atitlan(Panajachel)
US$180
US$128
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Utz Jay(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
US$40
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
54
27
6
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
27
6
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmedicinal gardenhot tubgallon juglake atitlanother guestspure waterhighly recommend staying herethe main houseenjoyed our stayrichardsinkantigua
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2018

We were there just for lunch and the food and service were very good. We had several options to choose from and the portions were perfect. Their hibiscus tea was very refreshing. The dining room was charming.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clfoley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

We enjoyed our stay and Richard's friendly and fine hospitality, including good breakfasts with good coffee. We should add that we had a great day touring several villages around the lake with Richard. He knows everyone and knows lots of enjoyable spots to visit.

Thanks again Richard!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank jonhaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Richard, the American host who runs this Posada, made us feel at home and was very knowledgeable. He told us all there was to know about the different villages around Lake Atitlan and recommended we took the morning lancha to visit different villages. Our room, number 3, was cosy, clean and even had a kitchen and sitting room. The view from the look out of the posada was beautiful. We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank avdbergh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We had a room that was practically a studio apartment. It had a kitchen w/ a full refrigerator,sink & 2 burner stove. Our bed was covered w/a lovey Mayan blanket. There was a 5 gallon jug of pure water outside on our landing. Unfortunately wifi did not extend through the thick walls into our room. We could access it from our landing & in the main house. The courtyard is a maze of medicinal plants. We were satisfied with the simple cold continental breakfast that was included. Richard was a knowledgeable and congenial host

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arlynnh543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We are presently in roome No. 3 and unlucky us, we are here for 4 days! the bed is finished! we realised this early last night, and at 2 am we finally found covers in a closet that we put on the mattress, This helped us not not to feel the springs so much! This morning we asked Carla who said she does not have another room but she found another small mattress to put on top of the other one! Unfortunaly the mattress is smaller than a double and so hard that we will probably have to go back to the solution found yesterday! On top of this, Room no. 3 is adjacent to another room used probably by a worker, very nice we imagine but who,wakes us at 6:00. and the wall between us seems to be in paper, especially since their is a wooden door between us!
All this to,say that we do not know about the other rooms but if room no. 3 is the only one left better go to a Hostel, at least you would know why you are paying!

Room Tip: not room 3 .
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank relaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freezedry, Propietario at Posada Los Encuentros, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

This was the 1st complaint we have received about the mattress in this room. Thus, it seems exaggerated. Nevertheless, the bed was changed with a new one during the guest's stay. It couldn't be done instantly but it was done as quickly as possible. Pending the arrival of the new bed there was an interim change mentioned by the guest that the housekeeper was told was satisfactory. And, we were told that the new bed was much appreciated. We would hope the guest will modify her report to you.
There was no one lodged in the adjacent room. It is only used as an optional sitting room complement to No.3 at a higher price. The guest had no interest in paying this supplement. Nor did the guest choose to leave in search of lodging elsewhere. The guest did not complain to us about noise from this room, thus we are totally dunbfounded as to this complaint. At any rate, all our adjacent walls are of block construction which deadens sound between rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews