We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Colibri Hill Resort
Nearby Hotels
Mango Inn Resort(Utila)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Coral Beach Village(Utila)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
The Gardens Utila(Utila)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Utila Lodge(Utila)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tropical Sunset Hotel(Utila)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Eye Resort(Utila)(Great Value!)
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Art Deco Beach(La Ceiba)
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Estadio(La Ceiba)(Great Value!)
US$23
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
48
32
9
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
32
9
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsair conditioni highly recommend this hotelquiet hotelpool sidethe main stripparty scenenice poolcomfortable bedsstay there againplenty of hot waterwi fiminute walklucynoiseacferryhammocks
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We were there for one night, came over on the ferry from Roatan. Room was clean, a/c was refreshing. staff was extremely nice, grounds were well kept. the restaurant that is part of the hotel (only open Friday and Saturday nights) was very good. Costs about $2 us taxi ride from the ferry pier.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitey_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Really friendly, multilingual stuff, nice environment, comfortable beds.Nice Hammock outside our door and a bar and small swimming pool downstairs. Inside the room cool enough with the help of air condition and a ventilator :).
Though the bathroom in the room was kinda old (could use a renovation) and so are the windows - gaps big enough for a tarantula and geckos to fit through them. The breakfast was ok, consisting of toast, local cheese, bean paste orange juice and coffee. If you wanted some eggs and omelette though you had to pay extra.
The Restaurant was open Friday to Sunday with some European tastes quite good and really nice atmosphere.
To sum it up, good hotel and with a little renovation could be amazing!
We had some wonderful holidays in Utila ☺

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Katerina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

The best blue cheese sauce on the island! Amazing food, good service and the restaurant spoils you! The Colibri Hill Resort have their restaurant open only on Friday and Saturday for guests outside the resort but it's worth waiting for the weekend to go. I highly recommend this place!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Short of having no coffee in the room, it's a pretty good place. It's the ONLY hotel in Utila town with a pool, and the grounds are lovely. The pool is small, but nice, surrounded by grass, and located in a sunny spot so it's nice and warm. There's a cute little tiki bar that's staffed all day.

Rooms are decent size, beds are okay, had cold AC and a nice little fridge, but no tv, no microwave and no coffee pot. When we booked the hotel, we asked if there was coffee in the rooms. They assured us that there was. When we arrived and saw there was no coffee pot, the owner said "Oh, there's always coffee down at the bar starting at 7 am." Turns out there IS a 3-gallon urn at the bar, but it's not always there, andit has what is probably the worst coffee we've ever tasted. From 7 to 7:45 am, IF it's turned on (which it often is not) you have to tip the urn to get the pitiful dregs of the previous day's coffee. Then just before 8 am it's gone, because they carry it down the hill to their restaurant for the next 2 hours. At 10, they carry the urn back up to the bar, where it sits there all day, getting progressively more bitter.

Other than the pathetic coffee situation, it's a pretty nice place. Wi-fi is A++ (very fast and reliable, just like home). Our room was pretty basic, with just one light (the fan), 2 "full size" beds (pillow-top mattresses, quite comfy), 2 nightstands, conveniently located electrical outlets, and an excellent little 2-door fridge. Bathroom was kind of rustic, with no storage area; and the only toiletries provided was a shampoo dispenser in the shower (not even any soap for the sink, which had cold water only!). Shower water pressure was fine, and we had plenty of hot water.

Location is okay, up a small hill near the west end of town. It's not super convenient, but tuk-tuks are dirt cheap, and because it's away from the bars, it's thankfully nice and quiet. No barking dogs, either! Two small convenience stores are located nearby.

The owners are friendly and helpful, but don't live on site. The cleaning gal did an adequate job, although she spoke no English whatsoever, came quite early (often shortly after 8 am) and occasionally forgot to empty our trash.

The self-serve free breakfast consisted of fruit, toast, refried beans and cereal. Eggs and bacon cost extra. We understand their restaurant is one of the best in town, but it's only open Friday and Saturday, and we didn't try it out.

All rooms have access to a shared patio, but it's very nice, with comfy chairs and 2 hammocks on each level. Room tip: Go for the 3rd floor rooms, which have more light, better views, more breeze and fewer mosquitos.

Room Tip: Go for the 3rd floor rooms, which have more light, better views, more breeze and fewer mosquitos.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

I found this hotel on the internet and the booking was easy. When I arrived it was all the booking site said and more. Lucy, the owner/manager, greeted us and was very informative and welcoming.It was extremely nice to be out of the noise and party scene of Utila. The rooms are very comfortable and provide what the weary traveler needs.
The pool side bar was fantastic and they went out of their way to provide amenities...ice.
I highly recommend this hotel, and will definitely stay there again when visiting.

Room Tip: Third floor has a view.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbusse2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews